Powered by 100% agave

Maguey Melate Cuixe – Juan Antonio Coronel Maya

Maguey Melate Cuixe from Juan Antonio Coronel Maya showcases this 5th generation mezcalero’s work with the delicate maguey Cuixe.

Rating: (14 reviews)
Category:Destilado de Agave
Brand:Maguey Melate
Mezcalero:Juan Antonio Coronel Maya
Maguey:Cuishe
Agave:Karwinskii
Grind:Hand
Distillation:Copper
Style:Joven
State:Oaxaca
Town:San Francisco Nuxaño
ABV: 48%
Age of plant: 15-20 years
Batch size: 600 liters
Release year: 2021
Website: https://www.magueymelate.com/, opens in new window
About this destilado de agave

Maguey Melate Cuixe – Juan Antonio Coronel Maya was originally released as the January 2021 Mezcalero of the Month Club agave spirit. Maestro Mezcalero Juan Coronel is a 5th generation producer who has been producing on his own since 2005.

Maguey Melate

Maguey Melate was founded on two ideas: 1) Artisanal agave spirits are amazing and should be shared with the world, and 2) The faster-cheaper economy is a harmful force for people, the environment, and now agave spirits.

They believe if mezcal (and agave spirits) can be understood and appreciated at its full potential, people will show their preference for quality artisanal mezcal that is sustainably and fairly sourced. By raising consumer consciousness on the origins of mezcal and educating enthusiasts on matters of quality and character, informed people will be empowered to ensure the future of mezcal. To do this, they're reaching a large audience with an impactful message: KEEP MEZCAL ARTISANAL!

Maguey Melate is perhaps most well-known for their Mezcalero of the Month Club, which delivers artisanal small-batch agave spirits directly to the doors of consumers in the US and Mexico. In addition to the monthly spirits, they offer exclusive content and interviews with producers. Single releases are also available in the Maguey Melate shop.

14 reviews

3.75 out of 5


TheAgaveFairy

TheAgaveFairy

137 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars1 month ago

Nose: Sweetness, fruits, graphite, ripe tropical fruits and white wine grapes. Really lovely, papaya leading the most of this with slight bubblegum aspects, berries and some cream cheese, a gentle [bell] pepper. Some banana, lilac, playdoh, lemon dance around the edges for complexity.

Palate: Good entry, definitely on the berries and cream side of things for the entry. Some nice acidity, not much presence of bitterness, though a slight umami/salt note is present underneath the main body – like a harder cheese. Finish is long, aromatic, with vanilla playing a nice role.

Thoughts: Tonight is off to a great start. A new producer and area for me! I wonder if this “cuixe” is like other cuixes varietally for comparison… just tons of complex fruit tones.

Conclusion and “t8ke” scale rating: 8/10. Really hitting hard. Just a touch hot on the finish.

Nose: Sweetness, fruits, graphite, ripe tropical fruits and white wine grapes. Really lovely, papaya leading the most of this with slight bubblegum aspects, berries and some cream cheese, a gentle [bell] pepper. Some banana, lilac, playdoh, lemon dance around the edges for complexity.
Palate: Good entry, definitely on the berries and cream side of things for the entry. Some nice acidity, not much presence of bitterness, though a slight umami/salt note is present underneath the main body – like

Read more
hutter

hutter

4 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars1 month ago

Starts out super clean: black pepper, minerals, spicy. Then comes a sweet cream cheese.

Then I get some funky sweaty feet and blue cheese.

I love this one. Reading other reviews makes me think I might be drinking something else entirely lol

donpedro

donpedro

37 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars2 months ago

This is not even remotely a normal cuixe! Not sure what this actually is, but it is definitely a sweet tropical fruit bomb. Nose is full of mango, grilled pineapple, and strawberry lemonade. Sweet and tangy on the palate with a definite sour funk to it. Interesting and unique.

Gregg T&T

Gregg T&T

91 reviews
Rated 3 out of 5 stars3 months ago

Nose is hard to pin down – figs, spearmint and sour fruit. I get orange liqueur as mentioned, notes of white pepper and mango.

Foster

Foster

10 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars3 months ago

Smell of a banana cream pie with some tropical fruit. Definitely taste vanilla, banana, and orange. Very smooth but does seem to have an interesting aftertaste. Definitely not a normal cuixe from my experience.

El-Dawg

El-Dawg

93 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars4 months ago

Super fragrant with all the notes previously described – candy (juicy fruits, flavored gum), tropical fruit (a bit of sour/rottenness for me). On nose alone I give this a 5/5 stars…incredible and fills the whole room with sweetness and curiosity. BUT, the taste doesn’t quite live up to the smell….takes a wild turn. Funky and little meaty, some sour notes. Not bad, but not as good as the smell.

Azi

Azi

15 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars4 months ago

Ok. My room now smells like Parmesan cheese. i love it. hoping the taste will follow. Ok wow. interesting. I’m really getting cacio e pepe turnip vibes (thats a thing maybe only I do). that’s an incredibly specific link that I recommend anyone who likes this (or wants understand it) should have. Take a japanese turnip, salt it, shred a funky cheese over it, crack some pepper. Olive oil of course. This has all that. Sharp, vegetal, funk as hell, spicy/peppery. after it gets some air, the banana notes everyone else talks about are coming through. But I can’t believe more aren’t getting hard funky cheese. every time i revisit its a little roller coaster

Ok. My room now smells like Parmesan cheese. i love it. hoping the taste will follow. Ok wow. interesting. I’m really getting cacio e pepe turnip vibes (thats a thing maybe only I do). that’s an incredibly specific link that I recommend anyone who likes this (or wants understand it) should have. Take a japanese turnip, salt it, shred a funky cheese over it, crack some pepper. Olive oil of course. This has all that. Sharp, vegetal, funk as hell, spicy/peppery. after it gets some air,

Read more
Rakhal

Rakhal

276 reviews
Rated 2 out of 5 stars4 months ago

Cloyingly sweet with intense artificial tropical fruit flavors. It tastes as if someone dumped a couple cases of Juicy Fruit gum and Starburst candy into the mix. Doesn’t taste like any Cuixe I’ve had before. Mango, banana, vanilla, papaya, fruity shisha tobacco, Hawaiian Bbq sauce. This one was almost 1.5 stars for me.

Ankaret

Ankaret

3 reviews
Rated 3 out of 5 stars4 months ago

The nose is pungent cheesy barnyard funk with sour rotten fruit in the background. After this incredible nose I was expecting something savory and enticing on the palate, but unfortunately this is where things depart. For me the palate consists of a slight black pepper note followed by an explosion of intensely sweet and strangely zesty (almost sour) flavors which I would describe as sweetarts and other cheap artificial candies (runts?) dissolved in water. The flavors are sharp edged and high pitched with a lack of freshness and a relatively thin body. Finish fades fast leaving some slight bitterness and a little of that artificial sweetness and sour funk. The nose is great but everything that follows is not my cup of tea. Extra points for uniqueness.

The nose is pungent cheesy barnyard funk with sour rotten fruit in the background. After this incredible nose I was expecting something savory and enticing on the palate, but unfortunately this is where things depart. For me the palate consists of a slight black pepper note followed by an explosion of intensely sweet and strangely zesty (almost sour) flavors which I would describe as sweetarts and other cheap artificial candies (runts?) dissolved in water. The flavors are sharp edged and high pi

Read more
tallchad

tallchad

26 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars4 months ago

I like this a lot. Easy to drink with lots going on. Aroma is the best part with fruit, flowers and a hint of smoke. Taste is strong with an immediate tang in the mouth. The tang fades and buzzes the tongue with smoke and some sweetness. Finish is ok.

il1

il1

12 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars4 months ago

Is it a cuixe? Or is this one of the weird naming conventions from villages like Minas where a Cuixe is really Mexicano.

Orange Liquer in the palate fading to aftertaste of bubblegum. Incredibly sweet.

GreenspointTexas

GreenspointTexas

240 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars4 months ago

Piloncillo. Crazy sweet. Almost like molasses. Or a dark rum. Not complaining tho, as the rest of this dram is quite pleasant. Mango, sugar, and figs/dates. Pretty good

t8ke

t8ke

135 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars4 months ago

Moderate mouthfeel, a lovely combo of blueberry, vanilla bean, orange and some varnish.

The nose on this bottling may be the most effervescent thing I’ve ever smelled. It immediately, pungently and delightfully saturated the room I was tasting in. It’s wild. Super sweet and dessert on the nose, growing more closed and ashy by the finish. So unique for a Cuixe.

pallzley

pallzley

16 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars4 months ago

Cuixe, Maguey Melate, Juan Antonio Coronel Maya. Batch ANT-CUI-001. January 2019. 600 liters. ABV 48.2%

Nose: Funky, barn hay, agave, embers and wisps of smoke, banana runts candy. Is this cuixe??

Acidic, punchy, high toned, round and soft mouthfeel. Lemon-lime soda, funk, orange bell peppers, butterscotch. Hi-chews. Aftertaste of orange punch, white pepper, slightest whisper of ethanol. Not a lengthy aftertaste, but what a treat this was. I can’t believe this is from cuixe, but the palate is more giving to it. I didn’t like cuixe before this, but found it not as green and cucumber-y of previous cuixes I’ve had.

Cuixe, Maguey Melate, Juan Antonio Coronel Maya. Batch ANT-CUI-001. January 2019. 600 liters. ABV 48.2%
Nose: Funky, barn hay, agave, embers and wisps of smoke, banana runts candy. Is this cuixe??
Acidic, punchy, high toned, round and soft mouthfeel. Lemon-lime soda, funk, orange bell peppers, butterscotch. Hi-chews. Aftertaste of orange punch, white pepper, slightest whisper of ethanol. Not a lengthy aftertaste, but what a treat this was. I can’t believe this is from cuixe, but the palate

Read more
Review this bottle

Login or create an account to add your tasting notes

Back to top