Powered by 100% agave

Maguey Melate Madre Cuishe – Silvestre Jimenez Peralta

Maguey Melate Madre Cuishe from Silvestre Jimenez Peralta Maguey was originally released as the May 2022 Mezcalero of the Month Club agave spirit.

Rating: (6 reviews)
Category:Destilado de Agave
Brand:Maguey Melate
Mezcalero:Silvestre Jimenez Peralta
Maguey:Madrecuishe
Agave:Karwinskii
Grind:Shredder
Distillation:Copper
Style:Joven
State:Oaxaca
Town:Miahuatlán
ABV: 47.4%
Age of plant: 9 years
Batch size: Batch SIL-MAD-001: 480 liters
Release year: 2022
Website: https://www.magueymelate.com/, opens in new window

About this destilado de agave

Maguey Melate Madre Cuishe from Silvestre Jimenez Peralta Maguey was originally released as the May 2022 Mezcalero of the Month Club agave spirit. Silvestre works with an agavero, who harvests all the agave for his mezcal. In exchange for this agave, Silvestre splits each batch 50/50 with the agavero. Batch SIL-MAD-001 from October 2020 represents an entire batch, meaning that half of it was purchased from Silvestre and the other half from the agavero.

Maguey Melate

Maguey Melate was founded on two ideas: 1) Artisanal agave spirits are amazing and should be shared with the world, and 2) The faster-cheaper economy is a harmful force for people, the environment, and now agave spirits.

They believe if mezcal (and agave spirits) can be understood and appreciated at its full potential, people will show their preference for quality artisanal mezcal that is sustainably and fairly sourced. By raising consumer consciousness on the origins of mezcal and educating enthusiasts on matters of quality and character, informed people will be empowered to ensure the future of mezcal. To do this, they’re reaching a large audience with an impactful message: KEEP MEZCAL ARTISANAL!

Maguey Melate is perhaps most well-known for their Mezcalero of the Month Club, which delivers artisanal small-batch agave spirits directly to the doors of consumers in the US and Mexico. In addition to the monthly spirits, they offer exclusive content and interviews with producers. Single releases are also available in the Maguey Melate shop.

6 reviews

3.83 out of 5

Rakhal

Rakhal

358 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars3 weeks ago

So sad to hear Silvestre died of Covid. He was obviously a talented Mezcalero because this is a solid Madrecuixe. Lavender, green bell pepper, sandalwood, salty pistachio shells, and Fuji apple. It’s a unique Madrecuixe and I like it.

RyeAmLegend

RyeAmLegend

24 reviews
Rated 2.5 out of 5 stars3 weeks ago

Savory and briny note that’s difficult to place on the nose. Mushroom risotto, scrambled eggs, onions, salted tomatoes, and roasted poblano. There’s a chemical funk to it like iodine. Heavy mineral water – wet concrete, asphalt, a bit of sulfur. It’s not an inviting nose every so often. Sprouts, alfalfa, chives. Very odd nose on this expression.

Very unique sour lemon flavor as it coats my palate followed by a big kick of capsaicin. Those minerals from the nose are present on the palate as well and reminds me of well water that needs balanced. Calcium, metallic, sodium. Plaster, concrete, mortar. Seaweed, nori, raw carrots, turnips and radishes. Very odd composition of flavors.

The finish leans more into those herbal and grassy notes with a much kinder flavor profile. A metallic and antiseptic flavor still sits on the palate and is not appealing to me. Celery greens, spring mix, arugula. Citrusy vinaigrette – olive oil, black pepper, citrus pith.

This opened up a bit over time and that initial kick of lemon really intrigued me. It didn’t last long however and the minerality took too much away from the good aspects. There is a lot of terrior in this glass. From the water source to the still, I felt like I could taste it all.

Savory and briny note that’s difficult to place on the nose. Mushroom risotto, scrambled eggs, onions, salted tomatoes, and roasted poblano. There’s a chemical funk to it like iodine. Heavy mineral water – wet concrete, asphalt, a bit of sulfur. It’s not an inviting nose every so often. Sprouts, alfalfa, chives. Very odd nose on this expression.
Very unique sour lemon flavor as it coats my palate followed by a big kick of capsaicin. Those minerals from the nose are present on the palate

Read more
tallchad

tallchad

53 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars4 weeks ago

I’m sad that we won’t see videos with Silvestre. I’m glad that this madre cuishe is in this box—I really like it! There’s something about Karwinskis that I love. This is really good all around. Aroma is quite neutral but very pleasant, nothing jumps out except some light minerality, subdued sweetness and almost no smoke. While a little thin or watery in the mouth taste is great. Again, just all around good taste without many standout flavors, although there is a hint of minerals. Finish is the best part for me with minerals, good heat, very mild sweetness and a hint of sea salt.
SIL-MAD-001 October 2020 Bottle 502 47.4%
RIP Silvestre, ¡muchísimas gracias!

I’m sad that we won’t see videos with Silvestre. I’m glad that this madre cuishe is in this box—I really like it! There’s something about Karwinskis that I love. This is really good all around. Aroma is quite neutral but very pleasant, nothing jumps out except some light minerality, subdued sweetness and almost no smoke. While a little thin or watery in the mouth taste is great. Again, just all around good taste without many standout flavors, although there is a hint of minerals. Fini

Read more
Manning

Manning

10 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars4 weeks ago

Batch: SIL-MAD-001 Bottle 713. 47.4% abv.
Peanut shells in the aroma along with wet grass and freshly picked green beans. Tastes like I’m licking a piece of granite, but in a good way. Nice earthiness and walnut flavor with some watermelon and basil. Nice sweetness level here too – not too sweet but complements the flavors nicely. Overall 8.5/10

Jonny

Jonny

581 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars1 month ago

Lot Batch: MIG-INA-001. Aromas of stewed green beans, wet leaves, McIntosh apples, and peanut oil. The palate has notes of peanut brittle, anise, decomposing wet leaves, and cantaloupe. This is not what I was expecting given the location of production, but a very nice surprise.

Zack Klamn

Zack Klamn

413 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars2 months ago

Batch: SIL-MAD-001 Bottle: 213
Nose – Peanut shells. Birch bark. Icing sugar.

Palate – Pecan. Walnut. Raw, wet oak. Moss. Stone. Watermelon fruitiness. Woody, nutty and earthy – a fantastic madrecuishe. MM, you’re on a roll!

Review this bottle

Login or create an account to add your tasting notes

Back to top