Powered by 100% agave

Maguey Melate Pechuga de Mezontle

Maguey Melate Pechuga de Mezontle from Margarito López Flores was produced in Chichihualco, Guerrero, the birthplace of Mexico’s 11th president.

Rating: (9 reviews)
Category:Destilado de Agave
Brand:Maguey Melate
Mezcalero:Margarito López Flores
Agave:Cupreata
Grind:Hand
Style:Abocado
State:Guerrero
Town:Chichihualco
Release year: 2020
Website: https://www.magueymelate.com/
About this destilado de agave

Maguey Melate Pechuga de Mezontle was originally released as the December 2020 Mezcalero of the Month Club agave spirit. Margarito is a fourth generation producer, and one of three other producers in this region who still uses a filipino still for distillation. After the Cupreata is double distilled, a piece of “mezontle,” or roasted agave heart, is macerated and placed into a glass garrafon with the mezcal, where it is left to rest in darkness for a month. Many consumers may know this as an “abocado,” or infused mezcal, but in this region of Guerrero it is considered a Pechuga.

This Pechuga is also accompanied by a 50ml wild capon Cupreata that was produced as part of a 300 liter batch in June 2020 from the same producer. This gives members a unique opportunity to taste a regular Cupreata batch in comparison to the Pechuga de Mezontle that also features this agave.

Maguey Melate

Maguey Melate was founded on two ideas: 1) Artisanal agave spirits are amazing and should be shared with the world, and 2) The faster-cheaper economy is a harmful force for people, the environment, and now agave spirits.

They believe if mezcal (and agave spirits) can be understood and appreciated at its full potential, people will show their preference for quality artisanal mezcal that is sustainably and fairly sourced. By raising consumer consciousness on the origins of mezcal and educating enthusiasts on matters of quality and character, informed people will be empowered to ensure the future of mezcal. To do this, they're reaching a large audience with an impactful message: KEEP MEZCAL ARTISANAL!

Maguey Melate is perhaps most well-known for their Mezcalero of the Month Club, which delivers artisanal small-batch agave spirits directly to the doors of consumers in the US and Mexico. In addition to the monthly spirits, they offer exclusive content and interviews with producers. Single releases are also available in the Maguey Melate shop.

9 reviews

3.56 out of 5


Rakhal

Rakhal

229 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars3 days ago

I went back and forth with this one. Sometimes I like it a lot and other times not so much. Green and minty with a sweet pineapple like core. Spearmint, peppermint, fresh sugarcane juice, bitter cacao, wasabi, clove, pineapple, and banana. I found the small bottle a little sharp so in my opinion it benefited from the infusion.

Jonny

Jonny

467 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars3 weeks ago

Slightly yellowish in color. Very rich on the nose with sweet cooked agave, cocoa, molasses, and canola oil. The palate is a little starchy, with more canola-type notes, maybe a bit of sunflower and pumpkin seed. This one is weird for me, because I don’t think it’s one of my Melate favorites, but I’ve now polished off 99% of the bottle in just a couple sittings, so maybe this is more appealing at some subconscious level (or it’s just really to drink!)

Maiapal

Maiapal

5 reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars3 weeks ago

Nose (at first opening): Grain, lumber, beef jerky, fruity, rich.
Taste: Slight mineral, smooth, and sweet; very drinkable. On the first taste it was like a roller coaster of evolving flavors. On second tasting it mellowed out a bit. I liked this better than the plain Cupreata which I found a little too sharp and up front to enjoy. This has become a new favorite of mine.

Azi

Azi

8 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars4 weeks ago

This one is interesting thats forsure. cooked strawberries, grass, and tons of tropical fruits (pineapples, mango, one of the more savory ones (egg fruit or breadfruit),but no bananas at all). ferment funk & sour creme. actually gonna boost my score as I sit wit it, Pechugas of any type will really hit with someone who messes w a wide varietyy of spirits

El-Dawg

El-Dawg

69 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars1 month ago

Crazy smell – some rotten fruit funk going on, but in the best of ways. Some cream & spice, even jalapeños. Taste is equally strong in flavor, but I like the sweet ones + tropical fruit notes …so this isn’t too bad at all. Good finish without too much bite or smoke.
*Prefer this to the straight up cupreata as well…which I think has too much of rawhide taste and none of the sweetness for balance.

tallchad

tallchad

23 reviews
Rated 2.5 out of 5 stars1 month ago

This is for two different mezcals. The regular cupreata and the “mezontle” infusion.

First the small bottle of cupreata: diesel aroma with undertones of gasoline. Not good. Flavor is not much better with medicinal notes and dirty laundry. Lo siento. 2/5

Mezontle infused cupreata: much better than the taster bottle. Aroma is good with smoke and some light sweetness. Taste is very thin but good with smoky, roasted agave flavors. A little bitterness on the finish. 3/5

il1

il1

11 reviews
Rated 3 out of 5 stars1 month ago

Tobala-esque? Sweet with a bit of chocolate. Almost no burn.

With more air, more tea/bitter cocoa, some vegetal, loses the fruit/sweet component.

GreenspointTexas

GreenspointTexas

224 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars1 month ago

3.75/5

Definitely different. Almost shandy-esque. Sweet tea and melons, with some type of oats/oatmeal flavor on the back end. Interesting

t8ke

t8ke

130 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars1 month ago

Rich on the palate, a hint of roasty notes, some cocoa and a bit of toasted agave. Plenty going on.

this is mega unique, unexpected and packed with smells and flavors at every turn. Wild.

Review this bottle

Login or create an account to add your tasting notes

Back to top