Powered by 100% agave

Maguey Melate Papalometl Pechuga – Martinez

Maguey Melate Papalometl Pechuga from Jose Erubiel Mota Matrinez was originally released as the November 2021 Mezcalero of the Month Club agave spirit.

Rating: (9 reviews)
Category:Destilado de Agave
Brand:Maguey Melate
Mezcalero:Jose Erubiel Mota Matrinez
Maguey:Papalometl
Grind:Shredder
Distillation:Copper
Style:Pechuga
State:Oaxaca
Town:Zapotitlán Lagunas
ABV: 47.2%
Age of plant: 8-12 years
Batch size: Lot JOS-PAP-001: 800 liters
Release year: 2021
Website: https://www.magueymelate.com/, opens in new window

About this destilado de agave

Maguey Melate Papalometl Pechuga from Jose Erubiel Mota Matrinez was originally released as the November 2021 Mezcalero of the Month Club agave spirit. This spirit was produced in Zapotitlán Lagunas, Oaxaca.

Maguey Melate

Maguey Melate was founded on two ideas: 1) Artisanal agave spirits are amazing and should be shared with the world, and 2) The faster-cheaper economy is a harmful force for people, the environment, and now agave spirits.

They believe if mezcal (and agave spirits) can be understood and appreciated at its full potential, people will show their preference for quality artisanal mezcal that is sustainably and fairly sourced. By raising consumer consciousness on the origins of mezcal and educating enthusiasts on matters of quality and character, informed people will be empowered to ensure the future of mezcal. To do this, they’re reaching a large audience with an impactful message: KEEP MEZCAL ARTISANAL!

Maguey Melate is perhaps most well-known for their Mezcalero of the Month Club, which delivers artisanal small-batch agave spirits directly to the doors of consumers in the US and Mexico. In addition to the monthly spirits, they offer exclusive content and interviews with producers. Single releases are also available in the Maguey Melate shop.

9 reviews

3.78 out of 5

justsomedude

justsomedude

28 reviews
Rated 3 out of 5 stars4 weeks ago

Nose: Typical pechuga mulling spice notes, anise, dried orange peel, cinnamon, clove.
Palate: Thinner than I expect from a pechuga. Carries on with the spices but there’s a new note of bright fresh apples.
Finish: Short and a bit thin. Cloves.
Overall: Typical winter spices that I expect from a spice forward pechuga but with more brightness and fruit on the palate and less oil. I’m not a huge fan of pechuga and those that I like are the ones with savory, fatty notes. This is far from that.

Nose: Typical pechuga mulling spice notes, anise, dried orange peel, cinnamon, clove.
Palate: Thinner than I expect from a pechuga. Carries on with the spices but there’s a new note of bright fresh apples.
Finish: Short and a bit thin. Cloves.
Overall: Typical winter spices that I expect from a spice forward pechuga but with more brightness and fruit on the palate and less oil. I’m not a huge fan of pechuga and those that I like are the ones with savory, fatty notes. This is far from that.

Read more
Rakhal

Rakhal

361 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars2 months ago

Holy Cardamom!!!! This is very Cardamom forward. I totally understand the impression of Kheer rice pudding because there’s also lots of baking spices. I get flavors of spiced apple pie, sultanas, mincemeat pie, and Thompsons raisins. I think this Pechuga is absolutely delicious!!!

Azi

Azi

27 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars5 months ago

Wild nose; fruit platter all the way. strawberries, raspberries, underripe melon…possibly just kiwi with a splash of citrus??
palate is all cardamom pods, kiwi, slate. I think i’m a little underwhelmed because this reminds me of a Scandinavian cardamom bun…but then fall a little short.
siting with it, wild how much cardamom comes through. ends up actually lingering. Cardamom and refit lime, even the numbing of timur pepper going on. this is a 3.5-4, but I’ll give it a 4 since some moments of intense cardamom are 5 level flavor extractions.

Wild nose; fruit platter all the way. strawberries, raspberries, underripe melon…possibly just kiwi with a splash of citrus??
palate is all cardamom pods, kiwi, slate. I think i’m a little underwhelmed because this reminds me of a Scandinavian cardamom bun…but then fall a little short.
siting with it, wild how much cardamom comes through. ends up actually lingering. Cardamom and refit lime, even the numbing of timur pepper going on. this is a 3.5-4, but I’ll give it a 4 s

Read more
El-Dawg

El-Dawg

156 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars7 months ago

JOS-PEC-001. Strong, sweet and fruity nose. Taste is a very well balanced and overall a very good example of what “a pechuga is”. Soft, creamy finish. Very enjoyable, and I’ve loved sharing this one with with folks. A great “dessert” mezcal if you would.
After revising months later I get a lot of the baking spices and cinnamon in the taste.

GreenspointTexas

GreenspointTexas

358 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars7 months ago

Its enjoyable

Jonny

Jonny

582 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars8 months ago

JOS-PEC-001. Bottle 180. Beautiful mezcal. Dynamic nose with aromas of cinnamon, cardamom, freshly picked fungi, vanilla, and chili powder. The palate is balanced and light with notes of orange cream, grapefruit, cloves, fresh green celery, and a bit of leather. Sweet and smoky finish. Really enjoying this.

Zack Klamn

Zack Klamn

418 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars8 months ago

Batch: JOS-PEC-001 Bottle: 556
Nose – Dryer sheets. Baked (slightly burnt) rice pudding. The papalometl flavor is very present and the pechuga aspect is subtle but complimentary – great start!

Palate – Great viscosity, a little on the heavy side. Rice pudding sweetness and creaminess – yum! A trace of soapstone. Cloves. Some ethanol bite in the finish. I’m not usually a pechuga lover but this works for me. A big thumbs up to zeefarmer drawing the comparison to Indian food/desserts – totally agree and now I have a craving!

Batch: JOS-PEC-001 Bottle: 556
Nose – Dryer sheets. Baked (slightly burnt) rice pudding. The papalometl flavor is very present and the pechuga aspect is subtle but complimentary – great start!
Palate – Great viscosity, a little on the heavy side. Rice pudding sweetness and creaminess – yum! A trace of soapstone. Cloves. Some ethanol bite in the finish. I’m not usually a pechuga lover but this works for me. A big thumbs up to zeefarmer drawing the comparison to India

Read more
tallchad

tallchad

54 reviews
Rated 3 out of 5 stars8 months ago

Wow. What a vibrant aroma and flavor! Definitely getting the raisins and nuts that this is distilled with. There is a hint of the plantains on the aroma and finish. In the mouth there is good, sweet heat with very light smoke. There is hint of gasoline as well, but so light it doesn’t detract much. Very oily and sweet—is that a hint of the creole chicken? This is full of cinnamon and spice. Almost an after dinner drink, not an all night sipper. Keep this as a fun taster for friends to guess the many aromas and flavors.
Batch JOS PEC 001

Wow. What a vibrant aroma and flavor! Definitely getting the raisins and nuts that this is distilled with. There is a hint of the plantains on the aroma and finish. In the mouth there is good, sweet heat with very light smoke. There is hint of gasoline as well, but so light it doesn’t detract much. Very oily and sweet—is that a hint of the creole chicken? This is full of cinnamon and spice. Almost an after dinner drink, not an all night sipper. Keep this as a fun taster for friends t

Read more
zeefarmer

zeefarmer

3 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars9 months ago

I’ve not had a Pechuga that I’ve loved so far; most are OK, but just not my style. This one is intriguing, and the first one that I’ve truly enjoyed. First thought that comes to mind is kheer (Indian rice pudding, for those not in the know). Gives me a craving for some good Indian food.

I wouldn’t be surprised if this one ends up being polarizing… I’m sure some people will love it and some people will hate it.

On the nose: Cinammon, raisons, cardamom, starch (maybe that’s from the plantains), sweetness

Flavor wise: tastes pretty much like it smells, kheer! It’s even got a little bit of a creamy mouthfeel, and it’s sweet.

I’ve not had a Pechuga that I’ve loved so far; most are OK, but just not my style. This one is intriguing, and the first one that I’ve truly enjoyed. First thought that comes to mind is kheer (Indian rice pudding, for those not in the know). Gives me a craving for some good Indian food.
I wouldn’t be surprised if this one ends up being polarizing… I’m sure some people will love it and some people will hate it.
On the nose: Cinammon, raisons, cardamom, starch (

Read more

Review this bottle

Login or create an account to add your tasting notes

Back to top