Powered by 100% agave

Maguey Melate Cenizo – Daniela Guzman Avila

Maguey Melate Cenizo from Daniela Guzman Avila was originally released as the March 2023 Mezcalero of the Month Club agave spirit.

Rating: (8 reviews)
Category:Destilado de Agave
Brand:Maguey Melate
Mezcalero:Daniela Guzman Avila
Maguey:Cenizo
Agave:Durangensis
Milling:Hand
Distillation:Duranguense
Style:Joven
State:Durango
Town:Nombre de Dios
ABV: 46.4%
Age of plant: 10 years
Batch size: DAN-CEN-001: 350 liters
Release year: 2023
Website: https://www.magueymelate.com/, opens in new window

About this destilado de agave

Maguey Melate Cenizo from Daniela Guzman Avila was originally released as the March 2023 Mezcalero of the Month Club agave spirit. Durango features hot days and sometimes freezing nights. These drastic temperature changes greatly impact fermentation, leading to a high likelihood of variation from batch to batch. Daniela’s land and production facility are about 2 hours south of Nombre de Dios, Durango.

Maguey Melate

Maguey Melate was founded on two ideas: 1) Artisanal agave spirits are amazing and should be shared with the world, and 2) The faster-cheaper economy is a harmful force for people, the environment, and now agave spirits.

They believe if mezcal (and agave spirits) can be understood and appreciated at its full potential, people will show their preference for quality artisanal mezcal that is sustainably and fairly sourced. By raising consumer consciousness on the origins of mezcal and educating enthusiasts on matters of quality and character, informed people will be empowered to ensure the future of mezcal. To do this, they’re reaching a large audience with an impactful message: KEEP MEZCAL ARTISANAL!

Maguey Melate is perhaps most well-known for their Mezcalero of the Month Club, which delivers artisanal small-batch agave spirits directly to the doors of consumers in the US and Mexico. In addition to the monthly spirits, they offer exclusive content and interviews with producers. Single releases are also available in the Maguey Melate shop.

Member rating

4.13 out of 5

8 reviews

Azi

Azi

40 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars1 year ago

Last nights pour, forgot to take good notes but really loved this one. Perfect nightcap after a night of tasting at nightmoves.

Rakhal

Rakhal

422 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars1 year ago

This one has gotten better and better since I opened it. It was the surprise winner of a big blind Cenizo tasting that I did at my house. Luxardo brandied cherries, thyme, animal crackers, candied orange peel, amaro, and a dusty old cedar chest. Tasty!

tallchad

tallchad

111 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars1 year ago

Really Good and balanced Cenizo from Durango. The aroma is very light overall. There is some minerality with light sweetness.
The taste is really balanced with a blend of earthiness and sweetness.
The finish is good, with even heat lasting quite a while.
Just overall really good!

Manning

Manning

24 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars1 year ago

Lot DAN-CEN-001. 46.4% abv
Aroma: Jalepenos mixed with smarties candy. I’m also getting some floral notes and a bit of lactic funk.
Taste: Citrus and plum along with some dark chocolate. I get some minerality and mint on the finish.
Overall: Very enjoyable and well rounded flavors. Nothing too crazy here, but it’s a solid mezcal for sure.
Score: 8/10

Daytona930r

Daytona930r

1 review
Rated 5 out of 5 stars1 year ago

It’s great!

El-Dawg

El-Dawg

219 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars1 year ago

Nose has some banana runts candy sweetness notes followed by some sweet lactic on the taste. The ‘dustiness’ that I associated with a cenizo is present with light floral notes. Overall a sweet and approachable cenizo.

JDB

JDB

172 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars1 year ago

Bottle 107, 46.5% abv

Third of three cenzios that I sampled side-by-side. Another quality release from MM. This cenizo is a bit more fruit forward than others I have tried, but still the common thread with this maguey for me is a backbone of minerality. This one has a bit of cheese on the nose, and a whiff of pear. The flavors on the palate do hit on that pear note with nice overall sweetness. There is a bit of an herbal quality hitting close to lemongrass and thyme. But the aftertaste hits that cheese note, like a whipped cream cheese. Not as much heat or spiciness as the 48% cenizos I sampled, yet still a mild background heat. I do like this better than Jonny; it hits some flavors that really work well together. I can smell and taste some of the floral notes he mentions though.

Bottle 107, 46.5% abv
Third of three cenzios that I sampled side-by-side. Another quality release from MM. This cenizo is a bit more fruit forward than others I have tried, but still the common thread with this maguey for me is a backbone of minerality. This one has a bit of cheese on the nose, and a whiff of pear. The flavors on the palate do hit on that pear note with nice overall sweetness. There is a bit of an herbal quality hitting close to lemongrass and thyme. But the aftertaste hit

Read more
Jonny

Jonny

713 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars1 year ago

Love the nose on this! Extremely floral. Aromas of lilac, rose pedal, jasmine, orange blossom, and Pixie sticks. The palate is soft and much darker than the nose. Notes of orange chocolates, skim milk, a touch of black pepper, and some light caramel. I’m not a huge Durango head, but I do really enjoy this release. It’s much less lactic than many of the other bottles I’ve tasted from this region. Lot DAN-CEN-001

Review this bottle

Login or create an account to add your tasting notes

Back to top