Powered by 100% agave

Maguey Melate Tobala w/ Apples – Maria Alicia Alva Sanchez

Maguey Melate Tobala w/ Apples from Maria Alicia Alva Sanchez was originally released as the March 2022 Mezcalero of the Month Club agave spirit.

Rating: (7 reviews)
Brand:Maguey Melate
Mezcalero:Maria Alicia Alva Sanchez
Maguey:Tobala
Agave:Potatorum
Grind:Shredder
Distillation:Copper
Style:Joven
State:Puebla
Town:San Nicolás Huajuapan
ABV: 50.2%
Age of plant: 7 years
Batch size: Batch ALI-TOB-001: 315 liters
Release year: 2022
Website: https://www.magueymelate.com/, opens in new window

About this mezcal

Maguey Melate Tobala w/ Apples from Maria Alicia Alva Sanchez was originally released as the March 2022 Mezcalero of the Month Club agave spirit. The maguey Tobala used in this mezcal were oversized and greyish in color, likely from some degree of cross-breeding with the Agave cupreata grown nearby. Alicia’s late father, Don Fede, noticed that the Tobala harvested outside of March lacked the sweetness that he liked, so he came up with an apple recipe that helps to balance out the acidity of the Tobala. Don Fede passed on this recipe to only Alicia and her brothers.

Maguey Melate

Maguey Melate was founded on two ideas: 1) Artisanal agave spirits are amazing and should be shared with the world, and 2) The faster-cheaper economy is a harmful force for people, the environment, and now agave spirits.

They believe if mezcal (and agave spirits) can be understood and appreciated at its full potential, people will show their preference for quality artisanal mezcal that is sustainably and fairly sourced. By raising consumer consciousness on the origins of mezcal and educating enthusiasts on matters of quality and character, informed people will be empowered to ensure the future of mezcal. To do this, they’re reaching a large audience with an impactful message: KEEP MEZCAL ARTISANAL!

Maguey Melate is perhaps most well-known for their Mezcalero of the Month Club, which delivers artisanal small-batch agave spirits directly to the doors of consumers in the US and Mexico. In addition to the monthly spirits, they offer exclusive content and interviews with producers. Single releases are also available in the Maguey Melate shop.

7 reviews

3.86 out of 5

justsomedude

justsomedude

28 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars4 weeks ago

Nose: Dry, unctuous, compelling, not a hint of ethanol. There’s apples in there for sure but beneath complex layers of dusty earth, leather and herbs.
Palate: Silky, rich mouthfeel. Dehydrated Macintosh apples. A touch of medicinal herbs and earth. Some cheesy funk?
Finish: Long. A touch oily. More on the medicine and cheese, with a touch of dried apple.
Overall: Unique and complex with great impact and mouth feel. Not sure if I’m a huge fan of the flavor profile. Perhaps it’s just a balance issue. Just shy of 4 stars but I’m rounding up due to complexity and potency.

Nose: Dry, unctuous, compelling, not a hint of ethanol. There’s apples in there for sure but beneath complex layers of dusty earth, leather and herbs.
Palate: Silky, rich mouthfeel. Dehydrated Macintosh apples. A touch of medicinal herbs and earth. Some cheesy funk?
Finish: Long. A touch oily. More on the medicine and cheese, with a touch of dried apple.
Overall: Unique and complex with great impact and mouth feel. Not sure if I’m a huge fan of the flavor profile. Perhaps it’s just a bala

Read more
Rakhal

Rakhal

361 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars3 months ago

Ha!! This is a really interesting Mezcal!! So much going on here! It’s very sweet but also funky and complex. At first I couldn’t taste any apples, but then on the finish there it was! Apple sauce!!! Anyways my tasting notes are Kerns Pear Nectar, Bbq potato chips (nice one Zack!), macadamia nuts, pineapple vinegar, cardboard box, and cinnamon sugar. I like this one a lot, and the love and respect between the mother and daughter in the videos made me tear up almost every time. I can’t wait to try more of their Mezcal!

Ha!! This is a really interesting Mezcal!! So much going on here! It’s very sweet but also funky and complex. At first I couldn’t taste any apples, but then on the finish there it was! Apple sauce!!! Anyways my tasting notes are Kerns Pear Nectar, Bbq potato chips (nice one Zack!), macadamia nuts, pineapple vinegar, cardboard box, and cinnamon sugar. I like this one a lot, and the love and respect between the mother and daughter in the videos made me tear up almost every time. I can’t wai

Read more
Zack Klamn

Zack Klamn

421 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars3 months ago

Batch ALI-TOB-001.
Nose – Pureed red apples. Apple peels. Little bit of cinnamon.

Palate – I get some great apple sweetness (and pears) but it’s very balanced with the agave notes. Subtle baking spices. Mesquite potato chips. Cider-like finish and quite dry. A nice bit of vanilla pops up in the aftertaste and lasts. This is very pleasant – I’m a big fan!

tallchad

tallchad

54 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars3 months ago

Don Fede’s daughter and granddaughter are remarkable for carrying on his tradition. ¡Que chingonas! I love his Espadilla/Tobalá. This is good mezcal but I don’t taste any apples! There is some good sweetness added with some heat. Aroma has a slight sour funk to it but overall good. Taste of solid and good with some definite sweetness and medium smoke.

Manning

Manning

10 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars3 months ago

Not much on the nose, maybe a hint of granny smith apples. On the taste, it has an interesting dried fruit flavor but pretty one dimensional. I’m not picking up much apple, but I get unripe strawberries with a bunch of sugar. Very sweet mezcal, probably from the apples. It opens up nicely and the fruit flavors meld together better after an hour or so in the glass, so I recommend letting this on open up a bit. Overall 7/10.

El-Dawg

El-Dawg

156 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars3 months ago

ALI-TOB-001
Honestly not much apples in this apple tobala. There is a sweeter smell, and some candy sweetness on the taste…I just don’t get the apples. Solid tobala though, and curious to what this would taste like withOUT the apples.

Jonny

Jonny

582 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars5 months ago

Batch ALI-TOB-001. It makes sense that this would be made with apples to sweeten the flavor profile. Green apple is a common flavor note that I find in Tobala. The nose of this has some hints of those apples, but not a lot. I get more dry herbs like rosemary, sage, and thyme. There’s also a slight medicinal quality to the aromas. The palate has some heavier smoke, some of the sweetness I’d associate with a pear or green apple, and some heat on the back of the palate. There’s also this deeper note that’s almost similar to candle wax. Medium finish.

Batch ALI-TOB-001. It makes sense that this would be made with apples to sweeten the flavor profile. Green apple is a common flavor note that I find in Tobala. The nose of this has some hints of those apples, but not a lot. I get more dry herbs like rosemary, sage, and thyme. There’s also a slight medicinal quality to the aromas. The palate has some heavier smoke, some of the sweetness I’d associate with a pear or green apple, and some heat on the back of the palate. There’s al

Read more

Review this bottle

Login or create an account to add your tasting notes

Back to top