Powered by 100% agave

Maguey Melate Arroqueño – Semei Garcia Ramos

Maguey Melate Arroqueño from young mezcalero Semei Garcia Ramos is produced in Santa Maria La Pila, Miahuatlan, Oaxaca.

Rating: (8 reviews)
Category:Destilado de Agave
Brand:Maguey Melate
Mezcalero:Semei Garcia Ramos
Maguey:Arroqueno
Agave:Americana
Grind:Shredder
Distillation:Copper
Style:Joven
State:Oaxaca
Town:Santa Maria La Pila
ABV: 47.5%
Age of plant: 12-15 years
Release year: 2020
Website: https://www.magueymelate.com/
About this destilado de agave

Maguey Melate Arroqueño from Semei Garcia Ramos was originally released as the May 2020 Mezcalero of the Month agave spirit. Semei comes from a long line of legendary producers in his family, including his grandfather, Don Valente Angel. While Semei helps with his grandfather’s Alipus production, this batch from Maguey Melate represents the first batch that has been imported into the US under his name. This batch was produced in 2014, when Semei was just 19 years old, and aged in glass for 6 years before being bottled for release.

Maguey Melate

Maguey Melate was founded on two ideas: 1) Artisanal agave spirits are amazing and should be shared with the world, and 2) The faster-cheaper economy is a harmful force for people, the environment, and now agave spirits.

They believe if mezcal (and agave spirits) can be understood and appreciated at its full potential, people will show their preference for quality artisanal mezcal that is sustainably and fairly sourced. By raising consumer consciousness on the origins of mezcal and educating enthusiasts on matters of quality and character, informed people will be empowered to ensure the future of mezcal. To do this, they're reaching a large audience with an impactful message: KEEP MEZCAL ARTISANAL!

Maguey Melate is perhaps most well-known for their Mezcalero of the Month Club, which delivers artisanal small-batch agave spirits directly to the doors of consumers in the US and Mexico. In addition to the monthly spirits, they offer exclusive content and interviews with producers. Single releases are also available in the Maguey Melate shop.

8 reviews

4.13 out of 5


stigibeu

stigibeu

32 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars4 months ago

A lot of the same notes as Auditor. Red velvet cream cheese sweetness, honeysuckle on the nose, with a similarly sweet and smooth finish. Moderate, balanced mouthfeel, with the taste of sweet corn in parts, and a little pepper and minerality too I suppose. After it opened up a bit, I swear I got some fresh baked and buttered biscuits on the front. Another really good offering from MM.

TheAuditor

TheAuditor

33 reviews
Rated 3 out of 5 stars4 months ago

Batch: SEM-ARR-001

Nose: Aromatic, cotton candy, vanilla cream, cream cheese

Palate: Medium mouthfeel. Warm, cream cheese, minerals, earthy, Bell Peppers, coriander,

Finish: Medium length. Warm and moist. Minerals, Cream Cheese, Bubblegum, peppery.

This one leans to the sweet side of mezcals but it works well. Bursts with cotton candy and vanilla sweetness that permeates throughout. Mixed in is some savory spices like pepper, light vegetalness, some minerals. A good showing and selection from Maguey Melate.

Batch: SEM-ARR-001
Nose: Aromatic, cotton candy, vanilla cream, cream cheese
Palate: Medium mouthfeel. Warm, cream cheese, minerals, earthy, Bell Peppers, coriander,
Finish: Medium length. Warm and moist. Minerals, Cream Cheese, Bubblegum, peppery.
This one leans to the sweet side of mezcals but it works well. Bursts with cotton candy and vanilla sweetness that permeates throughout. Mixed in is some savory spices like pepper, light vegetalness, some minerals. A good showing and selection from Ma

Read more
SwatSaladin

SwatSaladin

18 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars4 months ago

Batch Number SEM-ARR-001

Olive brine, citrus zest, and chocolate mint on the nose. The minty and zesty aromas carry over to the palate, which also pulls in elements of tropical fruit like pineapple and mango, and garden herbs. There’s also a subdued limestone minerality that plays well with the gentle sweetness. The finish takes a turn for earthy—wet leaves, and clay. The notes from the palate almost all stick around, as well.

Overall, the palate is incredibly flavorful yet gentle. This is an exceptionally balanced mezcal, and it is an absolute pleasure to drink. It has grown on me since I first opened the bottle, and is probably the mezcal I reach for most often right now.

Batch Number SEM-ARR-001
Olive brine, citrus zest, and chocolate mint on the nose. The minty and zesty aromas carry over to the palate, which also pulls in elements of tropical fruit like pineapple and mango, and garden herbs. There’s also a subdued limestone minerality that plays well with the gentle sweetness. The finish takes a turn for earthy—wet leaves, and clay. The notes from the palate almost all stick around, as well.
Overall, the palate is incredibly flavorful yet gentle. This is a

Read more
Rakhal

Rakhal

182 reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars5 months ago

Excellent! Fresh, clean, and delicate. Juicy fruit gum, pineapple, mango, clove, allspice, and river rocks.

Gregg T&T

Gregg T&T

57 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars5 months ago

Wet earth and moss, I do get a a light funk of cheese and fruit plate. Super clean upon entry, faint sweetness with medium complexity and finish.

BuffPhysics

BuffPhysics

11 reviews
Rated 3 out of 5 stars5 months ago

Mezcal Review #5 – Maguey Melate Arroqueno (May 2020 Club Pick)

Additional Info: This batch was distilled from semi-cultivated Arroquenos (planted and then left unattended to reach maturity) and distilled in 2014, so it has spent considerable time resting. Fermentation was unusually long at 15 days due to the high sugar concentration in the agaves, which may have improved the aromatics. More information can be found on Maguey Melate’s website and youtube channel.

Nose: Intense butterscotch and cream cheese frosting, you can smell this from rooms away. A touch of mint, peppers, orange, and some mixed herbs/aromatic woods. After the bottle has had some time to air out, I get a strong similarity to some oaky red wines (California Syrah) – herbs and roasted meats.

Taste: A little sweet, lots of butterscotch and caramel. Not at all harsh even at full strength (I dare not call it smooth). Something almost like sherry, I’ve tasted this before in good aged tequilas but have never really been able to pin it down. Think sherry without the earthy qualities. Not super complex but no off notes either.

Finish: There’s a mineral note here, but it’s not particularly strong or long lasting.

Notes: The nose is phenomenal and I really want to love this but the taste and finish fall a little short. They’re not bad by any means, just not as interesting. I have gone back and forth on the rating between 6 and 7 but tasting it next to the Coyote from last month (which I awarded a 7), I like this less. So:

Score: 6/10

1 | Disgusting | So bad I poured it out.

2 | Poor | I wouldn’t consume by choice.

3 | Bad | Multiple flaws.

4 | Sub-par | Not bad, but better exists.

5 | Good | Good, just fine.

6 | Very Good | A cut above.

7 | Great | Well above average

8 | Excellent | Really quite exceptional.

9 | Incredible | An all time favorite

10 | Perfect | Perfect

Next Up: No idea, probably Melate’s June 2020 pick!

Mezcal Review #5 – Maguey Melate Arroqueno (May 2020 Club Pick)
Additional Info: This batch was distilled from semi-cultivated Arroquenos (planted and then left unattended to reach maturity) and distilled in 2014, so it has spent considerable time resting. Fermentation was unusually long at 15 days due to the high sugar concentration in the agaves, which may have improved the aromatics. More information can be found on Maguey Melate’s website and youtube channel.
Nose: Intense butterscotch

Read more
GreenspointTexas

GreenspointTexas

200 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars5 months ago

What johnny said straight up. I thought this and the coyote together was the best overall box MM has put out thus far. Less harsh than a lot of other MM releases, some pine and coconut oil on the finish. Wonderful stuff

Jonny

Jonny

436 reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars5 months ago

Incredible! This is so sweet and delicious. Aromas of bubblegum and minerals. So delicate and luxurious on the palate. This takes a page straight from Don Valente’s book. My gosh. This mezcal has convinced me to go back and taste more Arroqueno that I haven’t opened in awhile. This has that down-the-middle complexity that I don’t taste very often. It’s not super sour, or funky, or fruity, or anything like that, it’s just a really heightened spirit. It’s rich and soft. Really enjoying this a lot.

Incredible! This is so sweet and delicious. Aromas of bubblegum and minerals. So delicate and luxurious on the palate. This takes a page straight from Don Valente’s book. My gosh. This mezcal has convinced me to go back and taste more Arroqueno that I haven’t opened in awhile. This has that down-the-middle complexity that I don’t taste very often. It’s not super sour, or funky, or fruity, or anything like that, it’s just a really heightened spirit. It’s rich a

Read more
Review this bottle

Login or create an account to add your tasting notes

Back to top