Powered by 100% agave

Maguey Melate Ixtero Amarillo – Ignacio Juarez Flores

Maguey Melate Ixtero Amarillo from Ignacio Juarez Flores was originally released as the September 2023 Mezcalero of the Month Club agave spirit.

Rating: (7 reviews)
Category:Destilado de Agave
Brand:Maguey Melate
Mezcalero:Ignacio Juarez Flores
Maguey:Ixtero Amarillo
Agave:Rhodacantha
Grind:Shredder
Distillation:Filipino
Style:Joven
State:Jalisco
Town:Tuxcacuesco
ABV: 45.8%
Age of plant: 8-10 years
Batch size: IGN-AMA-001: 500 liters
Release year: 2023
Website: https://www.magueymelate.com/, opens in new window

About this destilado de agave

Maguey Melate Ixtero Amarillo from Ignacio Juarez Flores was originally released as the September 2023 Mezcalero of the Month Club agave spirit. Ignacio produces his mezcal in this small community in Jalisco, in the remote region that sits directly beneath the Colima Volcano, which is one of the most active volcanoes in North America.

Maguey Melate

Maguey Melate was founded on two ideas: 1) Artisanal agave spirits are amazing and should be shared with the world, and 2) The faster-cheaper economy is a harmful force for people, the environment, and now agave spirits.

They believe if mezcal (and agave spirits) can be understood and appreciated at its full potential, people will show their preference for quality artisanal mezcal that is sustainably and fairly sourced. By raising consumer consciousness on the origins of mezcal and educating enthusiasts on matters of quality and character, informed people will be empowered to ensure the future of mezcal. To do this, they’re reaching a large audience with an impactful message: KEEP MEZCAL ARTISANAL!

Maguey Melate is perhaps most well-known for their Mezcalero of the Month Club, which delivers artisanal small-batch agave spirits directly to the doors of consumers in the US and Mexico. In addition to the monthly spirits, they offer exclusive content and interviews with producers. Single releases are also available in the Maguey Melate shop.

Member rating

3.79 out of 5

7 reviews

Jam

Jam

140 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars3 months ago

Review #77: Nose has pine, lime, smoked suasage, leather, soil, rosemary, jalapeno, wood, earthy, like working in a used car parts shop with the dirty tires, metals, oils, and someone smoking cigs in the background.
Palate has lots of lime, leather, pine, rosemary, sweet jalapeno, dirty smoke, and nearing the finish i get some dark chocolate, cinnamon, and dry wood.

Wow, this is a savory one. The nose is pretty grungy, i get a lot of that dirty car shop vibe underneath everything. I don’t really get fruits from this like others, besides some acidic lime, but i do find a vegetal sweetness that comes from it. It has this drying effect from the cinnamon, wood, and leather.

Review #77: Nose has pine, lime, smoked suasage, leather, soil, rosemary, jalapeno, wood, earthy, like working in a used car parts shop with the dirty tires, metals, oils, and someone smoking cigs in the background.
Palate has lots of lime, leather, pine, rosemary, sweet jalapeno, dirty smoke, and nearing the finish i get some dark chocolate, cinnamon, and dry wood.
Wow, this is a savory one. The nose is pretty grungy, i get a lot of that dirty car shop vibe underneath everything. I don’t

Read more
El-Dawg

El-Dawg

205 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars5 months ago

Bright & green smell. Some chalkiness and a very slight rotten fruit smell. Blue cheese. Clean taste. Fruit, sweet, some tanginess with the smoke well integrated. Reminds me a bit of a raicilla which isn’t surprising. Good and nothing really wrong….just doesn’t jump out at me. 3.75 stars.

bpCLT

bpCLT

79 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars6 months ago

Nose: Tar, asphalt, sea salt, mesquite, charred veggies, so many veggies, particularly fresh peppers, under that is something more tangy, like balsamic vinaigrette or apple cider vinegar, kind of has karwinskii wood vibes

Palate and Finish: Wow, I love this palate, it’s pineapple, tart mango yogurt, kiwi, honey, then it quickly switches more meat, leathery, flank steak, after some air there’s like a cream cheese element to it I love. Finish is Finish is on the short side, it’s char, slightly oaky and brine, grilled meat, jerky.

Really nice and plenty of layers. Nose is more industrial and gives me elements of karwinskii wood. Palate and finish are fruit pop turned to savory quickly. Fun mezcal and really unique.

Nose: Tar, asphalt, sea salt, mesquite, charred veggies, so many veggies, particularly fresh peppers, under that is something more tangy, like balsamic vinaigrette or apple cider vinegar, kind of has karwinskii wood vibes
Palate and Finish: Wow, I love this palate, it’s pineapple, tart mango yogurt, kiwi, honey, then it quickly switches more meat, leathery, flank steak, after some air there’s like a cream cheese element to it I love. Finish is Finish is on the short side, it’s

Read more
Jonny

Jonny

696 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars6 months ago

This is a really interesting spirit. It’s much mustier and wetter than many of the other destilados that I’ve had from this region. Fruity aromas of pomegranate, papaya, and guava mixing with wild fresh mushrooms and wet hemp. The palate is also very fruity with some additional notes of burning sage, honey, stewed apples, and plum. Lot IGN-AMA-001

Rakhal

Rakhal

420 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars6 months ago

A Tuxca from Jalisco!!! I was excited to try this, and it’s very tasty. I wish I could say I got the earthy and meaty flavors from the other reviewer’s because I love those flavors, but instead I’m getting a lot of incense flavors. Especially on the finish, it’s like Nag Champa incense on the exhale. Also brown sugar and baking spices, and something that reminds me of canned fruit cocktail. It’s like walking into one of those New Age hippie shops after they had just finished baking an apple pie. Trippy, and I dig it.

A Tuxca from Jalisco!!! I was excited to try this, and it’s very tasty. I wish I could say I got the earthy and meaty flavors from the other reviewer’s because I love those flavors, but instead I’m getting a lot of incense flavors. Especially on the finish, it’s like Nag Champa incense on the exhale. Also brown sugar and baking spices, and something that reminds me of canned fruit cocktail. It’s like walking into one of those New Age hippie shops after they had just finished baking an

Read more
aaronthechamp

aaronthechamp

2 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars6 months ago

Nose is pure freshly cooked agave, straight off the fire. Smoked meat but a lot of deep cooked sweetness. Taste is very much the same. Earth, charred mango, raisin. Jerky. Intensity of flavour. Dusty peanuts on the retro nasal

Imperium

Imperium

91 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars7 months ago

The familial connection to Mexicano is detectable (Rhodacantha). On the nose it’s dirty and earthy. Bouillon, aji-no-moto, mushrooms, tire rubber, racing mechanic shop. Palate is earthy and meaty, like pork belly or bacon, rubber, dark meat stock flavors. Its very distinctive and tasty!

Review this bottle

Login or create an account to add your tasting notes

Back to top