Powered by 100% agave

Maguey Melate Reposado – Pedro Santiago Martinez

Maguey Melate Reposado from Pedro Santiago Martinez was originally released as the July 2022 Mezcalero of the Month Club agave spirit.

Rating: (7 reviews)
Category:Destilado de Agave
Brand:Maguey Melate
Mezcalero:Pedro Santiago
Maguey:Espadin
Agave:Angustifolia
Grind:Tahona
Distillation:Copper
Style:Reposado
State:Oaxaca
Town:Santiago Matatlán
ABV: 42.3
Age of plant: 8 years
Release year: 2022
Website: https://www.magueymelate.com/, opens in new window

About this destilado de agave

Maguey Melate Reposado from Pedro Santiago Martinez was originally released as the July 2022 Mezcalero of the Month Club agave spirit. This 1252 liter batch of Espadin was made in April 2020. 800 liters of the batch were placed into four 200 liter wooden barrels. The Espadin used in this mezcal were grown in the sub-region of Matatlan, Oaxaca known as “Cerro del Toro.” The wooden barrels were inherited decades ago from the Grandfather of Santiago’s wife.

Maguey Melate

Maguey Melate was founded on two ideas: 1) Artisanal agave spirits are amazing and should be shared with the world, and 2) The faster-cheaper economy is a harmful force for people, the environment, and now agave spirits.

They believe if mezcal (and agave spirits) can be understood and appreciated at its full potential, people will show their preference for quality artisanal mezcal that is sustainably and fairly sourced. By raising consumer consciousness on the origins of mezcal and educating enthusiasts on matters of quality and character, informed people will be empowered to ensure the future of mezcal. To do this, they’re reaching a large audience with an impactful message: KEEP MEZCAL ARTISANAL!

Maguey Melate is perhaps most well-known for their Mezcalero of the Month Club, which delivers artisanal small-batch agave spirits directly to the doors of consumers in the US and Mexico. In addition to the monthly spirits, they offer exclusive content and interviews with producers. Single releases are also available in the Maguey Melate shop.

Member rating

3.5 out of 5

7 reviews

RyeAmLegend

RyeAmLegend

37 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars1 year ago

Star rating is the higher preference of the two expressions. Ratings are below.

Maguey Melate Reposado 42.3% – Pedro Santiago Martinez

The nose is a familiar mellow, faded oak aroma you’d find in many reposado tequilas. Vanillas with a lot of green agave notes. Parsnips, sprouts, raw potato, and a bit of artichoke heart. Very light and unassuming.

Dried lumber and harsher alcohols on the palate. Dried chilies with that earthy, funky oak note. Decaying, fallen trees. Mushrooms and mosses. Wet bricks, clay, and well water. Very much a wet oak and forest floor vegetation flavor.

Very surprising turn on the finish as it’s actually quite enjoyable. The vanilla is more distinct and characteristic with some soft floral notes. Pine trees and damp garden beds. The final lasting tasting note however is a reminder of fetid oak that becomes intrusive to the experience.

The oak here detracts from the underlying spirit for me. The agave notes are overwhelmed with flavors that just don’t seem to belong anywhere.

4/10

Maguey Melate Añejo 42.3% – Pedro Santiago Martinez

3-year barrel aged Espadín in the same inherited wooden barrels. These barrels were used for generations to transport mezcal for sale.

The difference is astounding on the nose. Wet vegetation aroma but now the vanillas and caramels are much more refined. Light peppercorn and chili peppers. Oaky, but not tannic. Soft floral dryer sheets. Honey, brittle, and hard caramels. The agave is a bit more masked now through the dank wood notes. The espadín is more forward than the cask itself. Touch of raw coffee beans and a very mild molasses note.

The palate is a wonderful sweet corn and candied yams flavor. Asparagus, roasted brussels sprouts, and char broiled sweet potatoes. Slightly smoky chipotle and anaheim peppers. Agave and cask are more in harmony on the palate. Nutty sweetness of hazelnuts and cashews. Musty, dank, briney oyster mushrooms. Carroway and candied fennel seeds. Metallic cast iron and a slate minerality.

A wonderful agave forward finish. The oak follows with an added complexity that is pleasant and complimentary. Dried lumber and textiles. Black olives, bell peppers, sugar snap peas, and lemongrass. Sage, thyme, juniper, and eucalyptus. A fruity element pops up with honeydew melon and orange peels. A smoldering oak flavor builds like the burnt ear on a fresh loaf of bread. Long grasses and freshly cut lawn rough edge. Dry, sharp black tea notes leave a satisfying finish.

This añejo expression I was searching for adequate notes expecting a flop. I found myself digging for incredible aromas and flavors in the spirit. This is good. Possibly great even, depending on your oak preferences in agave spirits.

7/10

Star rating is the higher preference of the two expressions. Ratings are below.
Maguey Melate Reposado 42.3% – Pedro Santiago Martinez
The nose is a familiar mellow, faded oak aroma you’d find in many reposado tequilas. Vanillas with a lot of green agave notes. Parsnips, sprouts, raw potato, and a bit of artichoke heart. Very light and unassuming.
Dried lumber and harsher alcohols on the palate. Dried chilies with that earthy, funky oak note. Decaying, fallen trees. Mushrooms and mosses. Wet

Read more
Manning

Manning

24 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars1 year ago

Aroma: orange zest and vanilla beans
Taste: grassy with brown sugar, vanilla and oak but not over oaked. You can still taste the underlying agave, but this is pretty one dimensional.
Overall I like this much more than most Reposado tequilas, but I prefer joven mezcals.
Score: 7/10

GreenspointTexas

GreenspointTexas

385 reviews
Rated 3 out of 5 stars2 years ago

I liked the Anejo better. Rough, uneven, too much heme taste. A miss for me

El-Dawg

El-Dawg

214 reviews
Rated 3 out of 5 stars2 years ago

Hate to say it, but anytime I taste an aged mezcal it reminds me of a tequila…albeit a bit smokier of course. Not a bad thing at all, but the barrel aging loses some of the nuances I love about joven mezcal. With that said, I do get the classic oaky and vanilla notes. Agave is still in there though which is nice. Tastes hotter than the 42.3% as well.
Unlike everyone else I actually prefer the anejo version to this repo.

tallchad

tallchad

108 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars2 years ago

Dammit Dalton! Just when we—all civilized mezcal drinkers—declare that real mezcal must be blanco or it’s bad, you spring this on us. And then you slip in the fact that wood barrels must have been used in the olden days to store mezcal so it is actually traditional…you are diabolical. But please keep sending me more mezcal because this is delicious! If this was a bottle marked Fortaleza “Southern Blend” limited relajase, people would be hoarding and going nuts for it. So GOOD.
Aroma is sweet without overdoing it—vanilla, roasted agave, pepper and spice. Taste is incredible—so many great agave flavors and some fairly light barrel notes. The barrel brings some smoothness and sweetness but the agave still lets you know it is there. Finish is ok with mostly good flavors, but fading into a little bitterness. Gracias Don Pedro!

Additional Añejo bottle is good. I agree with Rakhal that the repo is better with more espadín powering the show. A little too smooth for mezcal. Still good though.

Dammit Dalton! Just when we—all civilized mezcal drinkers—declare that real mezcal must be blanco or it’s bad, you spring this on us. And then you slip in the fact that wood barrels must have been used in the olden days to store mezcal so it is actually traditional…you are diabolical. But please keep sending me more mezcal because this is delicious! If this was a bottle marked Fortaleza “Southern Blend” limited relajase, people would be hoarding and going nuts for it. So GOOD.
Ar

Read more
Rakhal

Rakhal

421 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars2 years ago

This is tasty! You can definitely still taste the Agave. I would like to try it after 4 months instead of eight but the wood is not overwhelming. Light brown sugar, peanut brittle, vanilla extract, apple juice, a drag on an unlit cigarette, wood varnish, nutmeg, particle board, and Heath toffee. As far as wood aged Mezcals go, this one is pretty good. The small Añejo bottle that came with it had lost all traces of Agave flavor, I would have preferred to taste the same Espadin unaged but that probably wasn’t possible. I’m glad I have this in my collection for friends to taste what a wood aged Mezcal is like.

This is tasty! You can definitely still taste the Agave. I would like to try it after 4 months instead of eight but the wood is not overwhelming. Light brown sugar, peanut brittle, vanilla extract, apple juice, a drag on an unlit cigarette, wood varnish, nutmeg, particle board, and Heath toffee. As far as wood aged Mezcals go, this one is pretty good. The small Añejo bottle that came with it had lost all traces of Agave flavor, I would have preferred to taste the same Espadin unaged but that pr

Read more
Zack Klamn

Zack Klamn

542 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars2 years ago

Nose – Soft oaky notes. Vanilla bean.

Palate – Animal crackers. Cherry blossom. Grassy. Thin mouth feel. Great balance between agave and oak flavors. Sweet and salty teriyaki finish.

A rockin’ reposado mezcal!

Review this bottle

Login or create an account to add your tasting notes

Back to top