Powered by 100% agave

Maguey Melate Tequilana – Emanuel Ramos

Maguey Melate Tequilana from Emanuel Ramos Sanchez was originally released as the March 2024 Mezcalero of the Month Club agave spirit.

Rating: (9 reviews)
Category:Destilado de Agave
Brand:Maguey Melate
Mezcalero:Emanuel Ramos
Agave:Tequilana
Milling:Tahona
Distillation:Refrescador
Style:Joven
State:Oaxaca
Town:Miahuatlán
ABV: 46.5%
Batch size: Batch EMA-TEQ-001: 400 liters
Release year: 2024
Website: https://www.magueymelate.com/, opens in new window

About this destilado de agave

Maguey Melate Tequilana from Emanuel Ramos Sanchez was originally released as the March 2024 Mezcalero of the Month Club agave spirit. The community of Mengoli de Morelos where Emanuel and his father Victor live and work has a population of just under 200 people. They are related to the neighboring Cortes family via Victor’s wife (Emanuel’s mother), Cleotilde, whose sister Cesilia is married to Felipe.

Maguey Melate

Maguey Melate was founded on two ideas: 1) Artisanal agave spirits are amazing and should be shared with the world, and 2) The faster-cheaper economy is a harmful force for people, the environment, and now agave spirits.

They believe if mezcal (and agave spirits) can be understood and appreciated at its full potential, people will show their preference for quality artisanal mezcal that is sustainably and fairly sourced. By raising consumer consciousness on the origins of mezcal and educating enthusiasts on matters of quality and character, informed people will be empowered to ensure the future of mezcal. To do this, they’re reaching a large audience with an impactful message: KEEP MEZCAL ARTISANAL!

Maguey Melate is perhaps most well-known for their Mezcalero of the Month Club, which delivers artisanal small-batch agave spirits directly to the doors of consumers in the US and Mexico. In addition to the monthly spirits, they offer exclusive content and interviews with producers. Single releases are also available in the Maguey Melate shop.

Member rating

3.22 out of 5

9 reviews

tallchad

tallchad

111 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars2 months ago

The aroma has fruit punch, citrus and unripe mango.
The taste is silky, good heat (very subtle) and repeats many of the flavors in the aroma.
The finish is really long and warm, overall a great balanced tequila.

The bonus bottle (I think) was the “honorary” mezcalera from San Felipe Guanajuato. This was my favorite of the three “tequilas”.

Jam

Jam

156 reviews
Rated 3 out of 5 stars2 months ago

Review #153: the nose has cotton, orange, lemon, and lime oils, vanilla, clorox wipes, wildflowers, soft earthiness, nuts, and ash.
The palate has plenty of lemon, lime, and orange all up front, then some underripe honeydew, light florals, vanilla, a moment of fresh cream mid palate, and turns to dry minerality with a touch of ash and nuts on the finish.

This is that classic clean Ramos profile with tequilana and it’s just about what I expected. There’s nothing really exciting about it to me but it is undeniably well made. It is just really fresh citrus all over with a solid minerality.

Review #153: the nose has cotton, orange, lemon, and lime oils, vanilla, clorox wipes, wildflowers, soft earthiness, nuts, and ash.
The palate has plenty of lemon, lime, and orange all up front, then some underripe honeydew, light florals, vanilla, a moment of fresh cream mid palate, and turns to dry minerality with a touch of ash and nuts on the finish.
This is that classic clean Ramos profile with tequilana and it’s just about what I expected. There’s nothing really exciting about

Read more
El-Dawg

El-Dawg

215 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars2 months ago

Smell is a little abrasive. Pine. Taste comes through hot and lactic with some pine and earthiness.
I love the Ramos’ but this is a slightly below average offering. Missing that super crisp and green refrescadera style!

les

les

37 reviews
Rated 3 out of 5 stars3 months ago

lemon cream, watermelon, pine, copper, soil, root, mint, lemon peel

Jonny

Jonny

708 reviews
Rated 3 out of 5 stars3 months ago

Batch EMA-TEQ-001. Aromas of pineapple, cantaloupe, limeade, key lime pie, and double mint gum. The palate has notes of honeydew melon, coconut, hickory, cedar, and ash. I really wanted to like this one more, but it’s just not very complex and is a bit thin.

Imperium

Imperium

105 reviews
Rated 3 out of 5 stars3 months ago

Nose: light roasted agave, cheese funk, citrusy-lime flavors, kind of like a margarita as Ben mentioned.
Palate: agave, very close to a high end tequila, but with a note of funk or cheese and a taste reminiscent of plastic tubs, a bit of greenness and sweetness. Quite different from your average mezcal. It’s interesting as an educational experience but not something I would go back for.

free2roca

free2roca

8 reviews
Rated 3 out of 5 stars4 months ago

Nose is fairly light roasted agave, earthiness, and a little funk. Tastes of bright citrus and minerality with some roasted agave. The mouth feel on this one is quite drying. Moderate finish the carriers consistent notes.

Ben P

Ben P

118 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars4 months ago

Nose: soft and citrusy, a bit of melon, lemon lime popsicle, almost like a margarita, coconut, lavender

Palate: candy like mouthfeel, almost oily which I love, orange and Meyer lemon, subtle melon, the mouthfeel reminds me of coconut moving into the finish. Finish is where you get a bit of minerality, lemon smarties, slate and herbal elements, it’s kind of grassy

This stuff is so crushable. While not overly complex it’s just damn good from nose to finish. When first trying I wanted to give it a 4 but side by side with the Refugio I think the complexity knocks it back a touch. Both are great tequilanas and I’ve really enjoyed the boxes theme.

Nose: soft and citrusy, a bit of melon, lemon lime popsicle, almost like a margarita, coconut, lavender
Palate: candy like mouthfeel, almost oily which I love, orange and Meyer lemon, subtle melon, the mouthfeel reminds me of coconut moving into the finish. Finish is where you get a bit of minerality, lemon smarties, slate and herbal elements, it’s kind of grassy
This stuff is so crushable. While not overly complex it’s just damn good from nose to finish. When first trying I wanted to give i

Read more
Satchmo

Satchmo

6 reviews
Rated 3 out of 5 stars4 months ago

Batch ema teq 001
I’m new to rating these. I’m going to estimate that a 3.0 star rating is a good, solid, high rating. I had this one next to a mezcal which was superior, yet this one is able to stand on its own even after sipping a knock out. I can tell this is not complex, but has good heat without having a high alcohol feel. The finish is dryer, there is NOTHING wrong with it that I can find. I have to describe it as being very well made with good results, a high tier mezcal that isn’t the best ever. Super solid. There’s gobs of mint, agave/plant/earth, alcohol, spice heat, light funk on the nose, maybe funk is absent in the mouth. Dry. Shorter finish. Medium/light viscosity. I really like. I would enjoy this any time.

Batch ema teq 001
I’m new to rating these. I’m going to estimate that a 3.0 star rating is a good, solid, high rating. I had this one next to a mezcal which was superior, yet this one is able to stand on its own even after sipping a knock out. I can tell this is not complex, but has good heat without having a high alcohol feel. The finish is dryer, there is NOTHING wrong with it that I can find. I have to describe it as being very well made with good results, a high tier mezcal that

Read more

Review this bottle

Login or create an account to add your tasting notes

Back to top