Powered by 100% agave

Maguey Melate Pulquero – Felix Hernandez Ruiz

Maguey Melate Pulquero from Felix Hernandez Ruiz is a small batch production from Santiago Matatlan, Oaxaca.

Rating: (17 reviews)
Category:Destilado de Agave
Brand:Maguey Melate
Mezcalero:Félix Hernández Ruiz
Maguey:Pulquero
Agave:Atrovirens
Grind:Tahona
Distillation:Copper
Style:Joven
State:Oaxaca
Town:Santiago Matatlan
ABV: 49.1%
Age of plant: 15-16 years
Release year: 2020
Website: https://www.magueymelate.com/, opens in new window
About this destilado de agave

Maguey Melate Pulquero from Felix Hernandez Ruiz was originally released as the October 2020 Mezcalero of the Month Club agave spirit. This mezcal was produced in Santiago Matatlan, Oaxaca, which is known locally as “The Mezcal Capital of the World.” Felix is a 3rd generation maestro mezcalero and has been producing mezcal on his own since 2001.

Maguey Melate

Maguey Melate was founded on two ideas: 1) Artisanal agave spirits are amazing and should be shared with the world, and 2) The faster-cheaper economy is a harmful force for people, the environment, and now agave spirits.

They believe if mezcal (and agave spirits) can be understood and appreciated at its full potential, people will show their preference for quality artisanal mezcal that is sustainably and fairly sourced. By raising consumer consciousness on the origins of mezcal and educating enthusiasts on matters of quality and character, informed people will be empowered to ensure the future of mezcal. To do this, they're reaching a large audience with an impactful message: KEEP MEZCAL ARTISANAL!

Maguey Melate is perhaps most well-known for their Mezcalero of the Month Club, which delivers artisanal small-batch agave spirits directly to the doors of consumers in the US and Mexico. In addition to the monthly spirits, they offer exclusive content and interviews with producers. Single releases are also available in the Maguey Melate shop.

17 reviews

3.94 out of 5


donpedro

donpedro

37 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars2 months ago

Menthol, grass, lots of lime, and olives. I completely agree with everyone that mentioned the briny, vermouth qualities. Loads of salinity and acid. A bit on the sweet side, but not terribly so.

Maiapal

Maiapal

6 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars4 months ago

Touches of salt each time which adds a nice taste to make you want to keep drinking. Flavor was mile and a shorter finish, a little on the thin side. It is an easy drinker which bumps it higher on my list to reach for.

5vpvzf

5vpvzf

2 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars4 months ago

Nose: Faint spice and ethanol leading into a super fresh, wet, “green” or “aqua” vapor. Has an overall glue or marker smell overshadowing a fresh spicy nose that is masked a bit.

Palate: This feels very cool on the palate. Lots of dried fruit flavors, herbal and sweet at once. You can definitely feel the high abv because of how thin it is. Has a citrusy zest to it though. I wish this was heavier.

Finish: This has a cool, herbal, lemon, salty, finish that lasts. I quite dig this.

Overall: I like this, the finish and nose in particular. I wish the palate had a bit more oomph.

Nose: Faint spice and ethanol leading into a super fresh, wet, “green” or “aqua” vapor. Has an overall glue or marker smell overshadowing a fresh spicy nose that is masked a bit.
Palate: This feels very cool on the palate. Lots of dried fruit flavors, herbal and sweet at once. You can definitely feel the high abv because of how thin it is. Has a citrusy zest to it though. I wish this was heavier.
Finish: This has a cool, herbal, lemon, salty, finish that lasts. I quite dig this.
Overal

Read more
t8ke

t8ke

135 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars4 months ago

Bright and effervescent – light honey, bright floral qualities, almost like a lavender note. Citrus peel, mossy soil, crisp minerality. Hint of ash.

Interesting, complex and enticing, this specific batch from Felix shows the best side of Pulquero in a flavor packed release by Maguey Melate

hutter

hutter

4 reviews
Rated 3 out of 5 stars5 months ago

First pulquero over tried. I like it. Sweet mild cream cheese and vegetal nose. Green pepper, clay, and salinity on the palate

rsidrys

rsidrys

46 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars5 months ago

Zesty celery and green peppers. Some hints of Parmesan cheese on the nose. Lots of brine on the mouth, almost like a well herbed/spiced soup. Finish has a lingering bite that I actually find enjoyable.

COak

COak

118 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars5 months ago

I was pleasantly surprised by this one. The nose is very inviting. The taste has a creamy quality but I also taste brine and peppercorn.

GreenspointTexas

GreenspointTexas

243 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars6 months ago

Havent had many pulquero varietals. This one may be near the top, however. Mostly echo what others have said. Some oil/stickiness on the palate. Finish has a slight wet dog type of thing going on. Overall enjoyable

Gregg T&T

Gregg T&T

91 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars6 months ago

Sweet nose, cooked agave and Werther’s Original candies with an underlying mint. Green olives, brine and peppercorns – palate is much greener than expected and delivers more than the subtle nose might suggest, including a balanced heat at 49%. Close to 4.5

tallchad

tallchad

26 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars6 months ago

I have never had pulquero mezcal. I reallly like this one. Aroma is interesting but good with a creamy quality a bit cheesy. Taste is surprisingly smooth with mineral and floral qualities. The finish is long with some good heat and pepper. More please!

El-Dawg

El-Dawg

95 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars6 months ago

First time having this type of agave. Overall very well rounded & nothing offensive about it. Most unique part of this mezcal to me is the smell (slight chlorine on the smell). Soft & sweet nose that carries through to the taste. I also get green olives & some tropical fruit as others have noted. Finishes clean. Missing “something” though to me which would give it a higher rating. But definitely interested to explore more pulquero mezcals.

Foster

Foster

10 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars6 months ago

This is the second Pulquero I have had. There are some similarities but this one is far superior. Soft to the smell with some sweetness to it. There is a spearmint aftertaste but to start I feel like there is something sweet just can’t figure out the exact taste.

Jonny

Jonny

497 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars6 months ago

FEL-PUL-001. Subtle yet charming nose. Some aromas of brine, green olives, and vermouth. This smells like a gin martini. The palate has a bit of black pepper spice, sandalwood, and more green olives. I admittedly don’t normally like mezcal made with this agave, but this one is nice, very different from the others I’ve tasted.

AdrianM

AdrianM

11 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars6 months ago

Caught me off guard, but in a great way. Another solid batch from Maguey Melate. This is the first Pulquero I’ve tried. I suck at explaining smells and taste compared to previous reviews, but I can assure you this is an amazing one. Saluuuuuuu!

Rakhal

Rakhal

283 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars6 months ago

Jasmine, dried thyme, lime zest, green olives in brine, spicy cayenne pepper. Initially I got notes of steamed artichoke but the next time I tried it that was gone and it had been replaced by lots of spearmint and something like butterscotch. The finish is pleasantly bitter like the hops in an IPA. Very nice.

Azi

Azi

15 reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars7 months ago

Wow. I don’t know mezcal well, but this is outstanding. I have a very limited mezcal vocabulary, but I’ll do my best.

Vegetal and incredibly green: bamboo shoots, artichokes, hearts of palm (wisps of vinegar). even lettuces
Pink peppercorns, white flowers, boiled potatoes. this is incredible. My first from Maguey Melate. looking forward to so so many more

Edit a bit later: I still get the above, but way more sweetness has come out, and layers of vanilla I don’t remember from before. the floral aspect has increased 10 fold, the vegetal aspect is perhaps the same, and the slight bits of starchiness are gone. the green has faded a bit and a white creamy floral vibe has taken its place. Still delicious, still a delight.

Wow. I don’t know mezcal well, but this is outstanding. I have a very limited mezcal vocabulary, but I’ll do my best.
Vegetal and incredibly green: bamboo shoots, artichokes, hearts of palm (wisps of vinegar). even lettuces
Pink peppercorns, white flowers, boiled potatoes. this is incredible. My first from Maguey Melate. looking forward to so so many more
Edit a bit later: I still get the above, but way more sweetness has come out, and layers of vanilla I don’t remember from be

Read more
Hörky Båmf

Hörky Båmf

20 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars7 months ago

Second night with this one and still trying to unravel it: white vinegar, artichoke, green olive brine, peppercorns, bell pepper, that bitter herb flavor you find in some sotol, very little ethanol bite or burn (surprisingly for 50% ABV), a slowly fading finish, only slightly sweet, that makes you want to come back for another sip. Intriguing and enjoyable. Looking forward to reading other reviews because I’m not the best at describing these things.

Review this bottle

Login or create an account to add your tasting notes

Back to top