Powered by 100% agave

Maguey Melate Mexicano – Fortunato Hernandez

Maguey Melate Mexicano from Fortunato Hernandez was originally released as the October 2022 Mezcalero of the Month Club agave spirit.

Rating: (6 reviews)
Category:Destilado de Agave
Brand:Maguey Melate
Mezcalero:Fortunato Hernández
Maguey:Mexicano
Agave:Rhodacantha
Grind:Tahona
Distillation:Copper
Style:Joven
State:Oaxaca
Town:San Baltazar Chichicapam
ABV: 45%
Age of plant: 6-7 years
Batch size: Batch FOR-MEX-001: 225 liters
Release year: 2022
Website: https://www.magueymelate.com/, opens in new window

About this destilado de agave

Maguey Melate Mexicano from Fortunato Hernandez was originally released as the October 2022 Mezcalero of the Month Club agave spirit. Like many mezcal producers, Fortunato has a deep support system within his family, chiefly his daughter Estella, who is the head of sales and administration for all the family’s mezcal production. She started working in the palenque at age 12 and has been dedicated to the family’s mezcal production ever since. Her father, Fortunato, is a 3rd generation mezcalero who has been producing mezcal since 1990.

Maguey Melate

Maguey Melate was founded on two ideas: 1) Artisanal agave spirits are amazing and should be shared with the world, and 2) The faster-cheaper economy is a harmful force for people, the environment, and now agave spirits.

They believe if mezcal (and agave spirits) can be understood and appreciated at its full potential, people will show their preference for quality artisanal mezcal that is sustainably and fairly sourced. By raising consumer consciousness on the origins of mezcal and educating enthusiasts on matters of quality and character, informed people will be empowered to ensure the future of mezcal. To do this, they’re reaching a large audience with an impactful message: KEEP MEZCAL ARTISANAL!

Maguey Melate is perhaps most well-known for their Mezcalero of the Month Club, which delivers artisanal small-batch agave spirits directly to the doors of consumers in the US and Mexico. In addition to the monthly spirits, they offer exclusive content and interviews with producers. Single releases are also available in the Maguey Melate shop.

6 reviews

4.25 out of 5

El-Dawg

El-Dawg

168 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars1 week ago

Solid Mexicano…I visited Fortunato’s palenque and brought back a Mexicano back in 2021…glad to see that Melate thought that was the best one as well. Rock candy, green sweet tarts…long finish with some dark chocolate notes. Well balanced and sweet. I really like it!

GreenspointTexas

GreenspointTexas

371 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars3 weeks ago

Backlog

Zack Klamn

Zack Klamn

497 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars3 weeks ago

Batch: FOR-MEX-001
Nose – Grassy. Slightly lactic. Orange citrus. White sugar crystals. Campfire coals.

Palate – Wild grass. Dry champagne. Rock candy. Orange peel. Oak embers. Long, long finish. Amazing flavors! Fortunato nails this one.

Jonny

Jonny

607 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars1 month ago

Lot FOR-MEX-001. This really opens up the longer it sits. Classic Rhodacantha aromas of dark chocolate, leather, and some light smoke. Additional aromas of sawdust and cedar. The palate has notes of burnt sage, spearmint leaves, rosemary, dark chocolate, and this medicinal quality similar to cherry-menthol cough syrup. Medium finish. This is a very enjoyable release.

Rakhal

Rakhal

382 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars2 months ago

Update: after a month of this bottle being open it’s gotten more and more leathery which I really like a lot. So I’m upping my score.

I visited Fortunato’s Palenque back in 2019 and out of all the expressions that I tried his Mexicano was my favorite. This is a solid Mexicano. The first thing I thought of when I took my first sip was leather. Like walking into a saddle shop, or a library full of old books. Also 100% dark chocolate, a little bitter. The wood section of a hardware store, hay, paper, cinnamon, and some juicy fruit gum on the finish. I like it, but the Maguey Melate Mexicano from Berta Vasquez (also in Chichicapam) was better in my opinion. 3.5 stars.

Update: after a month of this bottle being open it’s gotten more and more leathery which I really like a lot. So I’m upping my score.
I visited Fortunato’s Palenque back in 2019 and out of all the expressions that I tried his Mexicano was my favorite. This is a solid Mexicano. The first thing I thought of when I took my first sip was leather. Like walking into a saddle shop, or a library full of old books. Also 100% dark chocolate, a little bitter. The wood section of a hardware store, ha

Read more
Veggie Lover

Veggie Lover

5 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars2 months ago

This is superb right from the first sip. A cross between juicy fruit and double mint gum with some herbaceous notes on the nose. On the palate I get soft mint with brown leather and aftershave. Nice touch of soft smoke on the finish.

Review this bottle

Login or create an account to add your tasting notes

Back to top