Powered by 100% agave

Maguey Melate Inaequidens – Miguel Ortiz Villagomez

Maguey Melate Inaequidens from Miguel Ortiz Villagomez was originally released as the April 2022 Mezcalero of the Month Club agave spirit.

Rating: (12 reviews)
Category:Destilado de Agave
Brand:Maguey Melate
Mezcalero:Miguel Ortiz Villagomez
Maguey:Alto
Agave:Inaequidens
Grind:Hand
Distillation:Copper
Style:Joven
State:Michoacán
Town:Cañada del Agua
ABV: 53%
Age of plant: 7-8 years
Batch size: Lot MIG-INA-001: 120 liters
Release year: 2022
Website: https://www.magueymelate.com/, opens in new window

About this destilado de agave

Maguey Melate Inaequidens from Miguel Ortiz Villagomez was originally released as the April 2022 Mezcalero of the Month Club agave spirit. This mezcal was made with Agave inaequidens, which is known locally as Alto because it prefers to grow at very high altitudes. This region of Michoacan can get relatively cold, which slows fermentation. Miguel adds about 5 liters of pulque to his fermenting agave to help jumpstart the yeasts.

Maguey Melate

Maguey Melate was founded on two ideas: 1) Artisanal agave spirits are amazing and should be shared with the world, and 2) The faster-cheaper economy is a harmful force for people, the environment, and now agave spirits.

They believe if mezcal (and agave spirits) can be understood and appreciated at its full potential, people will show their preference for quality artisanal mezcal that is sustainably and fairly sourced. By raising consumer consciousness on the origins of mezcal and educating enthusiasts on matters of quality and character, informed people will be empowered to ensure the future of mezcal. To do this, they’re reaching a large audience with an impactful message: KEEP MEZCAL ARTISANAL!

Maguey Melate is perhaps most well-known for their Mezcalero of the Month Club, which delivers artisanal small-batch agave spirits directly to the doors of consumers in the US and Mexico. In addition to the monthly spirits, they offer exclusive content and interviews with producers. Single releases are also available in the Maguey Melate shop.

12 reviews

4.33 out of 5

GreenspointTexas

GreenspointTexas

373 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars2 weeks ago

Different. Not sure if I enjoy it yet. Will revisit

Matthew

Matthew

9 reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars1 month ago

MIG-INA-001, Bottle #37

10/20/22: The nose is absolutely crazy. Very intense aroma. Bubblegum, mango, blue cheese, honeydew.

This mezcal is balanced, rich, and complex. More of the honeydew up front, with ripe tropical fruits. There’s an almost fermenty quality that reminds me both of a tonburi dish I once had, and passion fruit at the same time. The finish carries more of the bubblegum and blue cheese notes, along with an almost faintly woody mineral finish.

Like nothing else I’ve ever tasted. Delicious.

MIG-INA-001, Bottle #37
10/20/22: The nose is absolutely crazy. Very intense aroma. Bubblegum, mango, blue cheese, honeydew.
This mezcal is balanced, rich, and complex. More of the honeydew up front, with ripe tropical fruits. There’s an almost fermenty quality that reminds me both of a tonburi dish I once had, and passion fruit at the same time. The finish carries more of the bubblegum and blue cheese notes, along with an almost faintly woody mineral finish.
Like nothing else I’ve ever tas

Read more
mark

mark

4 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars4 months ago

MIG-INA-001 Bottle: 787
It has a really nice flavor profile as others have mentioned. Then I kept tasting blue cheese, a flavor I really don’t like. I was at least heartened that others tasted the same thing. My bottle also had the “2” on the front. I liked everything about it except that note, and, perhaps because I don’t like blue cheese, I couldn’t get rid of it minutes later. If you don’t mind that note, then it scores more like a 4.25-4.5 for me.

MIG-INA-001 Bottle: 787
It has a really nice flavor profile as others have mentioned. Then I kept tasting blue cheese, a flavor I really don’t like. I was at least heartened that others tasted the same thing. My bottle also had the “2” on the front. I liked everything about it except that note, and, perhaps because I don’t like blue cheese, I couldn’t get rid of it minutes later. If you don’t mind that note, then it scores more like a 4.25-4.5 for me.

Read more
gonzalezjr21

gonzalezjr21

10 reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars4 months ago

200 liters produced February 2021
MIG-INA-001
53%

Easily one of my top 3 Inaequidens I’ve tasted to date. Delicious sweet and sour fruit notes. Funky, complex with a long beautiful finish that will keep you smacking your lips… This is heaven in a copita! If only i could give it 10 stars 🌟 🤩

El-Dawg

El-Dawg

170 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars6 months ago

Amazing alto – I really enjoy this one (as does everyone I share it with). Nose is super fragrant – flowery, and some overripe fruit in all the best way. Funky and slightly cheesy as well, similar in some ways to a raicilla.
Taste is balanced with more fruity notes, watermelon candy. Delicious, and shows how diverse and beautiful mezcal can really be.

JDB

JDB

78 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars7 months ago

ABV 53% Bottle: 416 Batch 2 (?)

Something special about this release from Maguey Melate. Appreciated the deep dive in club chat about this one, whether it is the process, the agave, or the pulque used to speed fermentation that adds that funky note as well as the wide-ranging conversation amongst the club members about the flavor profile. The nose has the cheesy, lactic scent but it also has some floral undertones and honey essence. The tastes on the palate keep changing with each sip: trying to nail down that cheesy note, definitely a sheep type cheese, maybe feta, but also reminds of cotija. There is some brine in here too, a bit of lime zest, artichoke, and sharp heat. Such a ride! 4.25/5 stars for me

ABV 53% Bottle: 416 Batch 2 (?)
Something special about this release from Maguey Melate. Appreciated the deep dive in club chat about this one, whether it is the process, the agave, or the pulque used to speed fermentation that adds that funky note as well as the wide-ranging conversation amongst the club members about the flavor profile. The nose has the cheesy, lactic scent but it also has some floral undertones and honey essence. The tastes on the palate keep changing with each sip: t

Read more
RyeAmLegend

RyeAmLegend

32 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars7 months ago

Batch: 48.8% Mini Bottle

Wild nose. Mushrooms, earth, mango, banana peels. It’s got a fermented, yeasty quality. Like a fermented sweet agave nectar, mead-like quality. Coconut water. Dulce de leche. Cheesecake, cream cheese. When you first pour it that lactic quality is very present. Let it sit a bit and more sweeter, overripe, fruits come out.

Noticeably thin on the palate initially. As I was sipping the texture really started to transform in the glass. Incredibly floral. Dryer sheets. Lots of funky woodiness. Orange liquor, lime leaf. Very sweet with those overripe fruit notes then takes a turn with a more dry and bitter profile. Banana skin, plantain. More mushrooms. Creamed butter.

Long and dry finish. The funky fruit gives me summer mead vibes again on the finish. Lactic sour beer. Green lumber. Bit of a chemical note that I do not enjoy. Slightly antiseptic, sterile bandage note.

Batch: 48.8% Mini Bottle
Wild nose. Mushrooms, earth, mango, banana peels. It’s got a fermented, yeasty quality. Like a fermented sweet agave nectar, mead-like quality. Coconut water. Dulce de leche. Cheesecake, cream cheese. When you first pour it that lactic quality is very present. Let it sit a bit and more sweeter, overripe, fruits come out.
Noticeably thin on the palate initially. As I was sipping the texture really started to transform in the glass. Incredibly floral. Dryer sheets. Lots

Read more
Manning

Manning

12 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars7 months ago

I love the smell of this one – a bit of lactic funk, but with a strawberry aroma it reminds me of a nice cheesecake with strawberries on top. I also get some cotton candy and candy apples on the aroma. On the taste I get some parmesan and blue cheese, peppermint, and hatch chili with a nice cherry and peach sweetness. I love the combination of funky cheese and fruit with this. Not for everyone, but I dig it! 9/10

tallchad

tallchad

70 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars7 months ago

This is good and very unique. Aroma is full and strong with juicy fruit gum, charred pineapple and a hint of overripe peach. There is no smoke at all and is quite sweet. Taste is a little hot (with alcohol) and pepper and light, mild chile. There is some light smoke that has a hint of bitterness. Finish is the best part for me, it is long, good and warm with intensifying sweetness that helps you remember the aroma.
Score is more like 3.75. Lote MIG-INA 001 bottle 507
*EDIT*. After the Maguey Melate taste and chat (April 28, 2022) last night we uncovered a detail that has been vexing me on this one. So many reviews were talking about the “funky and cheesy” notes…whereas I got fruity and sweet. If you have a bottle is there a random “2” in to uppermost corner of the label? The picture here on MR has the 2, so does mine. There were many others on the zoom chat that said they have the 2 and got fruit/sweet notes. The MM team reported that there was a 2nd batch made to fill the order. Now I just have to find someone without the mysterious 2 so we can do a side-by-side. Salud amigos!

This is good and very unique. Aroma is full and strong with juicy fruit gum, charred pineapple and a hint of overripe peach. There is no smoke at all and is quite sweet. Taste is a little hot (with alcohol) and pepper and light, mild chile. There is some light smoke that has a hint of bitterness. Finish is the best part for me, it is long, good and warm with intensifying sweetness that helps you remember the aroma.
Score is more like 3.75. Lote MIG-INA 001 bottle 507
*EDIT*. After the Maguey Mel

Read more
Jonny

Jonny

607 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars7 months ago

Lot Batch: MIG-INA-001. Enchanting mezcal. Inaequidens is one of my favorite agaves and this expression of it is phenomenal. Aromas of pink lemonade, green apples, bubblegum, and confectionary sugar. The palate has a hint of parmesan cheese, but not overly lactic. More notes of charred peppers, spearmint, and cherries. There’s a bit of heat, but delicious all around.

Rakhal

Rakhal

382 reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars8 months ago

Whoa!!!! I love this!!! It’s got all those beautiful flavors that I love from Agave Inaequidens (Alto, Bruto) and no noticeable imperfections. I taste Granny Smith apples, blue cheese, and something that tastes the way a fresh can of tennis balls smells when you open it. When I swallow and let the air out of my nose I get an intense explosion of mint like taking a handful of spearmint Altoids candy and chewing them up, I love it!!!! The finish is very long and just a ton of mint, and some beautiful floral, herbal, and citrus flavors like lemongrass, lemon verbena, and jasmine. So freaking delicious!!!!

Whoa!!!! I love this!!! It’s got all those beautiful flavors that I love from Agave Inaequidens (Alto, Bruto) and no noticeable imperfections. I taste Granny Smith apples, blue cheese, and something that tastes the way a fresh can of tennis balls smells when you open it. When I swallow and let the air out of my nose I get an intense explosion of mint like taking a handful of spearmint Altoids candy and chewing them up, I love it!!!! The finish is very long and just a ton of mint, and some beau

Read more
Zack Klamn

Zack Klamn

497 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars8 months ago

Batch: MIG-INA-001 Bottle: 119
Nose – Lemonade. Rosy. A little bit of lactic funk but nice!

Palate – Pink lemonade blast. Char grilled zucchini. Oak wood ash. Shaved parmesan cheese. Dry champagne finish. Amazing stuff!!!

Review this bottle

Login or create an account to add your tasting notes

Back to top