Powered by 100% agave

Maguey Melate Chuparrosa

Maguey Melate Chuparrosa is made from maguey Chuparrosa, which does not appear to have a scientific designation at this time.

Rating: (13 reviews)
Category:Destilado de Agave
Brand:Maguey Melate
Mezcalero:Isaac Alvarez Rodriguez
Maguey:Chuparrosa
Agave:Sp
Grind:Shredder
Distillation:Copper
Style:Joven
State:Oaxaca
Town:San Lorenzo Jilotepequillo
ABV: 49.5%
Age of plant: 5-7 years
Batch size: May 2020 batch: 150 liters
Website: https://www.magueymelate.com/, opens in new window

About this destilado de agave

Maguey Melate Chuparrosa from Isaac Alvarez Rodriguez in San Lorenzo Jilotepequillo, Oaxaca. This is made with the rare maguey Chuparrosa (A.Sp). According to the brand, there are only a few small pueblos that collectively only have around 1,000 living plants of this varietal. They are semi cultivated in the sense that they are replanted in the mountains and then left alone for 5-7 years before harvest.

Maguey Melate

Maguey Melate was founded on two ideas: 1) Artisanal agave spirits are amazing and should be shared with the world, and 2) The faster-cheaper economy is a harmful force for people, the environment, and now agave spirits.

They believe if mezcal (and agave spirits) can be understood and appreciated at its full potential, people will show their preference for quality artisanal mezcal that is sustainably and fairly sourced. By raising consumer consciousness on the origins of mezcal and educating enthusiasts on matters of quality and character, informed people will be empowered to ensure the future of mezcal. To do this, they’re reaching a large audience with an impactful message: KEEP MEZCAL ARTISANAL!

Maguey Melate is perhaps most well-known for their Mezcalero of the Month Club, which delivers artisanal small-batch agave spirits directly to the doors of consumers in the US and Mexico. In addition to the monthly spirits, they offer exclusive content and interviews with producers. Single releases are also available in the Maguey Melate shop.

13 reviews

2.38 out of 5

Zack Klamn

Zack Klamn

497 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars6 days ago

Batch: SER-CHU-001
Nose – Twizzlers red licorice. Chicken jerky. A slight sanitized hospital note.

Palate – Poppyseed cake. Cherry and light cream. Both pine and oak wood notes. Dry, sweet and tangy finish. Solid!

This one is alright; I quite like it! This later Maguey Melate batch by a different mezcalero (Sergio Martinez Rodriguez) seems like a level up versus the previous batch from a couple years back.

Tyler

Tyler

591 reviews
Rated 2 out of 5 stars1 month ago

Oh boy, the infamous Chuparrosa from MM. To be fair, Maguey Melate has a strong track record, especially in 2022 – a year of killer subscription releases. I bought this 375ml bottle in the doldrums of 2020. Why? Because the agave species sounded badass and the label looked cool, what could go wrong? Well, after ~2 years and finally opening it.. it’s not the worst. Honestly it is kinda perfect for your friend’s friend that loves “smoky tequila”. I’ll probably use this and drop 0.5oz into a cocktail here and there. Or share it with your friend’s friend. Ain’t nothing wrong with that. What is great about MM is that they consistently explore, experiment, and then ship interesting stuff direct.

What about the tasting notes? Ok, well.. imagine a cotton candy machine outside of an oil spill set ablaze. Hot chemicals with a faint sugar finish.

Oh boy, the infamous Chuparrosa from MM. To be fair, Maguey Melate has a strong track record, especially in 2022 – a year of killer subscription releases. I bought this 375ml bottle in the doldrums of 2020. Why? Because the agave species sounded badass and the label looked cool, what could go wrong? Well, after ~2 years and finally opening it.. it’s not the worst. Honestly it is kinda perfect for your friend’s friend that loves “smoky tequila”. I’ll probably u

Read more
cagliostro

cagliostro

32 reviews
Rated 2.5 out of 5 stars5 months ago

Maguey Melate Sergio Martinez Rodriguez Chuparrosa (49%)
SER-CHU-001

nose: polenta cake, hazelnut cream, lysol – kinda intense, stewed apples, thin mints, piney

palate: woody, chestnuts, honey toast, pears, finishes in heavy pine

much better than what i expected given impressions on the previous chuparrosa batch. 5/10. pretty enjoyable in spots but the flaw are similarly pronounced. honestly the beginning of the palate is quite pleasant but the finish and nose leave much to be desired.

Maguey Melate Sergio Martinez Rodriguez Chuparrosa (49%)
SER-CHU-001
nose: polenta cake, hazelnut cream, lysol – kinda intense, stewed apples, thin mints, piney
palate: woody, chestnuts, honey toast, pears, finishes in heavy pine
much better than what i expected given impressions on the previous chuparrosa batch. 5/10. pretty enjoyable in spots but the flaw are similarly pronounced. honestly the beginning of the palate is quite pleasant but the finish and nose leave much to be desired.

Read more
donpedro

donpedro

39 reviews
Rated 1 out of 5 stars2 years ago

Diesel, pinesol, acetone, and ammonia. Was really excited to try this, but it just is not for me. Unique, but very off-putting. Keep trying to come back to it, but can’t bring myself to finishing bottle.

tallchad

tallchad

70 reviews
Rated 2 out of 5 stars2 years ago

My least favorite from the first Maguey Melate tasting box.
The aroma is not bad with mango,
pineapple and light smoke.
Taste is not good with way too much smoke and bitterness.
The finish is bitter with gasoline aftertaste.

Azi

Azi

31 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars2 years ago

At the front, loads of pine, grass, and other green vegetal things. maybe a bit of brine. The end is definitely a bit sharp. Not a mezcal expert, but i think other folks are reacting to st that I’m just not picking up on???

Nic Hnastchenko

Nic Hnastchenko

108 reviews
Rated 2.5 out of 5 stars2 years ago

Very unique, wasn’t my favorite of the taster batch. Don’t have a lot of tasting notes on these, but going with the gut feel rankings.

Gregg T&T

Gregg T&T

100 reviews
Rated 3 out of 5 stars2 years ago

Menthol (like medicated lip balm), lemon pine sol, and some acetone. More pine needles on the palate, musty and ethanol – it’s a bit hot. This one is really out there, which I really appreciate and enjoy but could use some refinement.

GreenspointTexas

GreenspointTexas

373 reviews
Rated 2.5 out of 5 stars2 years ago

Acetone and sharpie/gasoline. Glad I didnt spring for the full 375ml. Oof

Rakhal

Rakhal

382 reviews
Rated 2.5 out of 5 stars2 years ago

At first I hated it but every time I tried it I liked it more, unfortunately 50ml only goes so far. It’s aggressive. Nail polish remover and paint thinner, but under that I also got leather jacket, rolling tobacco, raw cremini mushroom, and fabric softener. I actually wish I had more of this to rest in glass for a year and see if that improved it.

El-Dawg

El-Dawg

170 reviews
Rated 2.5 out of 5 stars2 years ago

Piney smell (best thing I thought it had going for it), which probably resulted from the fermentation. Overall I got strong ethanol / alcohol tastes, with some mintyness. Overall it just seemed a bit “cheap” and really not that good or interesting for me. 2.25

Kon-tiki

Kon-tiki

16 reviews
Rated 1.5 out of 5 stars2 years ago

My expectations for this bottle were high, but upon opening the bottle, I got an immediate hit of strong diesel fumes….. That was a hard to get past, but the longer the mezcal sat in the glass, the more it mellowed…. Now that my bottle has been open (and capped) for a couple weeks, it’s all mellow now….. I get musty aromas like mildewed wood, gym socks, hemp, and yeast…. These are admittedly not my favorite aromas, but they’re better than the diesel…… The palate is very gasoline/diesel heavy. It’s also a bit acrid. Not a fan. ISA-CHU-001.

My expectations for this bottle were high, but upon opening the bottle, I got an immediate hit of strong diesel fumes….. That was a hard to get past, but the longer the mezcal sat in the glass, the more it mellowed…. Now that my bottle has been open (and capped) for a couple weeks, it’s all mellow now….. I get musty aromas like mildewed wood, gym socks, hemp, and yeast…. These are admittedly not my favorite aromas, but they’re better than the diesel…R

Read more
COak

COak

195 reviews
Rated 1.5 out of 5 stars2 years ago

Strong gasoline on the nose. The tongue is chemically and gas. I don’t get enjoyable flavors from this. You need some warm up mezcals to be able to drink this.

Review this bottle

Login or create an account to add your tasting notes

Back to top