Powered by 100% agave

Maguey Melate Chuparrosa

Maguey Melate Chuparrosa is made from maguey Chuparrosa, which does not appear to have a scientific designation at this time.

Rating: (10 reviews)
Category:Destilado de Agave
Brand:Maguey Melate
Mezcalero:Isaac Alvarez Rodriguez
Maguey:Chuparrosa
Agave:Sp
Grind:Shredder
Distillation:Copper
Style:Joven
State:Oaxaca
Town:San Lorenzo Jilotepequillo
ABV: 49.5%
Age of plant: 5-7 years
Batch size: May 2020 batch: 150 liters
Website: https://www.magueymelate.com/, opens in new window
About this destilado de agave

Maguey Melate Chuparrosa from Isaac Alvarez Rodriguez in San Lorenzo Jilotepequillo, Oaxaca. This is made with the rare maguey Chuparrosa (A.Sp). According to the brand, there are only a few small pueblos that collectively only have around 1,000 living plants of this varietal. They are semi cultivated in the sense that they are replanted in the mountains and then left alone for 5-7 years before harvest.

Maguey Melate

Maguey Melate was founded on two ideas: 1) Artisanal agave spirits are amazing and should be shared with the world, and 2) The faster-cheaper economy is a harmful force for people, the environment, and now agave spirits.

They believe if mezcal (and agave spirits) can be understood and appreciated at its full potential, people will show their preference for quality artisanal mezcal that is sustainably and fairly sourced. By raising consumer consciousness on the origins of mezcal and educating enthusiasts on matters of quality and character, informed people will be empowered to ensure the future of mezcal. To do this, they're reaching a large audience with an impactful message: KEEP MEZCAL ARTISANAL!

Maguey Melate is perhaps most well-known for their Mezcalero of the Month Club, which delivers artisanal small-batch agave spirits directly to the doors of consumers in the US and Mexico. In addition to the monthly spirits, they offer exclusive content and interviews with producers. Single releases are also available in the Maguey Melate shop.

10 reviews

2.25 out of 5


donpedro

donpedro

37 reviews
Rated 1 out of 5 stars2 months ago

Diesel, pinesol, acetone, and ammonia. Was really excited to try this, but it just is not for me. Unique, but very off-putting. Keep trying to come back to it, but can’t bring myself to finishing bottle.

tallchad

tallchad

26 reviews
Rated 2 out of 5 stars3 months ago

My least favorite from the first Maguey Melate tasting box.
The aroma is not bad with mango,
pineapple and light smoke.
Taste is not good with way too much smoke and bitterness.
The finish is bitter with gasoline aftertaste.

Azi

Azi

15 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars3 months ago

At the front, loads of pine, grass, and other green vegetal things. maybe a bit of brine. The end is definitely a bit sharp. Not a mezcal expert, but i think other folks are reacting to st that I’m just not picking up on???

Nic Hnastchenko

Nic Hnastchenko

108 reviews
Rated 2.5 out of 5 stars5 months ago

Very unique, wasn’t my favorite of the taster batch. Don’t have a lot of tasting notes on these, but going with the gut feel rankings.

Gregg T&T

Gregg T&T

91 reviews
Rated 3 out of 5 stars5 months ago

Menthol (like medicated lip balm), lemon pine sol, and some acetone. More pine needles on the palate, musty and ethanol – it’s a bit hot. This one is really out there, which I really appreciate and enjoy but could use some refinement.

GreenspointTexas

GreenspointTexas

240 reviews
Rated 2.5 out of 5 stars5 months ago

Acetone and sharpie/gasoline. Glad I didnt spring for the full 375ml. Oof

Rakhal

Rakhal

276 reviews
Rated 2.5 out of 5 stars6 months ago

At first I hated it but every time I tried it I liked it more, unfortunately 50ml only goes so far. It’s aggressive. Nail polish remover and paint thinner, but under that I also got leather jacket, rolling tobacco, raw cremini mushroom, and fabric softener. I actually wish I had more of this to rest in glass for a year and see if that improved it.

El-Dawg

El-Dawg

93 reviews
Rated 2.5 out of 5 stars6 months ago

Piney smell (best thing I thought it had going for it), which probably resulted from the fermentation. Overall I got strong ethanol / alcohol tastes, with some mintyness. Overall it just seemed a bit “cheap” and really not that good or interesting for me. 2.25

Kon-tiki

Kon-tiki

16 reviews
Rated 1.5 out of 5 stars6 months ago

My expectations for this bottle were high, but upon opening the bottle, I got an immediate hit of strong diesel fumes….. That was a hard to get past, but the longer the mezcal sat in the glass, the more it mellowed…. Now that my bottle has been open (and capped) for a couple weeks, it’s all mellow now….. I get musty aromas like mildewed wood, gym socks, hemp, and yeast…. These are admittedly not my favorite aromas, but they’re better than the diesel…… The palate is very gasoline/diesel heavy. It’s also a bit acrid. Not a fan. ISA-CHU-001.

My expectations for this bottle were high, but upon opening the bottle, I got an immediate hit of strong diesel fumes….. That was a hard to get past, but the longer the mezcal sat in the glass, the more it mellowed…. Now that my bottle has been open (and capped) for a couple weeks, it’s all mellow now….. I get musty aromas like mildewed wood, gym socks, hemp, and yeast…. These are admittedly not my favorite aromas, but they’re better than the diesel…R

Read more
COak

COak

118 reviews
Rated 1.5 out of 5 stars6 months ago

Strong gasoline on the nose. The tongue is chemically and gas. I don’t get enjoyable flavors from this. You need some warm up mezcals to be able to drink this.

Review this bottle

Login or create an account to add your tasting notes

Back to top