Powered by 100% agave

Maguey Melate Madre Cuixe – Adela Del Carmen Cruz Antonio

Maguey Melate Madre Cuixe from Adela Del Carmen Cruz Antonio was originally released as the February 2022 Mezcalero of the Month Club agave spirit.

Rating: (8 reviews)
Category:Destilado de Agave
Brand:Maguey Melate
Mezcalero:Adela Del Carmen Cruz Antonio
Maguey:Madrecuishe
Agave:Karwinskii
Grind:Tahona
Distillation:Copper
Style:Joven
State:Oaxaca
Town:San Dionisio Ocotepec
ABV: 56.7%
Age of plant: 8 years
Batch size: Batch ADE-MAD-001: 220 liters
Release year: 2022
Website: https://www.magueymelate.com/, opens in new window

About this destilado de agave

Maguey Melate Madre Cuixe from Adela Del Carmen Cruz Antonio was originally released as the February 2022 Mezcalero of the Month Club agave spirit. Adela believes that her palenque’s fresh mountain spring water makes her mezcal unique and distinguishable from the other 60-70 palenques in San Dionesio Ocotepec. Most of the palenques in this region use potable city water or well water, but Adela’s palenque was purposefully built outside of town in the natural landscape.

Maguey Melate

Maguey Melate was founded on two ideas: 1) Artisanal agave spirits are amazing and should be shared with the world, and 2) The faster-cheaper economy is a harmful force for people, the environment, and now agave spirits.

They believe if mezcal (and agave spirits) can be understood and appreciated at its full potential, people will show their preference for quality artisanal mezcal that is sustainably and fairly sourced. By raising consumer consciousness on the origins of mezcal and educating enthusiasts on matters of quality and character, informed people will be empowered to ensure the future of mezcal. To do this, they’re reaching a large audience with an impactful message: KEEP MEZCAL ARTISANAL!

Maguey Melate is perhaps most well-known for their Mezcalero of the Month Club, which delivers artisanal small-batch agave spirits directly to the doors of consumers in the US and Mexico. In addition to the monthly spirits, they offer exclusive content and interviews with producers. Single releases are also available in the Maguey Melate shop.

8 reviews

3.94 out of 5

gonzalezjr21

gonzalezjr21

8 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars4 weeks ago

Maguey Melate
220 liters produced April 2021
ADE-MAD-001
56.7%

One flavor bomb of a Madrecuixe! Smells and tastes like brown sugary goodness. Nuts, vanilla, sweet fruit, butterscotch, velvety mouthfeel. A very solid offering from Adela Del Carmen

cagliostro

cagliostro

11 reviews
Rated 2.5 out of 5 stars4 weeks ago

Maguey Melate Madre Cuixe – Adela Del Carmen Cruz Antonio (56.7%)

Batch: ADE-MAD-001

Nose: pretty aggressive nose, classic karwinskii aromas – green beans, fig jam, straw, boiled chestnuts, bit grassy

Palate: pretty hot, very nutty and earthy, dates in the middle holding it together, fairly drying/tannic finish,

5/10 this is decent. i do enjoy this profile but it’s too hot and too drying/tannic at the end to really call it an enjoyable pour. probably discontinuing my maguey melate subscription soon.

Maguey Melate Madre Cuixe – Adela Del Carmen Cruz Antonio (56.7%)
Batch: ADE-MAD-001
Nose: pretty aggressive nose, classic karwinskii aromas – green beans, fig jam, straw, boiled chestnuts, bit grassy
Palate: pretty hot, very nutty and earthy, dates in the middle holding it together, fairly drying/tannic finish,
5/10 this is decent. i do enjoy this profile but it’s too hot and too drying/tannic at the end to really call it an enjoyable pour. probably discontinuing my maguey me

Read more
Rakhal

Rakhal

358 reviews
Rated 3 out of 5 stars2 months ago

I really like the story and the videos for this expression, and the Mezcal did get better and better with time. I get some of the sweetness and baking spices other reviewers have mentioned but it finishes very salty and bitter for me. Like drinking salty grapefruit juice after brushing my teeth. Maybe I got an off bottle?

tallchad

tallchad

53 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars2 months ago

56.7% batch for me also. The ABV helps the wonderful aromas and taste jump out. This mezcal is not shy. So flavorful and delicious. Adela’s story is also so great. Watch the MM videos if you haven’t yet. Aroma is fruity and floral with slight minerality , almost earthy.
Flavor is aligned with aroma and is quite smooth with a hint of spice on the finish. Sensational.

Separate review for Adela‘s Tepextate in the 100 ml:
Aroma is very green and sweet. Taste has some good earth with pepper highlights but there is some sticky sweetness that I don’t like so much. This is a good Tep but not my favorite. 3 stars.

56.7% batch for me also. The ABV helps the wonderful aromas and taste jump out. This mezcal is not shy. So flavorful and delicious. Adela’s story is also so great. Watch the MM videos if you haven’t yet. Aroma is fruity and floral with slight minerality , almost earthy.
Flavor is aligned with aroma and is quite smooth with a hint of spice on the finish. Sensational.
Separate review for Adela‘s Tepextate in the 100 ml:
Aroma is very green and sweet. Taste has some good earth with peppe

Read more
Zack Klamn

Zack Klamn

413 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars2 months ago

Batch – ADE-MAD-001
Nose – Slightly floral. Wet soil. Brown sugar.

Palate – Sweet potato. Rock candy. Silky smooth for near 57% ABV (High 40s heat to me). So frickin’ good!

El-Dawg

El-Dawg

153 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars3 months ago

Batch ADE-MAD-001. 56.7%. Glad I got the higher ADV version.
Very sweet & sugary smell (like Jonny said, baked goods). Full mouth taste, and more sugary sweetness. This one definitely got better with time…like 1 to 1.5 star type of better. Goes to show what some airtime/oxygen will do (and why I wait a while after opening up a bottle before making these type of reviews). Great proof and great mezcal!

Manning

Manning

10 reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars3 months ago

Batch ADE-MAD-001 (56.7% abv). I’m very happy I got the higher abv batch as this is an incredibly good mezcal. I don’t pick up the higher abv – it’s not harsh at all. The vanilla and fruit and bubblegum flavor just explodes out of this. It’s very sweet, but I like that in a mezcal. A hint of BBQ smoke rounds out the sweet vanilla and tutti frutti flavors. Nice long finish. A nearly perfect mezcal – 9.7/10.

Jonny

Jonny

581 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars4 months ago

Batch ADE-MAD-001. Strong aromas of sugary baked goods. This smells like an early morning bakery with notes of brown sugar, maple, pecans, and freshly baked sweet bread. The palate is also sweet with more sugary notes. In addition to the sweet baked goods, there’s also elements of leather, vanilla, and mesquite on the palate. This is quite different from other mezcal I’ve tasted from San Dionisio Ocotepec. This is a really unique madrecuixe.

Review this bottle

Login or create an account to add your tasting notes

Back to top