Powered by 100% agave

Maguey Melate Tepextate – Hermanos Martinez

Maguey Melate Tepextate from Marcos, Raymundo, and Jacinto Martinez was originally released as the January 2024 Mezcalero of the Month Club agave spirit.

Rating: (9 reviews)
Category:Destilado de Agave
Brand:Maguey Melate
Mezcalero:Jacinto Martinez, Marcos Martinez, Raymundo Martinez
Maguey:Tepeztate
Agave:Marmorata
Grind:Tahona
Distillation:Copper
Style:Joven
State:Oaxaca
Town:Zoquitlan

About this destilado de agave

Maguey Melate Tepextate from Marcos, Raymundo, and Jacinto Martinez was originally released as the January 2024 Mezcalero of the Month Club agave spirit.

This is a group of young brothers who just recently bought an alembic still and started producing mezcal. Their batches are small, but their dreams are large as they look to create something special together.

Maguey Melate

Maguey Melate was founded on two ideas: 1) Artisanal agave spirits are amazing and should be shared with the world, and 2) The faster-cheaper economy is a harmful force for people, the environment, and now agave spirits.

They believe if mezcal (and agave spirits) can be understood and appreciated at its full potential, people will show their preference for quality artisanal mezcal that is sustainably and fairly sourced. By raising consumer consciousness on the origins of mezcal and educating enthusiasts on matters of quality and character, informed people will be empowered to ensure the future of mezcal. To do this, they’re reaching a large audience with an impactful message: KEEP MEZCAL ARTISANAL!

Maguey Melate is perhaps most well-known for their Mezcalero of the Month Club, which delivers artisanal small-batch agave spirits directly to the doors of consumers in the US and Mexico. In addition to the monthly spirits, they offer exclusive content and interviews with producers. Single releases are also available in the Maguey Melate shop.

Member rating

3.17 out of 5

9 reviews

Satchmo

Satchmo

6 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars1 week ago

July 2022

I would be very happy if it were me who made this expression, and I could say that about most expressions, but this is solid. Other reviewers nailed the nose and palette, I suppose. Agave. Sweet. Little smoke. Viscous. Lemon. Love it.

jackstraw

jackstraw

30 reviews
Rated 2.5 out of 5 stars1 month ago

batch: 3HER-TEP-001
bottle: 665
abv: 46.4%

plastic and salt;
flowers and sour cherry candies;
pencil shavings, paint, smoke;
wormwood

#30

Ben P

Ben P

97 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars2 months ago

Nose: lime, pine, brine, herbal for sure, basil, a little mint, there’s some nail polish

Palate and Finish: very floral and herbal for me. Some great citrus lemon lime and unripe mango notes then spa herbs, lemongrass, sage, hint of rosemary, then it gets a bit floral potpourri and hibiscus. Finish continues that and does it well for me. A nice subtle let off of the herbs and rest nicely with the floral notes.

I understand what others may consider off notes on this but find it a fun adventure of the palate. It may be one of the most floral and herbal agave spirits I’ve had. I reach for it regularly as due to the enjoyable and approachable profile. Great first batch for the brothers, look forward to trying them as they progress in the future

Nose: lime, pine, brine, herbal for sure, basil, a little mint, there’s some nail polish
Palate and Finish: very floral and herbal for me. Some great citrus lemon lime and unripe mango notes then spa herbs, lemongrass, sage, hint of rosemary, then it gets a bit floral potpourri and hibiscus. Finish continues that and does it well for me. A nice subtle let off of the herbs and rest nicely with the floral notes.
I understand what others may consider off notes on this but find it a fun adventure

Read more
alexisqrodgers

alexisqrodgers

2 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars2 months ago

Decided to make this my first review. I enjoyed this one alot and surprised me with how fresh tasting it is. As it opens, some type of melon and a bit of cucumber. This one keeps me coming back for more.

El-Dawg

El-Dawg

205 reviews
Rated 2.5 out of 5 stars2 months ago

Still has a slight tep smell but along with a chemical harshness. Taste not at ALL like a Tep though. Harsh. And really not a good mezcal, much less a great Oaxacan tepeztate.

Jam

Jam

143 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars3 months ago

Review #107: The nose has powdered sugar, pinesol, lemon oils, old plastic, fresh wood, mix of fresh peppers, apple jacks cereal, red apples, light smoked herbs, leather, and motor oil.
The palate has lemon oils, fresh wood, red apples, honeydew, cooked red onion, and some fresh jalapeno, cinnamon and black pepper lasting on the finish.

I just did a side by side with this and a handful of other Marmorata to compare the differences in this agave. First was fruity, second funky like a Salmiana, third was medicinal and herbal, and this fourth was just as different as the rest. All this to say, I found this to have a great complexity with the woody and vegetal notes alongside specifically these sweeter crisp and fresh fruits that I haven’t found from most Marmorata. I find the nose and palate interestingly different too, a bit more brashness from the herbals on the nose than the sweeter palate with a peppery finish. I think this an impressive mezcal especially from a new group of mezcaleros and I’d be interested in where this takes them.

Review #107: The nose has powdered sugar, pinesol, lemon oils, old plastic, fresh wood, mix of fresh peppers, apple jacks cereal, red apples, light smoked herbs, leather, and motor oil.
The palate has lemon oils, fresh wood, red apples, honeydew, cooked red onion, and some fresh jalapeno, cinnamon and black pepper lasting on the finish.
I just did a side by side with this and a handful of other Marmorata to compare the differences in this agave. First was fruity, second funky like a Salmiana, th

Read more
Imperium

Imperium

92 reviews
Rated 1.5 out of 5 stars3 months ago

Rakhal is totally right on this one; this doesn’t taste like tepextate AT ALL. None of the trademark aromatics or green jalapeno notes are there.

The nose is quite sour, and the palate is a little fruity, sour-sweet like an overripe peach. Kind of tastes like hairspray if I’m honest.

I’m sure these mezcaleros will get better with time, but as one of their first batches it’s not ready for international distribution.

jorble

jorble

1 review
Rated 4 out of 5 stars3 months ago

I’m a novice mezcal enthusiast and this was my first tepextate. I found it approachable and quite enjoyed it.

Rakhal

Rakhal

420 reviews
Rated 2 out of 5 stars3 months ago

Tepextate is probably my favorite Agave used for making Mezcal. When it’s done right the flavors can be extraordinary. There are a lot of great Tepextate Mezcals in Oaxaca, so when I heard that Maguey Melate was releasing a Oaxacan Tepextate I couldn’t wait to taste it. I was surprised that they picked one from Mezcaleros that had only made 5 batches in their life when you have so many seasoned Mezcaleros from families with generations of experience to choose from, but I assumed they had their reasons. I am really disappointed by this one. It’s unbalanced and is missing the classic Tepextate flavors that I love so much. It’s floral and fruity but also has some chemical flavors and it’s a bit hot. Mint, vanilla frosting, nail polish remover, rubbing alcohol, and dryer sheets. Obviously a lot of people tasted this and liked it so maybe it’s just my personal taste, but this is not at all what I hope for in a Tepextate.

Tepextate is probably my favorite Agave used for making Mezcal. When it’s done right the flavors can be extraordinary. There are a lot of great Tepextate Mezcals in Oaxaca, so when I heard that Maguey Melate was releasing a Oaxacan Tepextate I couldn’t wait to taste it. I was surprised that they picked one from Mezcaleros that had only made 5 batches in their life when you have so many seasoned Mezcaleros from families with generations of experience to choose from, but I assumed they

Read more

Review this bottle

Login or create an account to add your tasting notes

Back to top