Powered by 100% agave

Maguey Melate Cucharillo – Hermogenes Vasquez Garcia

Maguey Melate Cucharillo from Hermogenes Vasquez Garcia is produced using a Dasylirion (Sotol) varietal that grows in the Miahuatlan region of Oaxaca.

Rating: (8 reviews)
Category:Sotol
Brand:Maguey Melate
Mezcalero:Hermógenes Vasquez
Grind:Shredder
Distillation:Copper
Style:Joven
State:Oaxaca
Town:San Luis Amatlan
ABV: 47.1%
Age of plant: 18-25 years
Batch size: May 2020 batch: 52 litres
Website: https://www.magueymelate.com/, opens in new window
About this sotol

Maguey Melate Cucharillo from Hermogenes Vasquez Garcia is produced at his palenque in Logoche, San Luis Amatlán. He was the Melate Mezcalero of the Month for August 2020, who brought the club one of the most popular expressions featured to date. This Cucharrilo was a close runner up to his club Tepextate. One reason the Tepextate was ultimately selected for the club is that there simply wasn’t enough Cucharillo available at the time. While not part of the Agave genus, this sugar-rich Dasylirion subspecies makes what is perhaps the most unique spirits in Miahuatlán. Unlike other Sotol/Dasylirion species, his type of Dasylirion seems to live for dozens of years in this region, and continues to grow larger after each cycle of flowering.

Maguey Melate

Maguey Melate was founded on two ideas: 1) Artisanal agave spirits are amazing and should be shared with the world, and 2) The faster-cheaper economy is a harmful force for people, the environment, and now agave spirits.

They believe if mezcal (and agave spirits) can be understood and appreciated at its full potential, people will show their preference for quality artisanal mezcal that is sustainably and fairly sourced. By raising consumer consciousness on the origins of mezcal and educating enthusiasts on matters of quality and character, informed people will be empowered to ensure the future of mezcal. To do this, they're reaching a large audience with an impactful message: KEEP MEZCAL ARTISANAL!

Maguey Melate is perhaps most well-known for their Mezcalero of the Month Club, which delivers artisanal small-batch agave spirits directly to the doors of consumers in the US and Mexico. In addition to the monthly spirits, they offer exclusive content and interviews with producers. Single releases are also available in the Maguey Melate shop.

8 reviews

3.56 out of 5


tallchad

tallchad

32 reviews
Rated 2.5 out of 5 stars9 months ago

While I did not like this one, I didn’t dislike it. It’s very interesting. Aroma is like wet socks, but somehow in a good way. The taste is very musty with potting soil and mushrooms. ¡Muy interesante!

Jonny

Jonny

537 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars10 months ago

HER-CUC-001. Aromas of musty straw and grass, starchy uncooked potatoes, and pencil eraser. The palate is a little sharp but enjoyable. Notes of spearmint, menthol, Parliament cigarettes, and vanilla beans. This one is a wild ride.

Nic Hnastchenko

Nic Hnastchenko

108 reviews
Rated 3 out of 5 stars11 months ago

Seeing this is classified as a sotol makes so much sense, was not the typical flavor profile i was used to with mezcal. leans earthier.

GreenspointTexas

GreenspointTexas

317 reviews
Rated 3 out of 5 stars12 months ago

Pineapple and ash. Smell is horse blanket and salty beach. Finish has some sweet mango/pineapple with burnt marshmellow. The strong smoke and over roasted notes keep me from giving this any more stars

Gregg T&T

Gregg T&T

100 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars12 months ago

Hay stacks, piles of leaves nail polish remover and rose water. Palate is cardboard, notes of iron and asparagus. Unbelievably unique and I’m totally on board.

Rakhal

Rakhal

317 reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars12 months ago

I LOVE this!! I knew the moment I smelled it that I was going to love it. This may be the earthiest spirit of any kind that I’ve experienced. Musty, moldy, and mushroomy, like digging into the wet dark soil deep in an ancient forest. This is what I imagine the blood of Mother Earth would taste like. I also taste a warm spicy heat like vanilla bean, anise, and decaying wood. The best Sotol I’ve ever had and maybe my favorite spirit of 2020.

El-Dawg

El-Dawg

128 reviews
Rated 3 out of 5 stars12 months ago

This seems to be a polarizing mezcal. For me I couldn’t get past the smell of chlorine / a pool. Lots of grass, but this seemed overall a bit light to me – “watery grass juice” is how I described it. Some mint in there as well for good measure. Not sure I like it, or if this is for me. But again I’ve heard of people that LOVE it . . . so there you go.

Foster

Foster

10 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars12 months ago

Very earthy. To smell there is a mint forward smell with sometime type of sweetness at the end. Soft to start with an earthy middle and a sweet finish. I do like it but not my favorite.

Review this bottle

Login or create an account to add your tasting notes

Back to top