Powered by 100% agave

Maguey Melate Tepextate – Hermogenes Vasquez

Maguey Melate Tepextate from Hermogenes Vasquez Garcia is a small batch production from San Luis Amatlán, Oaxaca.

Rating: (11 reviews)
Category:Destilado de Agave
Brand:Maguey Melate
Mezcalero:Hermógenes Vasquez
Maguey:Tepeztate
Agave:Marmorata
Grind:Shredder
Distillation:Copper
Style:Joven
State:Oaxaca
Town:San Luis Amatlan
ABV: 45.5%
Age of plant: 18 years
Release year: 2020
Website: https://www.magueymelate.com/
About this destilado de agave

Maguey Melate Tepextate from Hermogenes Vasquez Garcia was originally released as the August 2020 Mezcalero of the Month Club agave spirit. This was produced in Logoche, San Luis Amatlán, Oaxaca using wild, 18 year old maguey Tepextate (agave Marmorata). The agave were ground using an electric mill and distilled in copper.

Maguey Melate

Maguey Melate was founded on two ideas: 1) Artisanal agave spirits are amazing and should be shared with the world, and 2) The faster-cheaper economy is a harmful force for people, the environment, and now agave spirits.

They believe if mezcal (and agave spirits) can be understood and appreciated at its full potential, people will show their preference for quality artisanal mezcal that is sustainably and fairly sourced. By raising consumer consciousness on the origins of mezcal and educating enthusiasts on matters of quality and character, informed people will be empowered to ensure the future of mezcal. To do this, they're reaching a large audience with an impactful message: KEEP MEZCAL ARTISANAL!

Maguey Melate is perhaps most well-known for their Mezcalero of the Month Club, which delivers artisanal small-batch agave spirits directly to the doors of consumers in the US and Mexico. In addition to the monthly spirits, they offer exclusive content and interviews with producers. Single releases are also available in the Maguey Melate shop.

11 reviews

4.45 out of 5


il1

il1

9 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars2 weeks ago

Was not a huge fan out of the gate, but with air, massive improvement.

Tons of vegetation/green/mint.
Fruit/sweet takes over afterwards.
Very Complex.

Bought a second bottle.

BuffPhysics

BuffPhysics

11 reviews
Rated 2.5 out of 5 stars3 months ago

Mezcal Review #10 – Maguey Melate Tepextate (August 2020 Club Pick)
Agave: Tepextate
Mezcalero: Hermogenes Vasquez Garcia
Region: Logoche, San Luis Amatlan
Still Type: Copper Pot
45.5% ABV

Additional Info: From the back of the card: “This region is known for its iron-rich red clay soil full of dark nutrients and producing fields full of biodiversity. The makeup of the soil tends to stay cooer and hold water longer, which leads to a longer agave lifespan, more nutrients absorbed, and ultimately a richer flavor profile. The region is full of microclimates and terrains, so this macro characteristic doesn’t necessarily hold true for all batches”. Make of that what you will.

Nose: Very herbal with strong superglue/acetone notes. Smoke, limoncello, bay leaf, lime skin, green onions, and stale beer.

Taste: Sweet and saline, lemon and smoke. We could well be on Islay! Reminds me strongly of Origen Raiz. Also some peppermint, black pepper, and ginger.

Finish: Seashells and smoke turning into white chocolate over time.

Notes: This is my first tepextate, and I’ve heard they can be very herbal. I’m not sure whether that superglue/acetone note is part of what people are calling herbal so I can’t say if it’s a production flaw or just the taste of Tep, but it doesn’t work for me. This is just a little too wild to really get into (hence the late review, I never really found myself craving a glass). Certainly not my favorite offering from Melate, but next month’s has me excited – stay tuned!

Score: 5/10

1 | Disgusting | So bad I poured it out.
2 | Poor | I wouldn’t consume by choice.
3 | Bad | Multiple flaws.
4 | Sub-par | Not bad, but better exists.
5 | Good | Good, just fine.
6 | Very Good | A cut above.
7 | Great | Well above average
8 | Excellent | Really quite exceptional.
9 | Incredible | An all time favorite
10 | Perfect | Perfect

Mezcal Review #10 – Maguey Melate Tepextate (August 2020 Club Pick)
Agave: Tepextate
Mezcalero: Hermogenes Vasquez Garcia
Region: Logoche, San Luis Amatlan
Still Type: Copper Pot
45.5% ABV
Additional Info: From the back of the card: “This region is known for its iron-rich red clay soil full of dark nutrients and producing fields full of biodiversity. The makeup of the soil tends to stay cooer and hold water longer, which leads to a longer agave lifespan, more nutrients absorbed, and ultimate

Read more
Gregg T&T

Gregg T&T

62 reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars3 months ago

Toffee, mint bubblegum, and bright green notes on the nose – which is intoxicating. Green peppers, olives and brine, some baking spices, while retaining a subtle sweetness. Long finish is a bit on the dry side and entirely complex. One of the finest Melate offerings to date!

El-Dawg

El-Dawg

59 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars4 months ago

Wow! This is absolutely delicious – the best by Melate, and could be my favorite mezcal to date. Defeats the E.J Tep. This one is super vegetal and green on the nose. Also get some perfume & bubblegum. This is all over the place . . . in a good way. Candy & fruity sweet along with your classic Tep tastes: green bell peppers & jalapeños. Not too hot or spicy, well balanced, with a clean & light finish (However, I continue to taste sweetness and “green” long after the finish). 4.75. Well done!!

Wow! This is absolutely delicious – the best by Melate, and could be my favorite mezcal to date. Defeats the E.J Tep. This one is super vegetal and green on the nose. Also get some perfume & bubblegum. This is all over the place . . . in a good way. Candy & fruity sweet along with your classic Tep tastes: green bell peppers & jalapeños. Not too hot or spicy, well balanced, with a clean & light finish (However, I continue to taste sweetness and “green” lo

Read more
SwatSaladin

SwatSaladin

18 reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars4 months ago

Batch Number HER-TEP-001

The nose is all prickly pear and mango yoghurt to me. I also get hints of bubblegum, rubber, chalky minerality, and dandelion.

The palate is sweet and light, as the other reviewers have pointed out. I get loads of honeydew melon, a strong lactic influence, and pumpkin spice! There’s a very faint savory element that reminds me more of glutinous corn, but also potentially pickled jalapeños. Mint, a little bit of tang akin to tangerines (or orange creamsicle) and guava bring up the end and lead into the finish. Overall, the palate is very light in body, and leaves just a trace of grip.

The finish on this one just goes on and on. Mint, garden herbs, cane sugar. Some tropical fruit funk. It reminds me a little bit of cane aguardiente!

This, quite honestly, might be my favorite release from Maguey Melate yet. It’s got heaps of complexity, hitting each and every single one of the notes that I really love in a mezcal. But most impressive of all, it achieves incredible depth and intensity of flavor while remaining light and elegant. It’s easy-drinking, mouth-watering, and just so incredibly hard to put down.

Batch Number HER-TEP-001
The nose is all prickly pear and mango yoghurt to me. I also get hints of bubblegum, rubber, chalky minerality, and dandelion.
The palate is sweet and light, as the other reviewers have pointed out. I get loads of honeydew melon, a strong lactic influence, and pumpkin spice! There’s a very faint savory element that reminds me more of glutinous corn, but also potentially pickled jalapeños. Mint, a little bit of tang akin to tangerines (or orange creamsicle) and guava b

Read more
Millmill

Millmill

2 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars4 months ago

Fresh floral nose, with mint. Smooth and sweet. Awesome Tepextate! Finish is sweet and floral and shortish. Can’t stop drinking it. No alcohol taste.

Rakhal

Rakhal

198 reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars4 months ago

For me this is a perfect Tepextate. I tried it next to my El Jolgorio Tepextate which I love and Hermogenes was better. All the usual flavors I get from a Tepextate, fresh jalapeño, bell pepper, spearmint, but also something deep and savory and wonderful. An easy 5/5 for me. Hermogenes Palenque is my first stop next time I’m in Oaxaca.

GreenspointTexas

GreenspointTexas

214 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars4 months ago

Dear lord I wish they made candles out of the nose on this one! Creme brulee, nutmeg, banana leaves to start. Mid palate follows up quickly thereafter with more of the same including some cinnamon and a bit of heat from the alcohol. If you would have made me guess, I would have thought this one was over 100 proof. Finish is long… and even a minute or two after the last sip, I can still taste some of this incredible elixir.

Jonny

Jonny

445 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars4 months ago

Lot HER-TEP-001. Bottle 274. Mind-blasting. Aromas of grilled green peppers, bubble gum, spearmint, and sage. The palate has more charred peppers, smoked jalapeno, sweet cream cheese, and orange creamsicle. Everything is right down the middle and balanced with this. Just the right amount of heat with a nice silky texture.

donpedro

donpedro

26 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars4 months ago

Lote: HER-TEP-001; Bottle: 172

Nose is minty and fresh, with lemon verbena and subtle cherry notes. Finish on the nose is a bit like dried, ground chiles. Mouthfeel is a bit syrupy, without being too heavy. Some citrus on the palate with definite sweet and herbal notes. This is fantastic; definitely one of the best Tepextates I’ve ever had. Already ordered another bottle!

Tyler

Tyler

418 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars4 months ago

There is a huge mint note like Doublemint gum. There are some underlying vegetal notes like green olives and lavender. Overall it is quite light yet oily at the same time. This finish is a bit dry but has a ton of flavorful zest. I’ll admit I’m biased towards Miahuatlan and Maguey Tepextate but I think it deserves high praise.

This lived up to my expectations after trying a Bicuixe from this producer. It was very exciting to see this released by Maguey Melate because the NETA bottles can be tough to track down. Oddly enough, this reminds me of an excellent Reina Sanchez Tepextate from Cuish – I think Reina and Hermogenes live relatively close to one another. This was lot HER-TEP-001.

There is a huge mint note like Doublemint gum. There are some underlying vegetal notes like green olives and lavender. Overall it is quite light yet oily at the same time. This finish is a bit dry but has a ton of flavorful zest. I’ll admit I’m biased towards Miahuatlan and Maguey Tepextate but I think it deserves high praise.
This lived up to my expectations after trying a Bicuixe from this producer. It was very exciting to see this released by Maguey Melate because the NETA bottles

Read more
Review this bottle

Login or create an account to add your tasting notes

Back to top