Powered by 100% agave

Maguey Melate Cenizo – Luis Carmelo Vazquez Escobedo

Maguey Melate Cenizo from Luis Carmelo Vazquez Escobedo was originally released as the August 2023 Mezcalero of the Month Club agave spirit.

Rating: (10 reviews)
Category:Destilado de Agave
Brand:Maguey Melate
Mezcalero:Luis Carmelo Vazquez Escobedo
Maguey:Cenizo
Agave:Durangensis
Grind:Shredder
Distillation:Copper
Style:Joven
State:Durango
Town:Nombre de Dios
ABV: 50.2%
Age of plant: 8 years
Batch size: LUI-CEN-001: 700 liters
Release year: 2023
Website: https://www.magueymelate.com/, opens in new window

About this destilado de agave

Maguey Melate Cenizo from Luis Carmelo Vazquez Escobedo was originally released as the August 2023 Mezcalero of the Month Club agave spirit. The temperatures in Durango range from 100 degrees Fahrenheit (37 degrees Celsius) during the day, and drop drastically at night. This drastic change in temperature can have a big impact on fermentation, and Luis uses extra bagasso to insulate his in-ground fermentation tanks, trying to keep a more uniform temperature for the ferment.

Maguey Melate

Maguey Melate was founded on two ideas: 1) Artisanal agave spirits are amazing and should be shared with the world, and 2) The faster-cheaper economy is a harmful force for people, the environment, and now agave spirits.

They believe if mezcal (and agave spirits) can be understood and appreciated at its full potential, people will show their preference for quality artisanal mezcal that is sustainably and fairly sourced. By raising consumer consciousness on the origins of mezcal and educating enthusiasts on matters of quality and character, informed people will be empowered to ensure the future of mezcal. To do this, they’re reaching a large audience with an impactful message: KEEP MEZCAL ARTISANAL!

Maguey Melate is perhaps most well-known for their Mezcalero of the Month Club, which delivers artisanal small-batch agave spirits directly to the doors of consumers in the US and Mexico. In addition to the monthly spirits, they offer exclusive content and interviews with producers. Single releases are also available in the Maguey Melate shop.

Member rating

3.85 out of 5

10 reviews

jackstraw

jackstraw

35 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars3 weeks ago

batch: LUI-CEN-001
bottle: 518
abv: 50.2%

sour cherry candies;
bazooka bubble gum;
yoohoo, madagascar vanilla;
candied root vegetables
mushrooms; peat; dust

#34

JDB

JDB

167 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars4 months ago

50.2% abv. Bottle: 352

Nose: Hay and wet cardboard

palate: mild sweetness, minerality, toasted anise, solid heat, sweetbread, indistinct fruit note, cooked oatmeal with brown sugar. 3.75/5 stars

Jam

Jam

156 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars6 months ago

Review #76: nose is metallic, grassy, moldy, rubber, foam mat, soft earthiness, and popcorn butter.
Palate is way different with some overripe watermelon and strawberry, green banana, caramel, touch of milk chocolate, earthy funk and a moderate amount of dry minerals on the finish.

The nose on this is wild. So musty and dank smelling, like something got wet and was left to sit out. The palate diverges from this a lot, opening with plenty of fruits with just a mild backing of that funk. This is pretty fun stuff. I was not a huge fan of the nose at first, but it is so intriguing that i came around to it. This definitely seems like one of those where everyone picks out such different notes from all the weirdness.

Review #76: nose is metallic, grassy, moldy, rubber, foam mat, soft earthiness, and popcorn butter.
Palate is way different with some overripe watermelon and strawberry, green banana, caramel, touch of milk chocolate, earthy funk and a moderate amount of dry minerals on the finish.
The nose on this is wild. So musty and dank smelling, like something got wet and was left to sit out. The palate diverges from this a lot, opening with plenty of fruits with just a mild backing of that funk. This is p

Read more
tallchad

tallchad

108 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars7 months ago

This is really good! Another great Cenizo from Durango. I might like Daniella’s a pinch more…more sampling must be needed!
The aroma is great! Earth clay and passionfruit up front.
Taste is superbly balanced and fun. There’s a little heat that I appreciate with some earthy and floral notes.
The finish is long and delicious. Great balance with this one!

El-Dawg

El-Dawg

214 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars8 months ago

There tends to be this ‘dusty’ and old smell and taste I associate with cenizos. ‘Dull and bitter’ but in a good way. This being not different. Taste also includes candy sweetness, pencil lead, metal. Solid sipper, but not my favorite as of recent.

Ben P

Ben P

113 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars9 months ago

Nose: Earthy, slightly musty, soil, potting soil, slightly herbal and peppery

Palate & Finish: Nuts, fig, chocolate covered raisins, mushrooms, candies pecans, pipe tobacco, grilled carrots, spiced black beans, s’mores. Finish is caramel, blonde coffee, leather, light tobacco, slightly oaky and minty, it’s like an Andies mint on mute

If I had to give this a mezcal a mood it would be dark and brooding. It’s earthy and savory with some spice on the side. I understand why others may not enjoy this but I’m loving it the more sessions I have with it. Really solid

Nose: Earthy, slightly musty, soil, potting soil, slightly herbal and peppery
Palate & Finish: Nuts, fig, chocolate covered raisins, mushrooms, candies pecans, pipe tobacco, grilled carrots, spiced black beans, s’mores. Finish is caramel, blonde coffee, leather, light tobacco, slightly oaky and minty, it’s like an Andies mint on mute
If I had to give this a mezcal a mood it would be dark and brooding. It’s earthy and savory with some spice on the side. I understand why othe

Read more
Jonny

Jonny

708 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars9 months ago

Aromas of dried cranberry, dates, and figs, also sweeter notes of brown sugar, raw sugar cane, and caramel. The palate has notes of peanuts, apricot, raw oysters, dried peat, and Chipotle. Smoky finish. This is one of the few mezcals I’ve had from Nombre de Dios that has almost no lactic elements whatsoever (which I think is a good thing). LUI-CEN-001

aaronthechamp

aaronthechamp

2 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars9 months ago

Nose is fruity, slightly sweet/tropical and a slight green/vegetal note. Very bold on the palate – alcohol is very present. Spice, spearmint, caramel sweetness and a viscosity that stays on the palate. Definitely some heat.

Rakhal

Rakhal

421 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars9 months ago

I like this a lot. It’s really well integrated with a woody, earthy, floral, and slightly smoky flavor profile. No obvious flavor notes jump out at me, it’s more a feeling that I get when I sip this. Old leather, a woodpile out in the rain, a desert campfire still smoldering in the morning, desert flowers blooming at night. This one speaks to me, I want to meet this guy.

Imperium

Imperium

99 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars10 months ago

A bold cenizo with a bit more spice than normal. I taste strong pear notes mixed with caramel, spearmint and coppery smoke alongside the traditional cenizo flavors.

Review this bottle

Login or create an account to add your tasting notes

Back to top