Powered by 100% agave

Maguey Melate Arroqueno – Nazario Salas Rosas

Maguey Melate Arroqueno from Nazario Salas Rosas was originally released as the May 2024 Mezcalero of the Month Club agave spirit.

Rating: (6 reviews)
Category:Destilado de Agave
Brand:Maguey Melate
Mezcalero:Nazario Salas Rosas
Maguey:Arroqueño
Agave:Americana
Grind:Shredder
Distillation:Copper
Style:Joven
State:Puebla
Town:San Miguel Atlapulco
ABV: 46.7%
Age of plant: 15-20 years
Batch size: Batch NAZ-ARR-001: 280 liters
Release year: 2024
Website: https://www.magueymelate.com/, opens in new window

About this destilado de agave

Maguey Melate Arroqueno from Nazario Salas Rosas was originally released as the May 2024 Mezcalero of the Month Club agave spirit.

Nazario is a 4th generation mezcalero. This mezcal is made with agave that take 15-20 years to reach maturity in Puebla. The plants look distinctly different from Oaxaca’s giant Arroqueno, and only weigh between 80-150 kilos per piña.

Maguey Melate

Maguey Melate was founded on two ideas: 1) Artisanal agave spirits are amazing and should be shared with the world, and 2) The faster-cheaper economy is a harmful force for people, the environment, and now agave spirits.

They believe if mezcal (and agave spirits) can be understood and appreciated at its full potential, people will show their preference for quality artisanal mezcal that is sustainably and fairly sourced. By raising consumer consciousness on the origins of mezcal and educating enthusiasts on matters of quality and character, informed people will be empowered to ensure the future of mezcal. To do this, they’re reaching a large audience with an impactful message: KEEP MEZCAL ARTISANAL!

Maguey Melate is perhaps most well-known for their Mezcalero of the Month Club, which delivers artisanal small-batch agave spirits directly to the doors of consumers in the US and Mexico. In addition to the monthly spirits, they offer exclusive content and interviews with producers. Single releases are also available in the Maguey Melate shop.

Member rating

4.08 out of 5

6 reviews

El-Dawg

El-Dawg

213 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars1 week ago

Great nose, fruity! Strawberry jam, honey. Taste comes through a bit different – juniper berries, pepper. This is really delightful, and I get what other people have said about it being a bit like gin (def. similar tastes to a gin). Smoke seems very subtle and balanced as well. Dry finish. Overall solid, but by no means my favorite. All around interesting and good showing! (and I should add I believe this is a salmiana and not an arroqueno, based on the Taste N Chat call, which would also explain the taste).

Great nose, fruity! Strawberry jam, honey. Taste comes through a bit different – juniper berries, pepper. This is really delightful, and I get what other people have said about it being a bit like gin (def. similar tastes to a gin). Smoke seems very subtle and balanced as well. Dry finish. Overall solid, but by no means my favorite. All around interesting and good showing! (and I should add I believe this is a salmiana and not an arroqueno, based on the Taste N Chat call, which would

Read more
Ben P

Ben P

113 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars1 week ago

Nose: So much going on. Tang drink, orange, grapefruit, tart mangos, sour cream, aloe vera juice

Palate: more citrus, tart pineapple, cinnamon, cumin, spiced melon, some said juniper on the taste and chat and I totally agree, it’s definitely floral and minty, mamey, like a sweet potato skin. Finish is powdery bubble gum. Some stone, more mango, and a nice subtle floral long finish

This is clean, well done, interesting and still unique. I wouldn’t reach for this every night but it’s a damn good pour that makes you want to pour just a little more. Chava said on the MM taste and chat he thinks this is Salmiana but called Arroqueno in this region. That would make a lot of sense for this profile.

Nose: So much going on. Tang drink, orange, grapefruit, tart mangos, sour cream, aloe vera juice
Palate: more citrus, tart pineapple, cinnamon, cumin, spiced melon, some said juniper on the taste and chat and I totally agree, it’s definitely floral and minty, mamey, like a sweet potato skin. Finish is powdery bubble gum. Some stone, more mango, and a nice subtle floral long finish
This is clean, well done, interesting and still unique. I wouldn’t reach for this every night but it’s a damn

Read more
les_

les_

31 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars2 weeks ago

soil, bubblegum, yogurt, vanilla, brine, cinnamon, honeydew, juniper, anise, char, pine, mint, plastic

tallchad

tallchad

108 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars2 weeks ago

While really good, this one was tough to describe some of the aromas and tastes. I still think this one is great.
The aroma might have some fruit punch–until it disappears–replaced by sea salt and green mango.
The taste is excellent with good heat, light spice, pepper and a hint of charred asparagus.
The finish good also extenuating the good flavors, then it turns slightly bitter and even dusty earth. Overall great!

Jonny

Jonny

708 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars4 weeks ago

NAZ-ARR-001. The nose on this is very different from what I’d expect from an Arroqueno. That said, an Arroqueno from Puebla is quite rare and unique. This has aromas of strawberry, blackberry, and black currant. Those berry-like notes mix with hints of sulphur, spent fireworks, and burnt matches. The palate is sweet and thick. Notes of bubblegum, kiwi, guava, honeydew, and cantaloupe. There’s also this slightly sour pineapple note, like biting into pineapple that is cut too close to rind. This is really nice and has a beautiful finish.

NAZ-ARR-001. The nose on this is very different from what I’d expect from an Arroqueno. That said, an Arroqueno from Puebla is quite rare and unique. This has aromas of strawberry, blackberry, and black currant. Those berry-like notes mix with hints of sulphur, spent fireworks, and burnt matches. The palate is sweet and thick. Notes of bubblegum, kiwi, guava, honeydew, and cantaloupe. There’s also this slightly sour pineapple note, like biting into pineapple that is cut too close to

Read more
Zorrino

Zorrino

1 review
Rated 5 out of 5 stars1 month ago

My first mezcal review, so take with a grain of salt. Nose is intense – paint, with a touch of tire rubber and overripe tropical fruit. Subtle on the palate with sweet grassy notes, but opens up with cinnamon, clove, and petrol. The finish, my lord, the finish – it’s like getting gently whapped over the head with the softest feather pillow post-coitus by your naked lover: a blast of cinnamon and bubblegum with faint funk undertone. Wonderful and hits you every. single. time. Five stars for the finish…I’ve been thinking about it all week after the first taste.

My first mezcal review, so take with a grain of salt. Nose is intense – paint, with a touch of tire rubber and overripe tropical fruit. Subtle on the palate with sweet grassy notes, but opens up with cinnamon, clove, and petrol. The finish, my lord, the finish – it’s like getting gently whapped over the head with the softest feather pillow post-coitus by your naked lover: a blast of cinnamon and bubblegum with faint funk undertone. Wonderful and hits you every. single. time. Five s

Read more

Review this bottle

Login or create an account to add your tasting notes

Back to top