Powered by 100% agave

Maguey Melate Tequilana – Victor & Emanuel Ramos

Maguey Melate Tequilana from Victor & Emanuel Ramos was originally released as the July 2021 Mezcalero of the Month Club agave spirit.

Rating: (8 reviews)
Category:Destilado de Agave
Brand:Maguey Melate
Mezcalero:Emanuel Ramos, Victor Ramos
Maguey:Azul
Agave:Tequilana
Grind:Tahona
Distillation:Refrescador
Style:Joven
State:Oaxaca
Town:Miahuatlan
ABV: 48.8%
Age of plant: 12 years
Batch size: Lot RAM-TEQ-001: 200 liters
Release year: 2021
Website: https://www.magueymelate.com/, opens in new window
About this destilado de agave

Maguey Melate Tequilana from Victor & Emanuel Ramos was originally released as the July 2021 Mezcalero of the Month Club agave spirit. Victor Ramos and his son Emanuel are both very well known throughout Oaxaca. This spirit, made with Agave tequilana, is a rare release from this dynamic duo who are highly regarded for their work with Agave karwinskii that grows in more abundance in the region.

Maguey Melate

Maguey Melate was founded on two ideas: 1) Artisanal agave spirits are amazing and should be shared with the world, and 2) The faster-cheaper economy is a harmful force for people, the environment, and now agave spirits.

They believe if mezcal (and agave spirits) can be understood and appreciated at its full potential, people will show their preference for quality artisanal mezcal that is sustainably and fairly sourced. By raising consumer consciousness on the origins of mezcal and educating enthusiasts on matters of quality and character, informed people will be empowered to ensure the future of mezcal. To do this, they're reaching a large audience with an impactful message: KEEP MEZCAL ARTISANAL!

Maguey Melate is perhaps most well-known for their Mezcalero of the Month Club, which delivers artisanal small-batch agave spirits directly to the doors of consumers in the US and Mexico. In addition to the monthly spirits, they offer exclusive content and interviews with producers. Single releases are also available in the Maguey Melate shop.

8 reviews

4.44 out of 5


zeepuzzler

zeepuzzler

25 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars1 month ago

Batch RAM-TEQ-001. Bottle 156.
Despite all the fanfare around this one, I actually didn’t like it at first. Returning to it after several weeks of air-time, though, I can clearly see the error of my ways. It’s so vibrant and fresh with aromas of lemon verbena, lilac, honeysuckle, fresh tarragon, marzipan, banana chips, cremini mushrooms, and black pepper. The palate dazzles with biting citrus (yuzu, citron), spearmint, pine, tobacco, and papaya. It’s nearly effervescent! Earthier flavors come through on a drying finish: cigar wrapper, whipped butter, baltic birch wood, and just a hint of Yoo-hoo chocolate drink toward the very end. I plan to hoard the second half of my bottle for quite some time!

Batch RAM-TEQ-001. Bottle 156.
Despite all the fanfare around this one, I actually didn’t like it at first. Returning to it after several weeks of air-time, though, I can clearly see the error of my ways. It’s so vibrant and fresh with aromas of lemon verbena, lilac, honeysuckle, fresh tarragon, marzipan, banana chips, cremini mushrooms, and black pepper. The palate dazzles with biting citrus (yuzu, citron), spearmint, pine, tobacco, and papaya. It’s nearly effervescent!

Read more
RyeAmLegend

RyeAmLegend

10 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars1 month ago

RAM-TEQ-001 Bottle #629

This is incredibly subtle and light on the nose. I get a slight vegetable and familiar agave notes. Earthy grasses and fresh bell pepper. It’s clean and raw flavors.

On the palate I got this bright citrus note with an incredible texture. Creamed sugar with lemon oils. A bit of an antiseptic flavor filled my nose while I was sipping. Some roasted vegetables hits after that first sip burn has mellowed your palate.

That roasted pepper flavor is back on the finish with a fresh popsicle stick woody flavor. Dry finish, very similar to a previous Ramos bottle I’ve tried but this time that dryness lead into a salty note. The salinity encourages you to enjoy another sip.

This is a very very good bottle and it’s well made. I find this is more interesting than many Tequilas and Espadíns I’ve had. It’s an exciting Tequilana and it’s a bottle you’ll want to revisit often.

RAM-TEQ-001 Bottle #629
This is incredibly subtle and light on the nose. I get a slight vegetable and familiar agave notes. Earthy grasses and fresh bell pepper. It’s clean and raw flavors.
On the palate I got this bright citrus note with an incredible texture. Creamed sugar with lemon oils. A bit of an antiseptic flavor filled my nose while I was sipping. Some roasted vegetables hits after that first sip burn has mellowed your palate.
That roasted pepper flavor is back on the finish with a fr

Read more
El-Dawg

El-Dawg

126 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars2 months ago

Classic Ramos’ right here. Green, Vibrant, and Earthy. This is what tequila wants to be when it grows up. I’m biased here as the Ramos’ are one of my favorite producers, but this is solid. Refrescadora seems to smooth out everything together as well. 4.25 stars.

GreenspointTexas

GreenspointTexas

300 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars2 months ago

4.25/5

One of my faves from MM. Heavy on the baking spices, clove, papaya. Vanilla latte and oyster mushrooms on finish

Zack Klamn

Zack Klamn

292 reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars3 months ago

Batch No: RAW-TEQ-001 (Bottle: 580)
Nose – The subtle black pepperiness of a one of my favorite blanco tequilas (Fortaleza). Nice and floral. Beaucoup cooked agave sweetness coming through.

Palate – Texture is incredibly soft. Lime citrus. Rose water. A bit of clay. Beautiful smoke profile and perfect heat.

This stuff is unreal! MORE!!!!

Azi

Azi

24 reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars3 months ago

Damn. this is gorgeous. Floral, mineral forward, mango, maybe macadamia nuts or other really fatty nut. sweet herbs (mints, verbenas, thai basil). something truly truly beautiful for all levels of agave enjoyers

Edit after a few weeks: came back and on the nose I’m getting lots of fruit I don’t recall getting before. Bruleed then dried bananas? stuff like that. Still delightful, keeping it at a 5. Insane that this could come fro the same agave as your run of the mill tequila

Damn. this is gorgeous. Floral, mineral forward, mango, maybe macadamia nuts or other really fatty nut. sweet herbs (mints, verbenas, thai basil). something truly truly beautiful for all levels of agave enjoyers
Edit after a few weeks: came back and on the nose I’m getting lots of fruit I don’t recall getting before. Bruleed then dried bananas? stuff like that. Still delightful, keeping it at a 5. Insane that this could come fro the same agave as your run of the mill tequila

Read more
Rakhal

Rakhal

317 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars3 months ago

This is just beautiful. Light, herbal, and floral this is a real crowd pleaser. What a great example of what Agave Azul can taste like!! Apricots, frangipani flowers, fresh ripe mango, canned pears, lavender, and lemon verbena. I can already tell this bottle is going to go quick.

Jonny

Jonny

535 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars3 months ago

Lot RAM-TEQ-001: Spirits like this help me understand how/why old school tequilas became popular. This is subtle, complex, and beautiful. Sweet and floral aromas of spearmint, lilac, raw sugar cane, lavender, and a bit of lemon zest. The palate is balanced with notes of fresh citrus, tobacco, spearmint, rosemary, and lemon. Fantastic!

Review this bottle

Login or create an account to add your tasting notes

Back to top