Powered by 100% agave

Maguey Melate Jabali – German Manzano Martínez

Maguey Melate Jabali from German Manzano Martínez was originally released as the January 2022 Mezcalero of the Month Club agave spirit.

Rating: (7 reviews)
Category:Destilado de Agave
Brand:Maguey Melate
Mezcalero:German Manzano Martínez
Maguey:Jabali
Agave:Convallis
Grind:Tahona
Distillation:Copper
Style:Joven
State:Oaxaca
Town:Santa Maria Zoquitlan
ABV: 46%
Age of plant: 14 years
Batch size: Lot GER-JAB-001: 150 liters
Release year: 2022
Website: https://www.magueymelate.com/, opens in new window

About this destilado de agave

Maguey Melate Jabali from German Manzano Martínez was originally released as the January 2022 Mezcalero of the Month Club agave spirit. This spirit was produced in Santa Maria Zoquitlan, Oaxaca. This destilado was distilled 3 times, due to the complexity of distilling maguey Jabali, which foams and expands considerably throughout distillation.

Maguey Melate

Maguey Melate was founded on two ideas: 1) Artisanal agave spirits are amazing and should be shared with the world, and 2) The faster-cheaper economy is a harmful force for people, the environment, and now agave spirits.

They believe if mezcal (and agave spirits) can be understood and appreciated at its full potential, people will show their preference for quality artisanal mezcal that is sustainably and fairly sourced. By raising consumer consciousness on the origins of mezcal and educating enthusiasts on matters of quality and character, informed people will be empowered to ensure the future of mezcal. To do this, they're reaching a large audience with an impactful message: KEEP MEZCAL ARTISANAL!

Maguey Melate is perhaps most well-known for their Mezcalero of the Month Club, which delivers artisanal small-batch agave spirits directly to the doors of consumers in the US and Mexico. In addition to the monthly spirits, they offer exclusive content and interviews with producers. Single releases are also available in the Maguey Melate shop.

7 reviews

4.43 out of 5

bmanning

bmanning

5 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars2 weeks ago

Nose: New car smell, bright citrus, bananas.
Taste: Orange julius, vanilla, leather, grass, green pepper, mint.
Big, thick mouthfeel and a finish that goes on for minutes.
Overall this is a great mezcal, and my first Jabali. I really dig the complex sweet, savory, earthy flavors in this. As I keep coming back for more sips, I pick up more and more notes in this flavor. It’s perfectly balanced and doesn’t lean too sweet, too savory, or too earthy/grassy. It’s just a really great mezcal. 9/10

Nose: New car smell, bright citrus, bananas.
Taste: Orange julius, vanilla, leather, grass, green pepper, mint.
Big, thick mouthfeel and a finish that goes on for minutes.
Overall this is a great mezcal, and my first Jabali. I really dig the complex sweet, savory, earthy flavors in this. As I keep coming back for more sips, I pick up more and more notes in this flavor. It’s perfectly balanced and doesn’t lean too sweet, too savory, or too earthy/grassy. It’s just a really gre

Read more
tallchad

tallchad

40 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars2 weeks ago

One of my favorites from the club so far! Really good from aroma to finish. Different than espadín or other varieties. While I’m not a jabalí expert this mezcal is great! Great flavors and unique taste. Aroma is floral with mild sweetness. Taste is super fun and complex. Finish makes you want more.
The Maguey Melate club has done a great job with this box. I love that they find some rare stuff and I get to try it.
Batch Ger-Jab-001. Bottle 163.

El-Dawg

El-Dawg

143 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars3 weeks ago

GER-JAB-002
Awesome, sweet sweet smell. Butterscotch or caramel or brown sugar notes all over this. Some mint as well. Taste is strong and I dig the 50+% ABV. Creamy as well, and just really solid. Not much more to say.

Jonny

Jonny

548 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars1 month ago

Am I crazy? Or is this Jabali amazing? … maybe both. The nose is really bright with notes of green peppers, spearmint, and dry grass. It’s almost got that barnyard, sotol-like aroma that I get from a lot of dasylirion. The palate has notes of vanilla, anise, orange chocolates, and a bit of leather. Medium heat, and long finish. This is fantastic. Lot GER-JAB-001.

Zack Klamn

Zack Klamn

395 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars2 months ago

Bottle: 135
Nose – Mesquite smoke. Turkey jerky. White grape juice. Dry grass.

Palate – A pleasant, yet massive, tobacco leaf flavor to kick this sipping experience off. Green apple and generally fruitiness follows. Orange peel bitterness. But then that tobacco punch hits again and stays well into the aftertaste. The finish also has a sharp, pointed heat to it – not overwhelming or burning though. A great mezcal! This is a mezcal I envision an old cowboy sipping but not until after lighting a match on his stubble for his rolled-up cigarette.

Bottle: 135
Nose – Mesquite smoke. Turkey jerky. White grape juice. Dry grass.
Palate – A pleasant, yet massive, tobacco leaf flavor to kick this sipping experience off. Green apple and generally fruitiness follows. Orange peel bitterness. But then that tobacco punch hits again and stays well into the aftertaste. The finish also has a sharp, pointed heat to it – not overwhelming or burning though. A great mezcal! This is a mezcal I envision an old cowboy sipping but not until

Read more
GreenspointTexas

GreenspointTexas

337 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars2 months ago

One of the better releases from MM as of late. Creamy mouthfeel, orange zest and caramel. Dig it

tdes

tdes

2 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars2 months ago

Had this from the 2021 December/2022 January Mezcalero of the Month Club.

Nose: Mint, grass, a fair bit of ethanol. Very bright and light. Hints of pepper.

Taste: Sweet, has an interesting burn to it which is very sharp, almost like a chemical reaction (somewhat similar to other Jabalis I’ve had). I’m sipping this after the Rey Campero Jabali, and actually prefer this one. Even with the sharp burn it has a nice smoothness to it. Has some sour and bitterness to it on the very end. Not a particularly oily mouthfeel either.

Overall: This is really enjoyable. Fun to sip and quite the experience. One of the better mezcals I’ve tasted.

Had this from the 2021 December/2022 January Mezcalero of the Month Club.
Nose: Mint, grass, a fair bit of ethanol. Very bright and light. Hints of pepper.
Taste: Sweet, has an interesting burn to it which is very sharp, almost like a chemical reaction (somewhat similar to other Jabalis I’ve had). I’m sipping this after the Rey Campero Jabali, and actually prefer this one. Even with the sharp burn it has a nice smoothness to it. Has some sour and bitterness to it on the very end. No

Read more

Review this bottle

Login or create an account to add your tasting notes

Back to top