Powered by 100% agave

Machetazo Cupreata

Mayalen Machetazo is made specifically for use in cocktails. Given that it’s made with agave Cupreata, it makes for a unique mixed drink.

Rating: (9 reviews)
Brand:Machetazo Mezcal
NOM:NOM-G169R
Mezcalero:José Morales Uribe
Agave:Cupreata
Distillation:Copper
Style:Joven
State:Guerrero
Town:Mochitlan
ABV: 40% or 45%
Website: https://www.mezcalmachetazo.com/, opens in new window

About this mezcal

Mezcal Machetazo is made with 100% agave Cupreata in the state of Guerrero. It has slight hints of smoke and it’s citric aroma can make for an enjoyable tasting. This was the first release from Mezcal Machetazo which is a new label from the brand Mezcal Mayalen. Certain bottles are 40% ABV and more recent bottles will be 45% ABV. Mezcal Machetazo has since launched mezcals from the states of Oaxaca and San Luis Potosi.

Machetazo Mezcal

Mezcal Machetazo follows traditional mezcal production processes that have been passed down from generation to generation. The brand offers different varieties of mezcal that are produced in three different states in Mexico: Guerrero, Oaxaca and San Luis Potosí. The name Machetazo symbolizes the complexity and labor of the mezcal production process. With a swing of the machete or machetazo, their mezcaleros mark the beginning of the adventure behind the making of this mystical spirit.

9 reviews

2.72 out of 5

Greg Mueller

Greg Mueller

4 reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars4 months ago

Excellent! Great flavours. Hearty, smokey, creamy with dark chocolate flavours.

yoni

yoni

5 reviews
Rated 3 out of 5 stars8 months ago

MCZ00517 Earthy, and a bit flowery aroma.
A little brash on the mouthfeel. mothballs, hard candy. Would be good to use in cocktails with other flavor elements. Mezal tommys margarita for example. I wouldnt serve this as a sipper.

Daniemarie

Daniemarie

1 review
Rated 2 out of 5 stars2 years ago

The price point was high like most imported Mezcal. So I was disappointed in the taste less smoke very sweet and almost a weird habanero parmesan taste. This was my first time trying a mezcal made with Salmiana agave. Maybe that species isn’t for me. ( I still drank more and the buzz was very nice and uplifting.)

razorbackmike

razorbackmike

137 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars3 years ago

this mezcal has a nose of dairy and it comes through on the palate.i agree with another reviewer about the strong parmesan but its not offensive to me.i will admit that i couldnt sip on it all night but i think its tasty in small amounts.a little goes a long way.there are notes of mint and some nice hints of sugar.the finish has no smoke but is pleasant.better than average mezcal and great price point.this is the 90 proof.

bertie

bertie

2 reviews
Rated 1 out of 5 stars3 years ago

No smokiness, doesn’t taste like mezcal at all. What it does taste like is all kinds of awful. Took 2 sips and poured the rest of the bottle down the sink.

Nic Hnastchenko

Nic Hnastchenko

108 reviews
Rated 3 out of 5 stars4 years ago

Wanted to try this to see how it compared to the similarly priced option from La Luna. Both are good. this was the 90.

Rakhal

Rakhal

382 reviews
Rated 1 out of 5 stars4 years ago

45% lot CP002217. This one smelled and tasted just like parmesan cheese. I like parmesan cheese, and I like funky mezcals, but this one got old after a few sips. No complexity, just overwhelming cheese flavor. I tried a different batch a while back and I remember it tasting a lot better.

Tyler

Tyler

591 reviews
Rated 3 out of 5 stars4 years ago

Nice agave cupreata mezcal and quite cheap. There is a sugary spearmint flavor that dominates with notes of copper and cinnamon. Would definitely like to try it in a cocktail. This was the 80 proof version. Finish tastes a bit burnt. Good value. Curious to try the 90 proof version.

Jonny

Jonny

607 reviews
Rated 3 out of 5 stars4 years ago

MCZ00417. Sweet and flowery aromas. A bit coppery with strong flavors of sweet agave. Very clean and not much smoke. Lots of sugar cane and mint flavors. This is a very tasty Cupreata.

Review this bottle

Login or create an account to add your tasting notes

Back to top