Powered by 100% agave

Nuestra Soledad La Compania Ejutla

Nuestra Soledad La Compania is made at an elevation of about 5,000 feet. The Mezcal has notes of high-toned fruit and green pepper.

About this mezcal

Nuestra Soledad La Compania is made in a palenque that is rests at an elevation of about 5,000 feet.  The agave are grown on a steep slope, which helps control natural drainage and irrigation.  This Mezcal has notes of high-toned fruit and green pepper.  It is bright and refined.

Nuestra Soledad Mezcal

Traditionally, mezcals from different villages have their own distinctive flavors and aromas, which reflect the differences between distilleries, the soil, the local water sources, the wood used, and of course, the nuances created by the hand of the Maestro Mezcalero.  Mezcal Nuestra Soledad is a single village Mezcal that showcases the differences between the villages of Santiago Matatlán, La Compañía Ejutla, San Luis del Rio, and San Baltazar Guelavila. Mezcal Nuestra Soledad (a name which pays homage to Our Lady the Virgin of Solitude, the patron saint of the city of Oaxaca) is born from an ancient tradition and hand-crafted to conserve and retain the centuries-old methods of cultivating and producing this Elixir of the Gods. Each different expression is made from 100% agave Espadín, by the producers of El Jolgorio mezcals, in Oaxaca, Mexico. Check the batch on your bottle, as the ABV may vary slightly.

8 reviews

3.13 out of 5


t8ke

t8ke

88 reviews
1 month ago

Thin mouth feel, but loaded with flavor and complexity. Sweet almond, snappy pepper, some clay and wood smoke. Melon on the back of the tongue. Ethanol is just right, and the smoke is perfectly integrated.

Batch PVGES010319NS

TheAuditor

TheAuditor

25 reviews
2 months ago

Edition 5 from 2018Nose: Red Berries, Cream Cheese, Allspice, Slight peppers, Apricot, light green vegetal.

Palate: Medium mouthfeel. Spicy, Green Vegetal, Red Berries, light clean smoke.

Finish: Short Length, warm. Cream Cheese, Red Berries, Pepper,

This is a tasty bottle. Good balance, nice flavors, and it has a bit of pop when it comes to the spiciness and the fruit flavors. The finish is on the shorter side, which brings it down a bit for me.

AndreAbiRamia

AndreAbiRamia

6 reviews
11 months ago

Bot:4287/5000 lote:GGCESO50517NS
Minerals, fruit jam and smokiness on the nose. Sweet on the mouth. Retro peppery with hints of smoke

rsidrys

rsidrys

38 reviews
1 year ago

Mesquite BBQ and sweet cooked agave. There wasn’t anything extremely memorable about this one as it was a very straight forward Espadin. Nevertheless, it was certainly enjoyable. The tasty mesquite notes combined with the caramelized agave made me think of a delicious pulled pork or carnitas. 2017 Edition 31.

Nic Hnastchenko

Nic Hnastchenko

102 reviews
1 year ago

Edition 6 from 2014
Heavier hitter from the other espadins I was trying, but tbh I couldn’t stop thinning about the El Jolgorio Madrecuixe I had right before this.

ptperc

ptperc

9 reviews
1 year ago

Edition 16 from 2016, Lot GGCES180816NS
Nose of wet rock, minerals, mango, pear and black pepper.
Pleasant minerality on the palate, like a toned down Lachigui. Slightly viscous. Smoke is very soft and subtle. Stone fruit. Medium-length finish.
Great expression for the price you’re going to pay for it.

Tyler

Tyler

375 reviews
3 years ago

The Nuestra Soledad collection is some of the best mezcal in its price range; most bottles are around $50 USD or less. Unfortunately the Ejutla is the sour apple of the bunch. Maybe I’ve just tried a bad batch, but for me this mezcal is has a lot of rubbery and artificial notes. There are flavors of metal, ash, and what I imagine burst plastic to taste like. It’s still much better than industrial mezcals, but that’s not saying much. All of the other Nuestra Soledad mezcals are amazing, especially the Lachigui. This Ejutla was edition 8 from 2015, lot GRHES031215NS.

The Nuestra Soledad collection is some of the best mezcal in its price range; most bottles are around $50 USD or less. Unfortunately the Ejutla is the sour apple of the bunch. Maybe I’ve just tried a bad batch, but for me this mezcal is has a lot of rubbery and artificial notes. There are flavors of metal, ash, and what I imagine burst plastic to taste like. It’s still much better than industrial mezcals, but that’s not saying much. All of the other Nuestra Soledad mezcals are

Read more
marco

marco

14 reviews
3 years ago

Stars are in relation to other single village espadin releases (Alipus & del Maguey included.)
slight, soft smoke suggestion. roasted pork fat. pear. animal hide. beef tallow.
on the palate:
smooth and balanced. slightly more viscous than Nuestra Soleded Stgo Matatlán, less fruit driven than San Balthazar. juicy & round. lingering minerality.

Review this bottle

Login or create an account to add your tasting notes

Back to top