Powered by 100% agave

Nuestra Soledad Lachigui

Pedro Vasquez is well-known for his distilling of wild agave varieties and Nuestra Soledad Lachigui showcases his talent with farm from agave Espadin.

About this mezcal

Nuestra Soledad Lachigui is made by master mezcalero Pedro Vasquez in Lachigui, Maihuatlan. This mezcalero also makes some of the El Jologorio mezcals that use wild agave, and this is his farm-grown agave Espadin.  At 49% this mezcal is strong, but the alcohol does not overpower it. It has some unique flavor notes not found in other mezcals made from agave Espadin. It has notes of ripe grapes, smoked tropical fruits, and pine wood.

Nuestra Soledad Mezcal

Traditionally, mezcals from different villages have their own distinctive flavors and aromas, which reflect the differences between distilleries, the soil, the local water sources, the wood used, and of course, the nuances created by the hand of the Maestro Mezcalero.  Mezcal Nuestra Soledad is a single village Mezcal that showcases the differences between the villages of Santiago Matatlán, La Compañía Ejutla, San Luis del Rio, and San Baltazar Guelavila. Mezcal Nuestra Soledad (a name which pays homage to Our Lady the Virgin of Solitude, the patron saint of the city of Oaxaca) is born from an ancient tradition and hand-crafted to conserve and retain the centuries-old methods of cultivating and producing this Elixir of the Gods. Each different expression is made from 100% agave Espadín, by the producers of El Jolgorio mezcals, in Oaxaca, Mexico. Check the batch on your bottle, as the ABV may vary slightly.

13 reviews

3.92 out of 5


Nozloo

Nozloo

2 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars10 months ago

Edition 11 from 2018, Batch PVOES090919NS.

Nose is light and subtly sweet, with some floral notes and smoke, taste is sweet with dark chocolate and barbecue-esque background smokiness, somewhat hot finish but then smooth, soft and sweet. I’m super into it.

BuffPhysics

BuffPhysics

11 reviews
Rated 2.5 out of 5 stars11 months ago

Mezcalero: Pedro Vasquez

48% ABV.

Edition: 11

Produced In: 2018

For those who may not know, Nuestra Soledad is El Jolgorio’s lineup of region specific espadins. They are very competitively priced (between $50-$60 most places), and well worth looking out for. This one hails from Lachigui, Miahuatlan and seems to be generally regarded as one of the best of the lineup.

Nose: Sake and watermelon. Floral, with just a touch of smoke. It’s on the lighter side but I like it quite a bit.

Taste: Smokey mint, fruity. Some barbeque sauce and herbs + aromatic woods. Hard to pin down at times. A little hot for my tastes.

Finish: Cooling, minty.

Notes: A slight disappointment after I was blown away by my bottle of Chichicapa, but by no means bad spirit. Despite being at the same ABV as my bottle of Chichicapa it comes across hotter and the flavors seem less focused. I like the nose a lot, but that’s not quite enough to lift this bottle for me.

Score: 5/10

1 | Disgusting | So bad I poured it out.

2 | Poor | I wouldn’t consume by choice.

3 | Bad | Multiple flaws.

4 | Sub-par | Not bad, but better exists.

5 | Good | Good, just fine.

6 | Very Good | A cut above.

7 | Great | Well above average

8 | Excellent | Really quite exceptional.

9 | Incredible | An all time favorite

10 | Perfect | Perfect

Mezcalero: Pedro Vasquez
48% ABV.
Edition: 11
Produced In: 2018
For those who may not know, Nuestra Soledad is El Jolgorio’s lineup of region specific espadins. They are very competitively priced (between $50-$60 most places), and well worth looking out for. This one hails from Lachigui, Miahuatlan and seems to be generally regarded as one of the best of the lineup.
Nose: Sake and watermelon. Floral, with just a touch of smoke. It’s on the lighter side but I like it quite a bit.
Taste: Smoke

Read more
justwager

justwager

4 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars1 year ago

love this

NickSanford

NickSanford

23 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars2 years ago

Hearing that Pedro Vasquez made this had me very intrigued and excited for this. It has a strong mineral flavor that hits you pretty early with fresh sweet pepper flavors from the Espadin and a little bit of floral notes. It finishes with a nice subtle hint of chocolate that is very common in Pedro’s El Jolgorio batches I’ve had. Very nice Espadin.

Spirit_Chaser

Spirit_Chaser

20 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars2 years ago

Edition 5 from 2016. Batch: PV0ES081117NS
Very faint whiff of smoke on the nose. Predominantly fruit forward (white grapes, honeydew melon), some lavender, and some chalky element going on. Flavor is also very fruit forward, extremely mineral, wet cement, clay, perfumy, a bit soapy, and a touch harsh on the finish. More perfume on the finish which I think another reviewer nailed when he said it’s reminiscent of jasmine; which I’m not a fan of. I’d prefer some more vegetal notes and less perfume/floral but it’s got a good stuff going on too and it’s obviously quality.

Edition 5 from 2016. Batch: PV0ES081117NS
Very faint whiff of smoke on the nose. Predominantly fruit forward (white grapes, honeydew melon), some lavender, and some chalky element going on. Flavor is also very fruit forward, extremely mineral, wet cement, clay, perfumy, a bit soapy, and a touch harsh on the finish. More perfume on the finish which I think another reviewer nailed when he said it’s reminiscent of jasmine; which I’m not a fan of. I’d prefer some more vegetal

Read more
ptperc

ptperc

10 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars2 years ago

Edition 3 from 2016. Lot PVOES280616NS
Grass, minerals, and chocolate on the nose….a little floral, too. Notes of clay, high minerality, and wet river rock. Slight herbaceous qualities are also present with just the right amount of funk. A little more heat on the finish than your average espadin. Probably my favorite offering from the N.S. line. An absolute bargain for the quality!

Rakhal

Rakhal

276 reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars2 years ago

2016 edition 05. I first heard of Pedro Vasquez fom Asis Cortez of Casa Cortez, he said that he harvests his agave at night under a full moon. The El Jolgorio Tobaziche from him was incredible and I was very sad when I finished my bottle a year ago. This Espadin is fantastic. Smells of sweet roasted agave and tastes of chocolate, brown sugar, and papaya. The finish is complex and floral, like jasmine. At this price point it’s a bargain.

TheAgaveFairy

TheAgaveFairy

135 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars3 years ago

Edition 4 (bottled 2016)

Fruity mineral agave over smoke rises with a white grape sweetness aside spice.
Sweet entry grows with smoke to a starchy midpallete, receding on the grape sweetness and steel. Oily yet drying due to high minerality, and though it provides a great backbone structurally, I feel a bit more agave sweetness would help balance the desert-like finish. Want to try more batches, this is a great mezcalero for my palate.

StevenGroslouis

StevenGroslouis

2 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars3 years ago

This has notes of grass and herbal. I found it was lighter on the alcohol than my preference however it is 4/5 for roughness 4/5 for earthy vegetals 3/5 for complexity of aromas. It is a good choice among the line-up at deux 22. I tried 2016 edition. It has a clean taste and I would love to have it combined with some sal de gusano to refresh the earthy taste after and perhaps discover a lighter side and acidity.

rsidrys

rsidrys

46 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars3 years ago

Definitely one of my favorite Espadins. I found this complex, fruity, and smooth – especially for the ABV. I first tried the 2014 Edition 01, then ended buying a later year for my home collection. Considering the quality of the juice and who the producer is, this bottle is a steal at its modest price.

razorbackmike

razorbackmike

122 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars3 years ago

great bang for the buck!great balance of mineral,sweet,spice and heat.there isnt any single element that stands out but a smooth chorus and mixture from start to finish.sweet espadin profile.some subtle hint of herbs at the finish.very well worth the price.

Tyler

Tyler

460 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars4 years ago

Wow, very surprised by this Nuestra Soledad edition. It is very floral and vegetal on the nose, almost like a tobala. The mouthfeel is syrupy like a pechuga which I found unique for this type of mezcal. This mezcal has a faint clay taste with vanilla, jalapeno, and wood. The finish is a bit hot but quickly softens to a sweet lingering taste. By far my favorite Nuestra Soledad out of the four I’ve tasted. This was Lot PV-E001 Edition 1 from 2014.

Jonny

Jonny

491 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars4 years ago

Lot PV-E001. The bottle I tried was Edition 1 from 2014, which is apparently the first batch of agave Espadin that Pedro Vasquez ever bottled. He’s been making insanely good mezcals with wild agave for so long that I was incredibly excited to try this. There is some slight smoke on the nose, but it generally just smells very clean and balanced. The taste also carries a good amount of smoke and charred wood. It reminds me a bit of Del Maguey Chichicapa with it’s flavor similar to smoked brisket and ribs. It’s very meaty in flavor, but very soft on the tongue. This is one of the best Espadin mezcals I’ve ever tasted.

Lot PV-E001. The bottle I tried was Edition 1 from 2014, which is apparently the first batch of agave Espadin that Pedro Vasquez ever bottled. He’s been making insanely good mezcals with wild agave for so long that I was incredibly excited to try this. There is some slight smoke on the nose, but it generally just smells very clean and balanced. The taste also carries a good amount of smoke and charred wood. It reminds me a bit of Del Maguey Chichicapa with it’s flavor similar to sm

Read more
Review this bottle

Login or create an account to add your tasting notes

Back to top