Powered by 100% agave

Palomas Mensajeras Alto

Palomas Mensajeras Alto is produced at that the lake-side Palomas vinata in the community of Oponguio, Michoacán.

About this destilado de agave

Palomas Mensajeras Alto is made with Agave inaequidens in the lake-side community of Oponguio, Michoacán. This is a product of maestro vinatero Don Miguel Perez Resendiz and his sons Miguel (jr) and Melltón. The agaves are cooked in an underground pit oven and milled by a mechanical shredder that the family made from a converted 1978 Dotson car engine. The agaves are then fermented with open air wild yeasts in earthen pits that are lined with oak planks. Finally the agave is distilled in a Tarascan (aka Filipino) still.

The first batch of this imported into the US was distilled in March of 2019 and aged in glass for 4 years and 2 months.

Palomas Mensajeras

Palomas Mensajeras is produced by the Perez family in Oponguio, Michoacán which is situated on the banks of the beautiful Lake Pátzcuaro. The brand was officially established in the early 2000s, but the family has been producing mezcal for 4 generations. It is a true family operation with every family member playing a part in the production and day-to-day operations.

Learn more:

Member rating

3.93 out of 5

7 reviews

El-Dawg

El-Dawg

205 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars2 weeks ago

Cottony, “alto” funk taste. Carries through w/ some heat and jerky notes. Little funky. Not as much sweetness as I’d anticipated (or want). Get that new tennis ball smell that Rakhal mentioned. Comparing side-by-side w/ the Chino and I prefer this one (3.75).

Rakhal

Rakhal

420 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars4 weeks ago

Mmmm. I sure do love Michoacán Alto! Taste reminds me of how a new can of tennis balls smells. Also green onion, and celery salt with a spicy cayenne pepper finish.

COak

COak

228 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars1 month ago

Batch: March 2019. Smells of green apples, and oranges. On the palate I get orange creamsicle, and sour gummies. The finish is not as good as I’d hope it’s a bit bitter as previously said which lowers it a tad on my score. Overall it’s tropical and tasty.

Jam

Jam

143 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars2 months ago

48.5% abv, no lot number

Review #138: On the nose I get orange, banana, clay, wet wood, cream, provolone, vanilla, and parsley.
The palate has orange oils, clay, provolone, underripe banana, lime juice, milk, vanilla, bitter lemon, and lots of drying minerality.

This is tart and dry with a touch of funk. It has a solid citrus base with the other notes popping in and out. It’s not very creamy like some inaequidens, but I do get a mild funk similar to cheese. The finish does end a bit bitter for me, but it is has a great overall flavor that lasts.

This sample was provided to me free of charge with no strings attached.

48.5% abv, no lot number
Review #138: On the nose I get orange, banana, clay, wet wood, cream, provolone, vanilla, and parsley.
The palate has orange oils, clay, provolone, underripe banana, lime juice, milk, vanilla, bitter lemon, and lots of drying minerality.
This is tart and dry with a touch of funk. It has a solid citrus base with the other notes popping in and out. It’s not very creamy like some inaequidens, but I do get a mild funk similar to cheese. The finish does end a bit bitter

Read more
JDB

JDB

154 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars2 months ago

48.5% abv 2.5 ounce sample

Nose: Latex, sand and gravel, sea foam, and cooked sweet rice

Taste: Drying mouthfeel, one of the driest altos that I have had. Oatmeal, pine, heat, light salinity,, tart Valencia orange, dryer sheet, slight minerality. After being open for a while, I got some anchovy.

Not as big a fan of this as others, this expression was super dry for me. That tends to be a quality of altos, and having had some other offerings from Oponguio (the brand) and this was much drier than their seco. I do like inaequidens in general and this one is worth sampling.

48.5% abv 2.5 ounce sample
Nose: Latex, sand and gravel, sea foam, and cooked sweet rice
Taste: Drying mouthfeel, one of the driest altos that I have had. Oatmeal, pine, heat, light salinity,, tart Valencia orange, dryer sheet, slight minerality. After being open for a while, I got some anchovy.
Not as big a fan of this as others, this expression was super dry for me. That tends to be a quality of altos, and having had some other offerings from Oponguio (the brand) and this was much drie

Read more
Ben P

Ben P

98 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars2 months ago

Nose: nice tangy notes, oranges, limeade, rindy and leathery undertones

Palate: wow this is terrific, mango creamsicle, delicate and citrus, herbs like lemongrass and sage, slate minerality moving toward the finish. Finish is white pepper, cinnamon, some minerality, and charred lime. It’s a long one and as it sits it almost becomes creamy lime. Love it

This is my favorite of the Palomas and probably one of my favorite I’ve tried. It has the leathery and citrus notes I expect from an Alto but not overpowering. They are integrated well with some other fruit and minerality present.

This sample was provided to me with no strings attached. The above is my honest review.

Nose: nice tangy notes, oranges, limeade, rindy and leathery undertones
Palate: wow this is terrific, mango creamsicle, delicate and citrus, herbs like lemongrass and sage, slate minerality moving toward the finish. Finish is white pepper, cinnamon, some minerality, and charred lime. It’s a long one and as it sits it almost becomes creamy lime. Love it
This is my favorite of the Palomas and probably one of my favorite I’ve tried. It has the leathery and citrus notes I expect from an Alto but

Read more
Zack Klamn

Zack Klamn

542 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars2 months ago

Nose – Arnold Palmer (not the man, I never got close enough to have a whiff, his iced tea and lemonade drink). Charred oak.

Palate – Starts off slow, almost a 3 second delay thinking: this is pretty light. Then: POW! Bold key lime pie (extra sweet and citrus) flavor (and a tad creamy) Medium viscosity. Celery leaf. Dried black currant. Long finish of dried fruit, wood ember and sweet citrus.

Fan-f’n-tastic mezcal!

Review this bottle

Login or create an account to add your tasting notes

Back to top