Powered by 100% agave

Palomas Mensajeras Mexicano

Palomas Mensajeras Mexicano is produced at that the lake-side Palomas vinata in the community of Oponguio, Michoacán.

About this destilado de agave

Palomas Mensajeras Mexicano is made with Agave rhodacantha in the lake-side community of Oponguio, Michoacán. This is a product of maestro vinatero Don Miguel Perez Resendiz and his sons Miguel (jr) and Melltón. Maguey Mexicano is not endemic to Michoacán. Don Miguel collected Agave rhodacantha (maguey Mexicano) seeds on a trip to Oaxaca a few decades ago. He planted the seeds and the family collected additional seeds from those plants once those original agave reached maturity. The family now has a sustainable supply of Agave rhodacantha growing on their land in Michoacán. The agaves are cooked in an underground pit oven and milled by a mechanical shredder that the family made from a converted 1978 Dotson car engine. The agaves are then fermented with open air wild yeasts in earthen pits that are lined with oak planks. Finally the agave is distilled in a Tarascan (aka Filipino) still.

The first batch of this imported into the US was distilled in April of 2019 and aged in glass for 4 years and 2 months.

Palomas Mensajeras

Palomas Mensajeras is produced by the Perez family in Oponguio, Michoacán which is situated on the banks of the beautiful Lake Pátzcuaro. The brand was officially established in the early 2000s, but the family has been producing mezcal for 4 generations. It is a true family operation with every family member playing a part in the production and day-to-day operations.

Learn more:

Member rating

4.11 out of 5

9 reviews

Gfunk

Gfunk

23 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars2 months ago

Tastes like a good Mexicano. Nose was non-descript. Initial taste was big and dark. The leathery darkness turns into a very pleasant lingering sweetness. I definitely see how other reviews compare to grape jolly ranchers. Excellent.

tallchad

tallchad

108 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars3 months ago

I am with Rakhal that this is my favorite. I would give 4.25 stars to this one. All of the PM expressions are great and I would welcome any bottle to be at my bar. This one was so subtle in aroma and flavor but so fun/good to drink.
The aroma has light sweetness, with fruit and is that strawberry? Really good.
The taste has a great balance between earthy and sweet. While no flavors jump out, it is just good and I enjoy the taste.
The finish is long, good and balanced. I would say that the balance of this one makes it stand out. From aroma to finish it is all-around great!

I am with Rakhal that this is my favorite. I would give 4.25 stars to this one. All of the PM expressions are great and I would welcome any bottle to be at my bar. This one was so subtle in aroma and flavor but so fun/good to drink.
The aroma has light sweetness, with fruit and is that strawberry? Really good.
The taste has a great balance between earthy and sweet. While no flavors jump out, it is just good and I enjoy the taste.
The finish is long, good and balanced. I would say that the

Read more
El-Dawg

El-Dawg

215 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars3 months ago

Subtle but great smell – green and tropical fruits like mango. Grape seeds. Carries through to the taste. Some darker undertones as others have mentioned – coffee (especially in the aftertaste), cocoa nibs, leather. Rahkal got it with the 7up note, haha. Also, some candy like sweet tarts. Slightly tangy and briny finish.
Review# 206

Rakhal

Rakhal

421 reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars4 months ago

Wow this is so unique!!! Very green and herbal. Tarragon, mint, 7up, and fresh squeezed limes. I love this one!! My favorite of their expressions!

COak

COak

229 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars5 months ago

Batch: March 2019. Nose has grape, bubble gum and rainforest. Taste similar to a Oaxacan mexicano, very cool they grew their own with seeds from Oaxaca. It has some creaminess, grape hard candy, earthiness and coffee.

Jam

Jam

156 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars5 months ago

49.7% abv, no lot number

Review# 139: On the nose I get plum, raisin, earthy coffee, pineapple, luxardo cherry, lime, fruit punch, and kind of wine-y.
The palate has leather, plum, luxardo cherry, lime, quality milk chocolate, cinnamon, earthy coffee, zuccini bread, and roasted cashew on the finish.

I loved the mix of wine-like fruits notes with the darker undertones. I don’t find this to have too much bitterness or heat for my taste. It’s definitely pushing between an 8-9/10 but I dont know if it has enough richness, maybe due to the glass resting. It’s still delicious though and one of those combinations of flavors I really enjoy.

This sample was provided to me free of charge with no strings attached.

49.7% abv, no lot number
Review# 139: On the nose I get plum, raisin, earthy coffee, pineapple, luxardo cherry, lime, fruit punch, and kind of wine-y.
The palate has leather, plum, luxardo cherry, lime, quality milk chocolate, cinnamon, earthy coffee, zuccini bread, and roasted cashew on the finish.
I loved the mix of wine-like fruits notes with the darker undertones. I don’t find this to have too much bitterness or heat for my taste. It’s definitely pushing between an 8-9/10 but I d

Read more
JDB

JDB

170 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars5 months ago

49.7% abv, 2.5 ounce sample

Nose: apple, incense, wax, butane, spring rain

Palate: rich sweet, candied apple, orange, clove, dry mouthfeel, sweet tarts, solid pepper heat, and earthy. After getting some air, a spiced apple cake flavor comes through strongly.

Very much enjoyed this sample, and it had enjoyable combined elements from the terroir of the region as well as flavors from the mexicano. Definitely a fan. My notes differ from the other reviewers a bit, not getting the cocoa or the coffee notes, maybe the earthy note that I was getting on the backend. 4.25 stars out of five.

49.7% abv, 2.5 ounce sample
Nose: apple, incense, wax, butane, spring rain
Palate: rich sweet, candied apple, orange, clove, dry mouthfeel, sweet tarts, solid pepper heat, and earthy. After getting some air, a spiced apple cake flavor comes through strongly.
Very much enjoyed this sample, and it had enjoyable combined elements from the terroir of the region as well as flavors from the mexicano. Definitely a fan. My notes differ from the other reviewers a bit, not getting the cocoa or the c

Read more
Zack Klamn

Zack Klamn

542 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars6 months ago

Nose – Powdered sugar. Orange Tang. A backyard garden note I can’t specify, but nice!

Palate – Vanilla bean. A tad spicy. A carrot top green flavor. Cantaloupe. Mocha coffee grind bitterness. Great stuff!

Ben P

Ben P

118 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars6 months ago

Nose: Lemon lime at first, dry tangy leathery, wet clay, figs, cocoa (as it sits the dark notes fade)
Palate & Finish: grapefruit, plenty of white pepper, grilled jalapeno, rotten wood, old melon, quickly gives way to caramel, cocoa, chocolate dusted almonds, soil. Finish is messy, espresso briefly before the white pepper and minty herbs set in. Stays hot.

The nose on this is awesome and the front of palate keeps it going. It may be that the front is so nice I have higher expectations for the finish.

This sample was provided to me. The above is my honest review.

Nose: Lemon lime at first, dry tangy leathery, wet clay, figs, cocoa (as it sits the dark notes fade)
Palate & Finish: grapefruit, plenty of white pepper, grilled jalapeno, rotten wood, old melon, quickly gives way to caramel, cocoa, chocolate dusted almonds, soil. Finish is messy, espresso briefly before the white pepper and minty herbs set in. Stays hot.
The nose on this is awesome and the front of palate keeps it going. It may be that the front is so nice I have higher expectations for t

Read more

Review this bottle

Login or create an account to add your tasting notes

Back to top