Powered by 100% agave

Pelotón de la Muerte Espadin

Pelotón de la Muerte Espadin has notes of kiwi fruit, lemon zest, dried peppercorn, agave, and soft smoke. It is from the same company as Mezcales de Leyenda and aimed at the cocktail scene.

Rating: (14 reviews)
Brand:Pelotón de la Muerte
NOM:NOM-O117X
Mezcalero:Cutberto Santiago
Maguey:Espadin
Agave:Angustifolia
Grind:Tahona
Distillation:Copper
Style:Joven
State:Oaxaca
Town:Tlacolula
ABV: 41%
Website: https://pelotondelamuerte.com/
About this mezcal

Pelotón de la Muerte Espadin is produced in of Oaxaca by mezcalero Cutberto Santiago and his family, who cook agave Espadin agave in stone pit ovens using traditional methods. This mezcal has notes of kiwi fruit, lemon zest, dried peppercorn, agave, and soft smoke. Pelotón de la Muerte is aimed at the cocktail scene and is often sold in one liter bottles.

Pelotón de la Muerte

The Pelotón de la Muerte label is the flag The Doliente Hidalgo, a banner that represented the insurgent army call “The squadron of death”, which sought revenge for the murder of the priest Miguel Hidalgo y Costilla. The red in the flag represents the blood of the leader, the black cross represents the mourning for the priest Dolores, and the bones honor his remains. Pelotón de la Muerte is from Mezcales de Leyenda and geared towards the cocktail scene.

14 reviews

3 out of 5


Joe

Joe

27 reviews
Rated 1.5 out of 5 stars2 months ago

Less aroma generally. Kind of a quiet, lightly fruity flavor. Less flavorful than most. Not super exciting. Light roastiness. Pass.

Rated 0.5 out of 5 stars3 months ago

I hated this the first time, the second time…and no, there wasn’t a third.

Sub anything mass produced and garbage. Doesn’t remind me of anything vaguely nice of any quality which I like about mezcal.

Wish I could give it a few negative stars.

jklitzke

jklitzke

6 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars3 months ago

This is a very good mezcal. I credit it with rescuing my mezcal journey from despair after too many false starts. That said, while I absolutely loved it when I first tasted it, I’ve since found some I like better.

Tasting notes: moderate smokiness throughout, with citrus/passion fruit/kiwi fruity acidity, and a low-key agave sweetness. Some slight minerality too. My bottle didn’t have any of the pungency or acetone notes that others have found.

agavesyrup

agavesyrup

2 reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars8 months ago

Match made in heaven for cocktails – although it is also good sipped, particularly if you like it on the rocks. Very smokey for connoiseurs of bold mezcals

mezcal_fan

mezcal_fan

1 review
Rated 5 out of 5 stars9 months ago

Good presentation, I like the bottle a lot – so fancy! The taste – strong, you can feel agave a lot, for me one of the best in this price range to be honest!

Jonny

Jonny

445 reviews
Rated 2 out of 5 stars12 months ago

Lot 16CUT1118. Astringent. Sharp aromas for 40% ABV. Leathery palate with a ton of smoke. This probably a decent mixer for Smokey cocktails. Not the best for sipping neat.

meredithmcternan

meredithmcternan

2 reviews
Rated 1 out of 5 stars1 year ago

Not a fan. The flavor tasted almost artificial, and extremely hot for a 41% abv mezcal.

mezcajolina

mezcajolina

1 review
Rated 5 out of 5 stars1 year ago

Great value for money with this smokey and district mezcal. Its pungent flavor makes it just perfect for cocktail making. A little goes a long way, authentic taste satisfies

Mayahuel

Mayahuel

2 reviews
Rated 1 out of 5 stars2 years ago

I agree with Tyler in that there is a punget kick that I would think would come from a mezcal in the 45-46% range. Not a fan.

TheAgaveFairy

TheAgaveFairy

100 reviews
Rated 1.5 out of 5 stars2 years ago

High toned agave, smoke, acetone. Tropical fruit (kiwi mostly), citrus, pepper, fun Aviation references (violette, maraschino, lemon), slight musk, some sweeter green apple, light colorful florality. On the palette neat, bigger simpler agave with more sweetness almost more like plums, moderate smoke that lingers, a little more acetone, less defined [tropical] fruit. Surprisingly long finish, touches of spice and minerality and smoke.

Great for the money, complex. Could use less acetone however. Rate 3+. In a cocktail, it plays an appropriate role. Not bombastic nor washy, appropriate and tequila-like overall in balance. Batch variation is a seemingly large issue.

High toned agave, smoke, acetone. Tropical fruit (kiwi mostly), citrus, pepper, fun Aviation references (violette, maraschino, lemon), slight musk, some sweeter green apple, light colorful florality. On the palette neat, bigger simpler agave with more sweetness almost more like plums, moderate smoke that lingers, a little more acetone, less defined [tropical] fruit. Surprisingly long finish, touches of spice and minerality and smoke.
Great for the money, complex. Could use less acetone however.

Read more
AaronHM

AaronHM

1 review
Rated 5 out of 5 stars2 years ago

Maybe it’s my favorite mezcal. It has a lot of character to be a young mezcal, the flavors are elegant, with notes of white pepper, mineral flavors, salt, lime notes, alcoholic aroma, maguey and spicy

Mateospirit

Mateospirit

8 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars2 years ago

I just keep coming back to this one. I have more expensive and pricy options but this is just a neat sipper. I get spearmint, citrus, lite smoke, a fruity sweetness, Woods, leather, earth, pepper. Actually more complex than I expected from the cheesy logo. Worth a try you may dig it.

LosMuertos

LosMuertos

32 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars2 years ago

This is my go to mezcal to mix in cocktails. It provides a good smokiness with good value.

Notes of smoke, autumn leafs, pear, dairy and citrus. I also find some violets on the palate.

Scent: 4/5
Mouthfeel: 3/5

Tyler

Tyler

418 reviews
Rated 3 out of 5 stars3 years ago

The brand tasting notes are quite accurate. There is definitely some peppercorn and lemon zest here with agave sweetness. The nose is almost a sweet tequila. There is kind of a pungent kick even at 41% which isn’t necessarily bad just surprising.

Review this bottle

Login or create an account to add your tasting notes

Back to top