Powered by 100% agave

Pierde Almas Tepextate

Pierde Almas Tepextate has an ABV of 55%, which is the highest allowed in Mexico. This Mezcal is very complex with flavors of chocolate and bananas.

Rating: (10 reviews)
Brand:Pierde Almas Mezcal
Mezcalero:Gregorio Velasco Luis, Rodolfo Hernandez
Maguey:Tepeztate
Agave:Marmorata
Style:Joven
State:Oaxaca
Town:San Juan del Rio, San Luis del Rio
ABV: 55%
Age of plant: 25 years
Website: https://www.diageo.com/, opens in new window
Ownership:Diageo

About this mezcal

Pierde Almas Tepextate is made by Maestros Mezcaleros, Gregorio Velasco and Rodolfo Hernandez. This Mezcal is made fromade 100% wild agave Tepextate, which takes up to 25 years to mature. The ABV of 55% is the highest allowed in Mexico. This Mezcal is extraordinarily complex with flavors of chocolate, bananas and pumpkin pie. There is a long viscous finish that is driven by high alcohol content.

Pierde Almas Mezcal

Behind each bottle of Pierde Almas is a time-honored recipe kept alive with painstaking care by the family patriarch in each successive generation. Their labels are hand-printed on 100% acid-free, handmade paper derived from fibers that are indigenous to the region and have been in use since pre-Columbian times. With their Wild Agave Reforestation Program, they are actively engaged in the re-forestation of wild species of Agave in those areas where their populations have been depleted. Pierde Almas begins each rainy season by inviting bartenders, chefs, restauranteurs, and journalists to join them for their annual wild Tobalá planting. Due to the artisinal nature of their mezcal, the ABV of each lot may vary slightly.

In May 2018, British multinational alcoholic beverages company Diageo purchased Pierde Almas Mezcal.

10 reviews

4.35 out of 5

aarild

aarild

109 reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars2 weeks ago

Lovely nose of unglazed pottery, cocoa, some vague herb and sweet coumarin a bit like tarragon.
It is very hard to unfold all the flavours you eventually get in the mouth – a perfect balance of floral, vegetal, herbal, fruity and smoky aspects. I agree that the “tepextateness” is not very prominent, but here it is incredibly elegant. Baked green bellpeppers perhaps, British banana toffee, sorrel, chamomile. This is a top shelf bottle you want to drink with your eyes closed, just to concentrate on all the impressions you get. Very well integrated alcohol, good viscosity and the flavours stay in the mouth for several minutes. No batch unfortunately, but I will definitely come back to the bar where I had it for more, and might give an update.

Lovely nose of unglazed pottery, cocoa, some vague herb and sweet coumarin a bit like tarragon.
It is very hard to unfold all the flavours you eventually get in the mouth – a perfect balance of floral, vegetal, herbal, fruity and smoky aspects. I agree that the “tepextateness” is not very prominent, but here it is incredibly elegant. Baked green bellpeppers perhaps, British banana toffee, sorrel, chamomile. This is a top shelf bottle you want to drink with your eyes closed, just to

Read more
razorbackmike

razorbackmike

134 reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars4 months ago

absolutely incredible! 55%-rodolfo hernandez.this has some heat but in a pleasing way.veggie green pepper sweetness.earthy with a loooooong finish.great smoke.wonderful spices and all that a tep should be.this mezcalero also produces under the pluma negra label which are also stellar.the strange thing that rudolfos mezcals have in common is a very reserved nose.this one blew me out of my shoes!

El-Dawg

El-Dawg

156 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars8 months ago

Lote: PAZ-801
Light smell, and not overly “tepeztate-y”. Taste has some sweet, birthday cream frosting. Some fresh green notes as well, but in my opinion it’s missing some of the stronger tep. notes that I love. For 55% ABV this awesome and balanced….agreed it tastes more like a 48%. Well rounded and good. Just doesn’t blow me away.
Review #132

danimal_xoxo

danimal_xoxo

9 reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars9 months ago

Lote: PAZ020919
55%

Nose: definitely get notes of banana and natural cocoa bean or dark chocolate upon the first sniff. I get a mineral in the background. I also get a hint of freshly cut wood, something akin to pine, and citrus in the second whiff.

Taste: wow what an explosion of flavor in your mouth! It definitely packs a punch at 55% but with such complex flavor. The banana flavor comes through as a banana that is just about to ripen enough for it to be sweet. Really wonderfully complex mezcal.

Lote: PAZ020919
55%
Nose: definitely get notes of banana and natural cocoa bean or dark chocolate upon the first sniff. I get a mineral in the background. I also get a hint of freshly cut wood, something akin to pine, and citrus in the second whiff.
Taste: wow what an explosion of flavor in your mouth! It definitely packs a punch at 55% but with such complex flavor. The banana flavor comes through as a banana that is just about to ripen enough for it to be sweet. Really wonderfully complex mezc

Read more
Zack Klamn

Zack Klamn

418 reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars12 months ago

Lote: PAZ-801
Nose – Cotton candy. A very light green bean note. The nose overall is light and the smoke is there but suppressed.

Palate – Quite viscous and feels like this slow releases the flavors to come. Birthday cake donut. Sprite soda. Pan-fried green pepper in olive oil. Salinity that reminds me of martini olive juice. The heat comes eventually but it doesn’t feel at all like 55% ABV (maybe in the 48-49% range). Finish has nice, tobacco smoke with a slight creaminess. The heat is an incredible slow burn even in the aftertaste – it has the fresh feeling of carbonated soda (again, Sprite) on your tongue.

There is so much right with this mezcal – the texture is exceptional and I love higher proof especially when it has this much quality. I love this!

Lote: PAZ-801
Nose – Cotton candy. A very light green bean note. The nose overall is light and the smoke is there but suppressed.
Palate – Quite viscous and feels like this slow releases the flavors to come. Birthday cake donut. Sprite soda. Pan-fried green pepper in olive oil. Salinity that reminds me of martini olive juice. The heat comes eventually but it doesn’t feel at all like 55% ABV (maybe in the 48-49% range). Finish has nice, tobacco smoke with a slight creaminess. Th

Read more
vandicla

vandicla

4 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars2 years ago

A sweet beginning that evolves into green peppery and finally bitter / dry aftertaste. Hot but in a pleasant way.

Rakhal

Rakhal

361 reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars3 years ago

My favorite from the Piedre Almas line. It’s hot at 55% ABV but not in a rubbing alcohol, burn your tongue sort of way. It’s a very well made Mezcal that just takes all the flavors I love from Tepextate and punches me in the face with them!! Fresh jalapeño, green bell pepper, red chili flakes, and fresh New Mexico chili. I will be on the lookout for a bottle of this for sure.

Joseph

Joseph

26 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars4 years ago

Bright, green, and fruity. Though it has some vegetal & herbal qualities, the sweetness seems to bring some other flavors into the foreground that are less typically associated with Tepextate. I’m getting some raisins, bananas and a hint of caramel. It has the viscosity and sweetness of a 55% mezcal, but it tastes much softer than that to me. Quite good!

Jonny

Jonny

582 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars5 years ago

Lote 01-TXSJR at 55% ABV. This has some really nice peppery aromas that carry a hint of lemon zest. It’s pretty mellow considering that it’s such a high ABV, and it’s very fruity for a Tepextate. Tasting notes include fresh orange and banana. It’s also very leafy and green in flavor. Hot but delicious.

Tyler

Tyler

574 reviews
Rated 3 out of 5 stars5 years ago

Finally tried this at Sabina Sabe in Oaxaca City. This tepextate is light and herbal. Notes of roasted green pepper spice but the flavors expire quickly. The finish is a bit dry. I had really hyped this one up before trying it and was let down. Good but not great. Lot 2 SLR

Review this bottle

Login or create an account to add your tasting notes

Back to top