Powered by 100% agave

400 Conejos Joven

400 Conejos Joven is used mostly for mixed drinks and it one of the most commonly found mezcals in Mexico.

Rating: (38 reviews)
Cost:$
Brand:400 Conejos Mezcal
NOM:NOM-O220X
Mezcalero:Don Tacho
Maguey:Espadin
Agave:Angustifolia
Distillation:Copper
Style:Joven
State:Oaxaca
Town:Santiago Matatlán
ABV: 38% or 40%
Age of plant: 8-10 years
Website: https://400conejos.mx/, opens in new window
Ownership:Proximo Spirits

About this mezcal

400 Conejos Espadin Joven is produced by maestro mezcalero Don Tacho in Santiago Matatlan, Oaxaca. Don Tacho carefully selects the agave Espadin when they have reached maturity after 8-10 years. This mezcal is traditionally produced using a stone oven (horno), horse-drawn tahona, and copper distillation.

In Mexico, this mezcal is sold at 38% ABV whereas in the United States it is 40% ABV.

400 Conejos Mezcal

Mezcal 400 Conejos is named after the ancestral belief that agave spirits were occupied by 400 rabbits. Those who ingested the agave spirits would be controlled by one of the 400 rabbits, but no one ever knew which rabbit you’d get with each mezcal. Each rabbit had a different personality and way of making you think and act. Mezcal 400 Conejos’ expressions are made with agave Espadin, and their mezcal is marketed mostly for cocktails.

Member rating

2.2 out of 5

38 reviews

MezPal20

MezPal20

11 reviews
Rated 2.5 out of 5 stars2 weeks ago

Waitress served me the wrong one ; )

MaryKitty

MaryKitty

10 reviews
Rated 2.5 out of 5 stars7 months ago

Had at Mezcal Bar in Puerto Vallarta. Boozy heat, a bit of smoke. Agave comes through. Seems like it would be a good mixer, so many better ones to drink straight.

Suicide Squid

Suicide Squid

10 reviews
Rated 2.5 out of 5 stars7 months ago

In PV at De Cantaro Mezcal Bar. Agave with ethanol heat smell. Soft agave flavors upfront with the heat kicking in at the back which is unfortunate as it seems this could have went places. Heat simmers a bit in the finish so you aren’t left totally unsatisfied. Ok.

tallchad

tallchad

103 reviews
Rated 1.5 out of 5 stars8 months ago

Tasted at Baja Betty’s Agave Club (San Diego) for August.
My quick notes are:
Smokey aroma
Thin, with pepper
Back end bitterness
Good heat on the finish
Good for mixing
No bottle info.

Imperium

Imperium

99 reviews
Rated 1 out of 5 stars8 months ago

Basically, tasteless garbage. Not even as good as a decent tequila. They’ll try to sell this to tourists in Mexico, who really don’t know what Mezcal is.

aarild

aarild

152 reviews
Rated 1.5 out of 5 stars8 months ago

Well. There are not that many foul flavours. Aromas are very subdued and all flavours fade away in a split second. Not suitable for even cocktails as it adds nothing, but at least the poor quality is more about a lack of flavours than tasting really bad.

BobFV1

BobFV1

2 reviews
Rated 1 out of 5 stars8 months ago

Bought this for about 20 bucks at WalMart – I should have known better. This is a vile drink, it tastes medicinal, strong iodine taste and hardly any smoke. I tried mixing a Mescalita with it using agave nectar, fresh lime, fresh mandarin and Cointreau and it was basically a complete waste of all those other nice ingredients. If you like this Mezcal, then do yourself a favor and try several others because you are unlikely to find another one with as many off tastes as this. Of the 400 Conejos in the name, I always end up with one that was run over by a truck and picked dry by buzzards.

Bought this for about 20 bucks at WalMart – I should have known better. This is a vile drink, it tastes medicinal, strong iodine taste and hardly any smoke. I tried mixing a Mescalita with it using agave nectar, fresh lime, fresh mandarin and Cointreau and it was basically a complete waste of all those other nice ingredients. If you like this Mezcal, then do yourself a favor and try several others because you are unlikely to find another one with as many off tastes as this. Of the 400 Cone

Read more
Average José

Average José

54 reviews
Rated 2 out of 5 stars10 months ago

After drinking tequila for decades I finally decided to try to get more into Mezcals and this was the first spirit I found during a dive trip to MX.

Synthetic smoke and light rubbing alcohol undertones, odd but not horrible in a beginners Mezcal margarita. Not very strong and not very flavorful outside of just plain smoke but it was good enough (and cheap enough) to make me go “hmmm” and start investigating Mezcal further and for that I’m grateful.

El-Dawg

El-Dawg

209 reviews
Rated 2 out of 5 stars10 months ago

About time I review this one. It’s not horrible necessarily, but definitely belongs in a cocktail. Bitter and light/watery.
It’s pretty one dimensional though – just slightly sweet and overly smoky. Low ABV and not “harsh”, but I feel bad for people who would judge all mezcal on this (it’s so ubiquitous all over that I’m sure this is a first introduction to the spirit for a lot of people). Def great for cocktails though, especially ones where you really want that smoke.

About time I review this one. It’s not horrible necessarily, but definitely belongs in a cocktail. Bitter and light/watery.
It’s pretty one dimensional though – just slightly sweet and overly smoky. Low ABV and not “harsh”, but I feel bad for people who would judge all mezcal on this (it’s so ubiquitous all over that I’m sure this is a first introduction to the spirit for a lot of people). Def great for cocktails though, especially ones where you really want that smoke.

Read more
Ranger_Ryan

Ranger_Ryan

45 reviews
Rated 2 out of 5 stars12 months ago

Batch 00922BEO46
Watery, smokey with hints of roasted agave. Makes a great cocktail at a good price point.

Rated 1.5 out of 5 stars1 year ago

So – I love a good mezcal. Normally they have a good smokey flavour.

400 Conejos is a different beast and definitely not top quality.

To me it is extremely medicinal, reminiscent of Betadine or Iodine wash.

Am at Phebe’s on the Bowery in NYC and they do a nice sounding drink with 400 Conejos Joven, pineapple juice, lemon and ginger (what could go wrong? ). I ordered a second to double check palate… Betadine – confirmed by tablemates as well.

logar

logar

20 reviews
Rated 2 out of 5 stars2 years ago

Smoky and bit bitter. Smooth flavor, but overall it’s very watery. You find it everywhere in Mexico, but it’s definitively not a good mezcal.

Jori

Jori

52 reviews
Rated 2 out of 5 stars2 years ago

I like it for the price points. $40 in North Canada.
It’s slightly smoky and gets the job done in Mezcal cocktails. No real flavors.
Industrial Mezcal, sure. But still better than a few Industrials I’ve had.

Dygsteve

Dygsteve

2 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars2 years ago

So I picked this up for $24.99 at the local liquor store. And I have purchased $60 mezcal that tastes no better. I mean it’s not something rare and expensive but it will do fine for sipping. You get a nice mellow smoke and smooth flavor for a good price

Rakhal

Rakhal

421 reviews
Rated 1.5 out of 5 stars2 years ago

It seems like this Mezcal is in every bar in Mexico. If they only have one Mezcal, it’s probably 400 Conejos. I don’t hate it, I can see why people who don’t like Mezcal like this one. It’s very “smooth”, no alcohol burn at all in fact. Not much flavor either unfortunately, some vanilla, a faint hint of burnt electrical wiring. Instantly forgettable.

Agave Geek

Agave Geek

4 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars2 years ago

This is a very easy-to-drink mezcal, nice nose with a hint of smoke. Complex balanced taste vegetal, pepper, spice, and a little smoke, finished a little vanilla and anise, definite sipper.

temo-viking

temo-viking

1 review
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars2 years ago

Really i don’t know where you got your bottles, been drinking this Mezcal for few years and never see a 38 abv bottle, all mines are 40 ABV great flavor, in my state WA is a $45 and is 40ABV
Batch# 00521BE046
Date 10/21

PedroDLHR

PedroDLHR

10 reviews
Rated 2 out of 5 stars3 years ago

I agree with most of the reviews. The ABV is too low for me so I am not a big fan. On the other hand, I think is a very approachable mezcal (especially for its price). It might be a good option for anyone who has never tried neat mezcal before or wants to mix it into a cocktail. Its layer flavors are not smoky, very light and soothing to the palate (too light, in my opinion). My wife loves it though, so I think I will keep buying it for a while.

Juan jo

Juan jo

4 reviews
Rated 2 out of 5 stars3 years ago

To much alcohol flavor for me, nice name and sticker

Zack Klamn

Zack Klamn

542 reviews
Rated 2 out of 5 stars3 years ago

Lote: 002-21GS
Nose – Lab chemicals. Vanilla extract.

Palate – Stiff for 38% ABV. Industrial, metallic, artificial sweetener. Not great but hey… it’s $25 a bottle.

Review this bottle

Login or create an account to add your tasting notes

Back to top