Powered by 100% agave

400 Conejos Joven

400 Conejos Joven is used mostly for mixed drinks. At 38% ABV, it’s a nice choice that will not overpower a drink.

Rating: (12 reviews)
Cost:$$$$
Brand:400 Conejos Mezcal
NOM:NOM-O220X
Mezcalero:Don Tacho
Maguey:Espadin
Agave:Angustifolia
Distillation:Copper
Style:Joven
State:Oaxaca
Town:Santiago Matatlan
ABV: 38%
Age of plant: 8-10 years
Website: https://400conejos.mx/
About this mezcal

400 Conejos Espadin Joven is produced by maestro mezcalero Don Tacho in Santiago Matatlan, Oaxaca. Don Tacho carefully selects the agave Espadin when they have reached maturity after 8-10 years. This mezcal is traditionally produced using a stone oven (horno), horse-drawn tahona, and copper distillation.

400 Conejos Mezcal

Mezcal 400 Conejos is named after the ancestral belief that agave spirits were occupied by 400 rabbits. Those who ingested the agave spirits would be controlled by one of the 400 rabbits, but no one ever knew which rabbit you'd get with each mezcal. Each rabbit had a different personality and way of making you think and act. Mezcal 400 Conejos' expressions are made with agave Espadin, and their mezcal is marketed mostly for cocktails.

12 reviews

2.17 out of 5


meserole

meserole

21 reviews
Rated 2 out of 5 stars2 months ago

A friend left this after a dinner party, so I was curious to sip straight a mezcal that I was 90% sure was going to be a mixer, if anything. Taste is hot, flat, and smooth, with really no flavor profile to speak of except for the slight agave sweetness that reminds me more of tequila than any of the finer mezcals.

Two stars is probably the lowest I’ve rated any mezcal, as I’ve never encountered anything truly vile, but I can’t recommend 400 conejos when there are bottles by Del Maguey and Derrumbes and Mal Bien at similar price points with much more to offer.

A friend left this after a dinner party, so I was curious to sip straight a mezcal that I was 90% sure was going to be a mixer, if anything. Taste is hot, flat, and smooth, with really no flavor profile to speak of except for the slight agave sweetness that reminds me more of tequila than any of the finer mezcals.
Two stars is probably the lowest I’ve rated any mezcal, as I’ve never encountered anything truly vile, but I can’t recommend 400 conejos when there are bottles by De

Read more
ChecoParra

ChecoParra

2 reviews
Rated 3 out of 5 stars2 months ago

Very light, not very tasteful but smoky, nice for starters, the value for the price is very interesting.

Tom_B

Tom_B

3 reviews
Rated 2 out of 5 stars3 months ago

As stated in the other reviews, very light and simple, with only some smokiness and a sweet aftertaste that made me think of BBQ. Some floral/fruity notes, but not much, although I could not tell what was from the mezcal and what came from the bartender’s hand lotion. Surprisingly viscous mouthfeel.

loudloudmusic

loudloudmusic

5 reviews
Rated 1.5 out of 5 stars3 months ago

Inoffensive, and that’s probably the best I can say for it. Very thin, very watery, somewhat unsurprising given the low ABV. Aroma is somewhat floral with a hint of leather. There’s just no character to this at all. Not good as a sipper, fine as a mixer I suppose.

AgaveLover

AgaveLover

7 reviews
Rated 2 out of 5 stars4 months ago

Smoke. Smoke. Then theres smoke. This is the 2and bottle of Mezcal I’ve purchased on my journey while taking a break from a very long tequila journey. The buzz on this is fantastic. But the flavor is smoky like scotch.

edgy4sure

edgy4sure

37 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars4 months ago

for the price point, it’s tough to beat. while I have not yet tried the reposado, I have tried the tobala – normally this is a no-brainer but in this instance, I’ll take the joven everyday. Super starter mezcal at a price point that cannot be beat – good to keep on hand for rookies, etc., or as a daily guzzler (unless you can afford $100+ bottles as a daily – and if so, lets be neighbors!)

gratefullawyer

gratefullawyer

3 reviews
Rated 3 out of 5 stars6 months ago

Decent mezcal for a starter … one of the first mezcal I had. Been over 2 years ago

Chris

Chris

40 reviews
Rated 1.5 out of 5 stars1 year ago

Agree with everyone else. Inoffensive is about as much as you can say, but there’s not much there in the way of mezcal.

GZM

GZM

3 reviews
Rated 2 out of 5 stars1 year ago

Very light. I would add some strenght on it. But if you like light flavoured mezcales or you just want to get into this world and you find it, it is a good starter into the category

COak

COak

106 reviews
Rated 2 out of 5 stars2 years ago

At 38% the lightest mezcal I’ve ever tired. If you want flavor this isn’t it. This might be a good starter for someone who has never had mezcal.

Jonny

Jonny

471 reviews
Rated 2 out of 5 stars2 years ago

Lote 020-18GS. Aromas of geraniums, fresh tomatillos, mildew, chalk, and sea salt. The palate is light and approachable. There are some green vegetal notes of dry green tea leaves, asparagus, and olives. There’s nothing in this that would be offensive or off putting. The ABV is too low for my liking, but others may enjoy that, especially if you’re accustomed to lower ABV tequila.

Tyler

Tyler

428 reviews
Rated 1.5 out of 5 stars2 years ago

There’s no “spirit” in this spirit. Not offensive and not interesting. Not much agave. Lots of water with sweet tart vanilla/lemon. A 750ml bottle is about $23 USD in Mexico and I’ve only seen it in Mexico. Tried it at a hotel bar in Puerto Vallarta (they had this and Amores Espadin). This is probably more of a 1.5 stars given the low ABV could hinder its flavor profile in cocktails.

Review this bottle

Login or create an account to add your tasting notes

Back to top