Powered by 100% agave

400 Conejos Joven

400 Conejos Joven is used mostly for mixed drinks. At 38% ABV, it’s a nice choice that will not overpower a drink.

Rating: (21 reviews)
Cost:$
Brand:400 Conejos Mezcal
NOM:NOM-O220X
Mezcalero:Don Tacho
Maguey:Espadin
Agave:Angustifolia
Distillation:Copper
Style:Joven
State:Oaxaca
Town:Santiago Matatlan
ABV: 38%
Age of plant: 8-10 years
Website: https://400conejos.mx/, opens in new window
About this mezcal

400 Conejos Espadin Joven is produced by maestro mezcalero Don Tacho in Santiago Matatlan, Oaxaca. Don Tacho carefully selects the agave Espadin when they have reached maturity after 8-10 years. This mezcal is traditionally produced using a stone oven (horno), horse-drawn tahona, and copper distillation.

400 Conejos Mezcal

Mezcal 400 Conejos is named after the ancestral belief that agave spirits were occupied by 400 rabbits. Those who ingested the agave spirits would be controlled by one of the 400 rabbits, but no one ever knew which rabbit you'd get with each mezcal. Each rabbit had a different personality and way of making you think and act. Mezcal 400 Conejos' expressions are made with agave Espadin, and their mezcal is marketed mostly for cocktails.

21 reviews

2.24 out of 5


PedroDLHR

PedroDLHR

3 reviews
Rated 2.5 out of 5 stars6 days ago

I agree with most of the reviews. The ABV is too low for me so I am not a big fan. On the other hand, I think is a very approachable mezcal (especially for its price). It might be a good option for anyone who has never tried neat mezcal before or wants to mix it into a cocktail. Its layer flavors are not smoky, very light and soothing to the palate (too light, in my opinion). My wife loves it though, so I think I will keep buying it for a while.

Juan jo

Juan jo

4 reviews
Rated 2 out of 5 stars2 months ago

To much alcohol flavor for me, nice name and sticker

Zack Klamn

Zack Klamn

334 reviews
Rated 2 out of 5 stars3 months ago

Lote: 002-21GS
Nose – Lab chemicals. Vanilla extract.

Palate – Stiff for 38% ABV. Industrial, metallic, artificial sweetener. Not great but hey… it’s $25 a bottle.

Justin.Anderson3

Justin.Anderson3

14 reviews
Rated 0.5 out of 5 stars4 months ago

They shouldn’t even call this mezcal. Why is the CRM certifying this. I tried it for the first time, and i am not a fan.

WeroWero

WeroWero

5 reviews
Rated 1 out of 5 stars4 months ago

Appalling mezcal. Mexicans mostly turn their noses down at this, especially at the current prices for it in the bars of Mexico City. Don’t waste your money.

Jonathan Lockwood

Jonathan Lockwood

6 reviews
Rated 2 out of 5 stars6 months ago

Most of us who’ve been mezcal lovers for awhile will sneer a bit at this one. But the truth is I think it’s the perfect starter mezcal. Yes, it’s far too light at 38%–and there’s nothing particularly special about it. But it is a decent, basic Espadín with a hint of smoke. Start here; then be prepared for mezcales that will absolutely make your face shine! 🙂

booyaka2

booyaka2

7 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars6 months ago

I’m going to go against most of these reviews and say this Espadin is delicious (iv’e only been drinking it seriously for 6 years). It’s not the be all, end all of spirits but it has a LOT of incredible flavour notes and it’s surprising because on the nose it’s just above average. For the price i’d call it INCREDIBLE! So yes, mix drinks with it because its flavour profile is strong and very positive when blended, but i sip it neat often and of the 15 mezcals i keep on my bar it’s one of my most visited. The Tobala is one of my popular choices. Love the legend of the 400 rabits too. Check it out!!!!

I’m going to go against most of these reviews and say this Espadin is delicious (iv’e only been drinking it seriously for 6 years). It’s not the be all, end all of spirits but it has a LOT of incredible flavour notes and it’s surprising because on the nose it’s just above average. For the price i’d call it INCREDIBLE! So yes, mix drinks with it because its flavour profile is strong and very positive when blended, but i sip it neat often and of the 15 mezcals i

Read more
Rorschach

Rorschach

37 reviews
Rated 2.5 out of 5 stars6 months ago

Price point and would be a good one to start out on. Not bad, but not a lot of flavor to go wrong on.
Batch 00221BE046 40%

Starday_Travel

Starday_Travel

2 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars8 months ago

This is a very approachable mezcal, with a balance of vegetal, spice and smoke that should work nicely as a sipper or a mixer.

ElAgave

ElAgave

34 reviews
Rated 2.5 out of 5 stars8 months ago

This is a great mixer mezcal when you are looking for a tamed smoke. There is nothing super exciting here but it also is not bad at all.

Nose: earthy, cabbage

Palate: barnyard, hay, medium mouthfeel, soil, earthy

Finish: cedar

It just falls a little flat but it is not meant to be a heavy hitter.

meserole

meserole

70 reviews
Rated 2 out of 5 stars11 months ago

A friend left this after a dinner party, so I was curious to sip straight a mezcal that I was 90% sure was going to be a mixer, if anything. Taste is hot, flat, and smooth, with really no flavor profile to speak of except for the slight agave sweetness that reminds me more of tequila than any of the finer mezcals.

Two stars is probably the lowest I’ve rated any mezcal, as I’ve never encountered anything truly vile, but I can’t recommend 400 conejos when there are bottles by Del Maguey and Derrumbes and Mal Bien at similar price points with much more to offer.

A friend left this after a dinner party, so I was curious to sip straight a mezcal that I was 90% sure was going to be a mixer, if anything. Taste is hot, flat, and smooth, with really no flavor profile to speak of except for the slight agave sweetness that reminds me more of tequila than any of the finer mezcals.
Two stars is probably the lowest I’ve rated any mezcal, as I’ve never encountered anything truly vile, but I can’t recommend 400 conejos when there are bottles by De

Read more
ChecoParra

ChecoParra

2 reviews
Rated 3 out of 5 stars11 months ago

Very light, not very tasteful but smoky, nice for starters, the value for the price is very interesting.

Tom_B

Tom_B

3 reviews
Rated 2 out of 5 stars12 months ago

As stated in the other reviews, very light and simple, with only some smokiness and a sweet aftertaste that made me think of BBQ. Some floral/fruity notes, but not much, although I could not tell what was from the mezcal and what came from the bartender’s hand lotion. Surprisingly viscous mouthfeel.

loudloudmusic

loudloudmusic

5 reviews
Rated 1.5 out of 5 stars12 months ago

Inoffensive, and that’s probably the best I can say for it. Very thin, very watery, somewhat unsurprising given the low ABV. Aroma is somewhat floral with a hint of leather. There’s just no character to this at all. Not good as a sipper, fine as a mixer I suppose.

AgaveLover

AgaveLover

8 reviews
Rated 2 out of 5 stars1 year ago

Smoke. Smoke. Then theres smoke. This is the 2and bottle of Mezcal I’ve purchased on my journey while taking a break from a very long tequila journey. The buzz on this is fantastic. But the flavor is smoky like scotch.

edgy4sure

edgy4sure

37 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars1 year ago

for the price point, it’s tough to beat. while I have not yet tried the reposado, I have tried the tobala – normally this is a no-brainer but in this instance, I’ll take the joven everyday. Super starter mezcal at a price point that cannot be beat – good to keep on hand for rookies, etc., or as a daily guzzler (unless you can afford $100+ bottles as a daily – and if so, lets be neighbors!)

gratefullawyer

gratefullawyer

3 reviews
Rated 3 out of 5 stars1 year ago

Decent mezcal for a starter … one of the first mezcal I had. Been over 2 years ago

Chris

Chris

40 reviews
Rated 1.5 out of 5 stars2 years ago

Agree with everyone else. Inoffensive is about as much as you can say, but there’s not much there in the way of mezcal.

COak

COak

153 reviews
Rated 2 out of 5 stars3 years ago

At 38% the lightest mezcal I’ve ever tired. If you want flavor this isn’t it. This might be a good starter for someone who has never had mezcal.

Jonny

Jonny

537 reviews
Rated 2 out of 5 stars3 years ago

Lote 020-18GS. Aromas of geraniums, fresh tomatillos, mildew, chalk, and sea salt. The palate is light and approachable. There are some green vegetal notes of dry green tea leaves, asparagus, and olives. There’s nothing in this that would be offensive or off putting. The ABV is too low for my liking, but others may enjoy that, especially if you’re accustomed to lower ABV tequila.

Tyler

Tyler

517 reviews
Rated 1.5 out of 5 stars3 years ago

There’s no “spirit” in this spirit. Not offensive and not interesting. Not much agave. Lots of water with sweet tart vanilla/lemon. A 750ml bottle is about $23 USD in Mexico and I’ve only seen it in Mexico. Tried it at a hotel bar in Puerto Vallarta (they had this and Amores Espadin). This is probably more of a 1.5 stars given the low ABV could hinder its flavor profile in cocktails.

Review this bottle

Login or create an account to add your tasting notes

Back to top