Powered by 100% agave

5 Sentidos Tepextate – Sergio Juarez

This 5 Sentidos Tepextate is produced by Sergio Juarez Patricio and his son Luis Enrique in San Augustin Amatengo.

Rating: (6 reviews)
Category:Destilado de Agave
Brand:5 Sentidos
Mezcalero:Sergio Juarez Patricio
Maguey:Tepeztate
Agave:Marmorata
Grind:Tahona
Distillation:Refrescador
Style:Joven
State:Oaxaca
Town:San Agustín Amatengo
ABV: 45%
Batch size: Batch TPX01-19: 90 Liters
Website: http://www.drink5sentidos.com/, opens in new window

About this destilado de agave

This 5 Sentidos Tepextate is produced by Sergio Juarez Patricio and his son Luis Enrique in San Augustin Amatengo. The agaves were cooked in an underground pit oven, fermented for 4-5 days, and single distilled in a copper refrescadera still.

5 Sentidos

5 Sentidos (or Cinco Sentidos) is named after the five senses that their mezcaleros use to produce their agave spirits. The producers of this mezcal do not use any model machinery or tools, being guided only by their senses throughout the production process. The brand was launched by El Destilado restaurant in centro Oaxaca. The restaurant is known for it’s creative menu, unique cocktails, and exception agave spirits. The brand is a curated tour of Mexico with a wide range of expressions that are made by some of the best mezcaleros in the region. Cinco Sentidos is uncertified mezcal and is labeled as “Destilado de Agave”.

Learn more about 5 Sentidos:

Member rating

4.25 out of 5

6 reviews

Patrick

Patrick

57 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars2 months ago

Lot : tp02-19ca
Nose : classic Tep. nose with lots of minerality. Green peppers, lettuce, snap peas with powdered sugar. Also plenty earth and spices.
Taste : fried lettuce with sugar sprinkled all over it. Again bell peppers, loads of greens.
Finish : long with a touch of smoke
Fantastic spirit. Possibly a second bottle..

Jam

Jam

156 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars5 months ago

Batch PRES22, 48.9% abv

Review #108: Nose has pine, lemon, fresh paint, wet smoldering campfire, spicy smoked jalapeno, pickled onion, cucumber, celery, sage, parsley, and black pepper. The palate has lemon, lime, pine, smoked sage, jalapeno, black pepper, medicinal like an herbal amaro or something, lots of wood, wet smoke, and ash.

This is wild and I love it. Really brash profile with the smoke, wood, vegetal notes, and some herbal medicine thing going on, like something your grandma’s grandma would use when they’re sick. I was a bit taken aback when I first tried this, but as I get through the bottle I like it more and more. It’s very complex and keeps opening itself up to you as you drink it.

Batch PRES22, 48.9% abv
Review #108: Nose has pine, lemon, fresh paint, wet smoldering campfire, spicy smoked jalapeno, pickled onion, cucumber, celery, sage, parsley, and black pepper. The palate has lemon, lime, pine, smoked sage, jalapeno, black pepper, medicinal like an herbal amaro or something, lots of wood, wet smoke, and ash.
This is wild and I love it. Really brash profile with the smoke, wood, vegetal notes, and some herbal medicine thing going on, like something your grandma’s g

Read more
Ben P

Ben P

114 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars8 months ago

Batch PRES22 – Released in DC Market. ABV 48.9%

Nose: Nose is wild, super vegetal and grassy, plenty of mesquite, also this like almost medicinal note, it takes up the whole room, lumber department of home depot

Palate & Finish: Burger covered in stone ground mustard, savory but slightly sweet, the sweetness is tangy and citrus, cedar plank salmon skin, grilled peppers on a wood skewer, it’s sweet but not super fruity, soft mango and guava for a split second before going back to wood and herbs, grilled carrots and corn. Finish is smoky, burnt peppers, light honey, the medicinal element is back but more mineral water like this time. It’s like a popsicle stick, natural (herbal) cough syrup, then basil and sage blast

Overall: Like many unique mezcals it’s uniqueness starts to draw you in and tough to rate. It’s got so much going on and so much complexity. It also beautifully ties together it’s different elements to make the whole. Great stuff.

Batch PRES22 – Released in DC Market. ABV 48.9%
Nose: Nose is wild, super vegetal and grassy, plenty of mesquite, also this like almost medicinal note, it takes up the whole room, lumber department of home depot
Palate & Finish: Burger covered in stone ground mustard, savory but slightly sweet, the sweetness is tangy and citrus, cedar plank salmon skin, grilled peppers on a wood skewer, it’s sweet but not super fruity, soft mango and guava for a split second before going back to

Read more
GMAD

GMAD

77 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars11 months ago

BATCH TPXLE 09-20, 44.3%, 200ml, Luis Enrique Juarez

Nose – Nature after a rain; fresh cut grass, wet earth, soil. And some vegetal, ‘produce-section’ notes; broccoli, carrots, celery.

Palate – Sweet, subtle spice; anise, cloves, saffron, rose water, jackfruit.

Finish – A dry, vegetal, sweetness with a little bit of kick; sharp green bell pepper.

A fantastic destilado – it unveils itself to be very complex while you discover new and different flavors as this Mezcal takes you on a journey through its terroir. Earthy and vegetal, and maybe a little too floral in taste; like sipping a summer garden.

BATCH TPXLE 09-20, 44.3%, 200ml, Luis Enrique Juarez
Nose – Nature after a rain; fresh cut grass, wet earth, soil. And some vegetal, ‘produce-section’ notes; broccoli, carrots, celery.
Palate – Sweet, subtle spice; anise, cloves, saffron, rose water, jackfruit.
Finish – A dry, vegetal, sweetness with a little bit of kick; sharp green bell pepper.
A fantastic destilado – it unveils itself to be very complex while you discover new and different flavors as this M

Read more
Forpowder

Forpowder

87 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars12 months ago

Batch TPXLE 09-20 44.3% 97 liter batch distilled Sept 2020 bottled July 2021. Aroma’s out of the bottle are a cold firepit the next morning after a light rain. Inside of a smoker’s car and a ashtray with water in it, but mostly in a good way. Flavors are surprisingly light on smoke mostly a light burning sensation. Long ashey finish. Slate and wet rocks on the end exhale. This gets better with some air. Very unique in the smokey dimension. After this airs out I gave it a four I think it opens up some and has some interesting Brown notes if there was a brown Jolly Rancher this would be it.

Batch TPXLE 09-20 44.3% 97 liter batch distilled Sept 2020 bottled July 2021. Aroma’s out of the bottle are a cold firepit the next morning after a light rain. Inside of a smoker’s car and a ashtray with water in it, but mostly in a good way. Flavors are surprisingly light on smoke mostly a light burning sensation. Long ashey finish. Slate and wet rocks on the end exhale. This gets better with some air. Very unique in the smokey dimension. After this airs out I gave it a four I think

Read more
Ronco Sips

Ronco Sips

10 reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars1 year ago

I’m still a rookie but, ok, now I’m truly blown away and believe that mezcal is the nectar of the gods. Right from the first smell of this it was all sort of a shock. This was my first Tepextate, and it lived up to the hype. Batch TPXLE 09-20, 97-Liter batch, Distilled September 2020, bottled July 2021 by Luis Enigue Juarez. ABV 44.3%

NOSE: The first impact was smoke, which dissipated quickly into wet earth or moist dirt. The smoke is like the coals of a camp fire, or an ash tray (but in a good way). Green vegetal.

PALATE: Light burn more of a spiciness, jalapeno, fruit, citrus, complex, a light sweetness, grapefruit ending.

MOUTHFEEL: Very smooth, light, goes down easy.

FINISH: light sweet citrus, very clean.

Just incredible, special and delicious. Where do I go after this? I would love to hear a suggestion from someone on what to try next. My wife also votes five stars. We made a video of our tasting you can see it here: https://youtu.be/_SKX8mFuwiQ

I’m still a rookie but, ok, now I’m truly blown away and believe that mezcal is the nectar of the gods. Right from the first smell of this it was all sort of a shock. This was my first Tepextate, and it lived up to the hype. Batch TPXLE 09-20, 97-Liter batch, Distilled September 2020, bottled July 2021 by Luis Enigue Juarez. ABV 44.3%
NOSE: The first impact was smoke, which dissipated quickly into wet earth or moist dirt. The smoke is like the coals of a camp fire, or an ash tra

Read more

Review this bottle

Login or create an account to add your tasting notes

Back to top