Powered by 100% agave

Aguerrido Cupreata – Don Antonio

Aguerrido Cupreata from Antonio Sonido is made with Agave cupreata in Pantitlán, Guerrero.

Rating: (5 reviews)
Category:Destilado de Agave
Cost:$$$
Brand:Aguerrido Mezcal
Mezcalero:Antonio Sonido
Agave:Cupreata
Milling:Shredder
Distillation:Copper
Style:Aged in Glass
State:Guerrero
Town:Pantitlán
ABV: 47.5%
Age of plant: 9-12 years
Batch size: March 2021 batch: 162 liters
Website: https://www.instagram.com/aguerridomezcal/, opens in new window

About this destilado de agave

Aguerrido Cupreata from Antonio Sonido is made with Agave cupreata in Pantitlán, Guerrero. Don Antonio cooks his agave in a pit oven, mills the cooked agave using a shredder, ferments the agaves with open air yeasts, and double distills in a copper alembic still. Batches will vary based on agave capon time frames and time aging in glass. Check your bottle for details.

Aguerrido Mezcal

Mezcal Aguerrido is a brand that comes from the heart of the state of Guerrero, one of the least represented mezcal producing states due to the difficulties with narco-traffickers in the area. The brand is a union of maestros mezcaleros from Chilapa, Guerrero including Don Refugio, Don Ciro (R.I.P.), Don Tomás, Don Benigno, Dona Gabina, y Don Antonio.

Member rating

3.7 out of 5

5 reviews

Forpowder

Forpowder

96 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars1 month ago

Batch March 2021 47.5% liters 162. Aromas out of the bottle or butterscotch bananas sour roasted agave and some acetone alcohol. Flavors follow very to suit with the aroma very sharp Tangy a lot of slate Rock Whetstone and this flavors linger a long time. This has a certain tanginess to it that is very refreshing. This is turning out to be one of my favorites a lot of slate and wet stone here very clean and approachable. I guess what sometimes I’m looking for is to smell of fresh installed linoleum flooring. If you’re ever to make peppermint Agave candy and throw in a bunch of nail polish this would be it this stuff’s phenomenal the favorite of the bunch. This is really great mezcal but with a little water it really opens up and adds a whole different layer of flavors to it one of the first ones I’ve tried this one because most other ones don’t have the backbone to hold up to a little water really interesting Flavors open up when you delete it just a bit

Batch March 2021 47.5% liters 162. Aromas out of the bottle or butterscotch bananas sour roasted agave and some acetone alcohol. Flavors follow very to suit with the aroma very sharp Tangy a lot of slate Rock Whetstone and this flavors linger a long time. This has a certain tanginess to it that is very refreshing. This is turning out to be one of my favorites a lot of slate and wet stone here very clean and approachable. I guess what sometimes I’m looking for is to smell of fresh installed

Read more
JDB

JDB

172 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars9 months ago

March 10, 2021 47.5% abv Aged in glass for 15 months

I have tried just about all of these Aguerrido releases and really enjoyed them. None has been disappointing and all really shine. Part of what has brought me around about cupreata in general and Guerrero mezcales in particular.

The nose on this one reminded me of fresh cut bamboo and custard or creme brûlée. The flavors had burnt sugar, artificial sweetener, cinnamon syrup, ginger. There are some earthy and vegatal notes as well with a hint of cilantro and mild black pepper heat. Not the chocolate or green onion flavors that I occasionally get with cupreatas, but solid nonetheless. Good value if you can find a bottle under a $100.

March 10, 2021 47.5% abv Aged in glass for 15 months
I have tried just about all of these Aguerrido releases and really enjoyed them. None has been disappointing and all really shine. Part of what has brought me around about cupreata in general and Guerrero mezcales in particular.
The nose on this one reminded me of fresh cut bamboo and custard or creme brûlée. The flavors had burnt sugar, artificial sweetener, cinnamon syrup, ginger. There are some earthy and vegatal notes as wel

Read more
MezcalBabe

MezcalBabe

67 reviews
Rated 2 out of 5 stars10 months ago

Not for me

aarild

aarild

153 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars1 year ago

Very clean cupreata, smells of fresh sugarcane, dust, light smoke. Green chartreuse flavours, cucumber, cocoa nibs — more crisp than most cupreatas I have tried but not thin. Medium mouthfeel, good structure. 2021 batch, 49,7% ABV, 50cl bottle. Not quite the same 2021 batch COak mentioned, seems it was bottled in Europe.

COak

COak

229 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars1 year ago

2021 batch. Been a huge fan of Antonio’s juice, he makes consistent, delicious mezcal, bombed with flavor. This one isn’t too far from his espadin in terms of flavor. I get green apples, hazelnut, and coffee on the palate. It is soft and has delicious dark flavors.

Review this bottle

Login or create an account to add your tasting notes

Back to top