Powered by 100% agave

Aguerrido Cupreata – Don Tomás

Aguerrido Cupreata from Tomás Gutiérrez is produced in Tepehuixco, Guerrero using Agave cupreata.

Rating: (3 reviews)
Category:Destilado de Agave
Cost:$$$
Brand:Aguerrido Mezcal
Mezcalero:Tomás Gutiérrez
Agave:Cupreata
Grind:Shredder
Distillation:Copper
Style:Aged in Glass
State:Guerrero
Town:Tepehuixco
ABV: 46%
Age of plant: 8-14 years
Batch size: June 2017: 107 liters, May 2021: 180 liters
Website: https://www.instagram.com/aguerridomezcal/, opens in new window

About this destilado de agave

Aguerrido Cupreata from Tomás Gutiérrez is produced in Tepehuixco, Guerrero using Agave cupreata. Don Tomás cooks his agave in a pit oven, mills the cooked agave using a shredder, ferments the agaves with open air yeasts, and double distills in a copper alembic still. Batches will vary based on agave capon time frames and time aging in glass. Check your bottle for details.

Aguerrido Mezcal

Mezcal Aguerrido is a brand that comes from the heart of the state of Guerrero, one of the least represented mezcal producing states due to the difficulties with narco-traffickers in the area. The brand is a union of maestros mezcaleros from Chilapa, Guerrero including Don Refugio, Don Ciro (R.I.P.), Don Tomás, Don Benigno, Dona Gabina, y Don Antonio.

Member rating

4.33 out of 5

3 reviews

JDB

JDB

154 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars7 months ago

I sampled the June 2017 batch. I picked up a bottle at Louie’s Liquor in Azusa, CA to share with dear friends on a trip to the Columbia Gorge in Oregon and Washington over the July 4th weekend. Boy that bottle went quick, everyone seemed to enjoy it. I did manage to pour myself a few copitas though, but I did not take great tasting notes for this one. When the bottle was first opened, I noticed how hot it was, but after getting some air, it really mellowed and the flavors come through strongly. Lots of freshly roasted cacao, for me the chocolate note was some of the strongest I have tasted in a mezcal. I also got some mint notes and herbaceous qualities. I would recommend getting a bottle for the price point, affordable at under $100 and has some great flavor and depth.

I sampled the June 2017 batch. I picked up a bottle at Louie’s Liquor in Azusa, CA to share with dear friends on a trip to the Columbia Gorge in Oregon and Washington over the July 4th weekend. Boy that bottle went quick, everyone seemed to enjoy it. I did manage to pour myself a few copitas though, but I did not take great tasting notes for this one. When the bottle was first opened, I noticed how hot it was, but after getting some air, it really mellowed and the flavors come through

Read more
COak

COak

228 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars1 year ago

There are two batches of this out, 2021 and 2017. The 2017 will be pricier.
Batch 2017. This might be the best Aguerrido offering. This has nuance that’s hard to describe, it changes in the bottle. I get creamy coffee notes on the nose and palate. This is also green and tropical. I get some anise flavors as well.

Batch 2021 This is a surface level version of the 2017. It has a shorter finish and the flavors aren’t as pronounced but it’s still delicious.

Jonny

Jonny

696 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars1 year ago

Produced in June 2017 and aged in glass. This is another phenomenal mezcal from Aguerrido. Fruity and slightly creamy aromas. Notes of banana, guava, and cherry pie. The palate is rich with hazelnut, cacao, oak, toasted coconut, and sage. There’s a bit of heat on the finish. Really enjoyable.

Review this bottle

Login or create an account to add your tasting notes

Back to top