Powered by 100% agave

Bozal Cuixe

Bozal Cuixe has rich green vegetal notes in the mouth and a dry smoky finish. It’s made with 100% wild agave Cuixe.

Rating: (8 reviews)
Brand:Bozal Mezcal
NOM:NOM-O363X
Mezcalero:Goyo Garcia Garcia
Agave:Cuishe
Distillation:Copper
Style:Joven
State:Oaxaca
Town:San Luis Amatlan
ABV: 47%
Website: www.3badge.com/bozal/
About this mezcal

Bozal Cuixe is made with 100% wild agave Cuixe in San Luis Amatlan, Oaxaca. Due to the unusual structure of this agave, and it containing a firmer piña, the agave Cuixe can be difficult to harvest and to work with in general.  This mezcal has intense citrus aromas and strong minerality. It’s rather dry on the palate with notes of rich tropical fruit.

Bozal Mezcal

Mezcal Bozal is a craft, artisan, handmade Mezcal. They celebrate the wild side of the Mezcal world and the wild agave used to produce such rich spirits. They use agave from the steep precarious hillsides of Oaxaca and Guerrero that are indigenous to the region. These varietals produce flavors that are exotically intense, with rich earth tones and savory smokiness. From the heart of the maguey these flavors are traditionally extracted to produce mezcal that is wildly refined.

8 reviews

3.5 of out 5 stars


Czequershuus on Jan 16, 2019

1 review

  • Overall:

Lot 00618. The aroma is vibrant, with fruity and floral notes dominating. with green banana, passion fruit, watermelon, carnation, and rose most apparent. The flavor leads with a full but light tinted smoke, with notes of grilled fruit, melon, toasted marshmallow, with a lingering sweet smoke and floral finish. Overall a really nice sipping mezcal – definitely a sweet and fruity expression, but with a lingering quality that makes it rather intriguing.

GreenspointTexas on Nov 8, 2018

68 reviews

  • Overall:

Not overly complex, sweet smell with notes of jalapeno and pepper. Taste is one-note with little to no finish

Patrick on Jul 27, 2018

11 reviews

  • Overall:

Lot: 000316
Nose: starts with some fruits then becomes floral and vegetal, ends with a dusting spices.
Taste: sweet and creamy, herbal with a touch of smoke.
Finish: Dry, slightly smokey and a lingering soapy aftertaste that won’t go away.
Overall, a light and complex sipper. Good value.

StevenGroslouis on Jul 15, 2018

2 reviews

  • Overall:

My favorite so far! I have loved the ensamble Bozal for the after taste but this one speaks to me. It reminds me of so many experiences. To me it smells like going to the pool, it has a nice perfume of cleaning products that is more of a perfume and not chemical at all. It has a strong alcohol feel 5/5 for that nice burn 4/5 for that floral and vegetal taste. Of 3 Bozal’s that was my pick although the price was 130$ whereas the Ensamble was 98$. The Ensamble had a longer finish than this one but the memories this unlocks for me made me buy it.

My favorite so far! I have loved the ensamble Bozal for the after taste but this one speaks to me. It reminds me of so many experiences. To me it smells like going to the pool, it has a nice perfume of cleaning products that is more of a perfume and not chemical at all. It has a strong alcohol feel 5/5 for that nice burn 4/5 for that floral and vegetal taste. Of 3 Bozal’s that was my pick although the price was 130$ whereas the Ensamble was 98$. The Ensamble had a longer finish than this o

Read more

Tequesta on May 20, 2018

11 reviews

  • Overall:

feb 2016 lot #116 Just a hint of smoke with a spicy nose. tastes of mint and slight limestone. nice long finish with a slightly medicinal aftertaste. there is a bite in the back of your throat that shows the 47% alcohol.

Jonny on Jun 12, 2017

265 reviews

  • Overall:

Lot 000216 from Feb 2016. This mezcal is super floral on the nose. It has aromas of tangerine, dandelions, and mango. The palate has a lot of chemical notes. I get chlorine and other cleaning solutions. Also a bit of toothpaste. I prefer the Bozal Ensamble, which is actually cheaper, than the Cuixe. If you can find the Bozal Castilla or the Borrego, I’d also recommend those over this one.

Tyler on Apr 8, 2017

245 reviews

  • Overall:

Agave cuixe makes an interesting mezcal. Bozal Cuixe is light on the palate with bright flavors. There is a perfume spice flavor here and it goes down like velvet with some grape sweetness. The finish is slightly artificial and sour but overall smooth. The price is quite low for a mezcal from agave cuixe.

Chuck Kane on Jan 9, 2017

  • Overall:

Bozal Cuixe is a great sipper. This Mezcal has a very light hint of smoke which let’s the Cuixe’s unique flavors stand out. A light, earthy and floral nose with an Herbaceous and Sweet flavor profile. Finish is clean, this Bozal Cuixe drinks really easy

Write a mezcal review

Login or create an account to add your tasting notes

Follow @mezcalreviews