Powered by 100% agave

Dixeebe Espadin

Dixeebe Espadin releases are limited batches produced by legendary maestro mezcalero Valentin Cortes in Santiago Matatlan, Oaxaca.

Rating: (10 reviews)
Brand:Dixeebe Mezcal
Mezcalero:Valentin Cortes
Maguey:Espadin
Agave:Angustifolia
Grind:Tahona
Distillation:Copper
Style:Joven
State:Oaxaca
Town:Santiago Matatlán
ABV: 52%
Release year: 2022
Website: https://www.mezcaldixeebe.com/, opens in new window

About this mezcal

Dixeebe Espadin is produced by Valentin Cortes in Santiago Matatlan, Oaxaca. The maguey Espadin (Agave angustifolia) used in this mezcal are cooked in an underground pit oven, milled by tahona, and double distilled in a copper still.

Espadin was one of four Dixeebe mezcals released as part of the US launch in March 2022.

Dixeebe Mezcal

Dixeebe Mezcal (pronounced “dee-sh-bay”) is a project from Asis Cortes and his father, Valentin Cortes. Their family has been producing mezcal in the Santiago Matatlán region of Oaxaca for at least 180 years. The two of them are perhaps most well-known in Mexico and internationally for their previous work with Mezcal El Jolgorio and Nuestra Soledad. Asis and Valentin have now moved on from the Casa Cortes brands and are focused on Dixeebe, along with Asis’ brand in Durango: Origen Raiz. Asis and his father decided to launch Dixeebe as a way to reconnect with their past and support their traditions in the future. The brand launched internationally in March 2022 where it is sold in 375ml bottles. Asis had the idea of smaller bottles to make premium mezcal more accessible.

According to the Asis, Dixeebe is a ceremony of honor of respect and love, the purest thanks to culture, their tradition and their ancestors, a great veneration of liquid, a gift from the gods to men, and an offering from men to the gods. To take a deeper dive into the meaning of Dixeebe, check out the video Asis Cortes Explains Dixeebe.

Learn more about Dixeebe:


Full Disclosure: We (the Mezcal Reviews team) are passionate supporters of Asis Cortes and Mezcal Dixeebe. In early 2021, our admiration evolved into a rare opportunity to invest. As small minority stakeholders of Mezcal Dixeebe, we will not publish our personal reviews. We also promise to not showcase the brand in a biased way on this website. Salud and Dixeebe y’all!


Mezcal Dixeebe Espadin bottle

Member rating

4.25 out of 5

10 reviews

Rated 3 out of 5 stars1 month ago

Edition 3 / LOT DVCES-19 / bottle 880 of 2080.

Had high expectations given reviews and the very $$$$ price for a 375ml bottle. Sadly it never really did it for me. It’s interesting. Just not “OMG gotta buy more” for me. As at least one other person has said, never would have pegged this as an espadin if it didn’t say so on the bottle. Not a lot on the nose but first taste is massively fruity, and in fact some kind of tropical fruit that I can’t quite identify. Not hot, not smoky. Short finish. Mouthfeel seemed a little thin to me. Worth trying as it’s quite different and very interesting, but for me personally, not my jam.

Edition 3 / LOT DVCES-19 / bottle 880 of 2080.
Had high expectations given reviews and the very $$$$ price for a 375ml bottle. Sadly it never really did it for me. It’s interesting. Just not “OMG gotta buy more” for me. As at least one other person has said, never would have pegged this as an espadin if it didn’t say so on the bottle. Not a lot on the nose but first taste is massively fruity, and in fact some kind of tropical fruit that I can’t quite identify. Not h

Read more
agavetimes

agavetimes

16 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars1 month ago

Edition 3 and 4 were our favorites so far, each demonstrating the range of expression possible from Espadin in the hands of one of the top mezcaleros, maestro Valentin.

Jori

Jori

52 reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars9 months ago

Edition 5. And it deserves 5 stars
Aroma blew me away. Perhaps the best Espadin I’ve had outside of Santa Catarina Minas.
Fresh roasted, sweet smoky Piñas and either Blue Raspberry or Green apple SweeTarts candy. The sniff of cutting fresh jalapeños in the air.
Tropical and citrus tones, but mainly pure roasted Piña. A light Piloncillo, and a vegetal Green Bell Pepper. A Cachaca vibe somehow.
Only thing I don’t like? The price! I splurged $75cad for the 375ml… but now I gotta get the Cuishe and Madrecuishe too. $75 about to cost +$300
Happy mistake.

Edition 5. And it deserves 5 stars
Aroma blew me away. Perhaps the best Espadin I’ve had outside of Santa Catarina Minas.
Fresh roasted, sweet smoky Piñas and either Blue Raspberry or Green apple SweeTarts candy. The sniff of cutting fresh jalapeños in the air.
Tropical and citrus tones, but mainly pure roasted Piña. A light Piloncillo, and a vegetal Green Bell Pepper. A Cachaca vibe somehow.
Only thing I don’t like? The price! I splurged $75cad for the 375ml… but now I gotta get the Cu

Read more
JDB

JDB

134 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars2 years ago

49% abv, Lot: DVCES-19

Very excited to finally get my hands on a bottle after so much buildup and anticipation. Does not disappoint either. A smooth espadin that has great subtlety and subdued flavors. Lovely sweetness that brings some chocolate flavors along with clove. I do wish the bottles came in 750s rather than 375s, but I realize more juice can get out there and the price point comes down as well. I also tried the madrecuixe and tobalá at a tasting hosted at Maestro in Pasadena, CA with Asis Cortes on March 3, 2022. I did not take tasting notes on those pours but they were also very tasty, especially the madrecuixe to my recollection.

49% abv, Lot: DVCES-19
Very excited to finally get my hands on a bottle after so much buildup and anticipation. Does not disappoint either. A smooth espadin that has great subtlety and subdued flavors. Lovely sweetness that brings some chocolate flavors along with clove. I do wish the bottles came in 750s rather than 375s, but I realize more juice can get out there and the price point comes down as well. I also tried the madrecuixe and tobalá at a tasting hosted at Maestro in Pasadena, CA

Read more
GreenspointTexas

GreenspointTexas

385 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars2 years ago

Blinded, I never would have guessed this is an espadin. More tobla-ish notes of bubblegum and mango. Interesting….

El-Dawg

El-Dawg

198 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars2 years ago

Edition 3 (US bottle).
Buttery and lush with a greenish herbal taste. Sweet and the smoke seems really subdued. Solid espadin, and more like a 3.75.

tallchad

tallchad

99 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars2 years ago

REALLY good espadín! Tasted July 2021 with Asís at his hotel bar. Edición 2. Well balanced, full flavor, strong with a bit of sweetness.
This was a long mezcal-fueled day and I am sure I had some palate fatigue. But when available in the USA I will buy this.

Zack Klamn

Zack Klamn

531 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars3 years ago

Nose – Fluffy vanilla cake.

Palate – Incredibly soft mouth feel. Notes of cheesecake but not too heavy. The sweetness in the finish fades to a savory, almost oyster sauce, and a tasty smoke.

Doesn’t feel like a 52% espadin, it holds the heat well.

Rakhal

Rakhal

410 reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars3 years ago

Batch 2. Excellent Espadin! Fresh herbs like spearmint and tarragon with a delicious umami quality that was salty and savory like fish sauce without the fish.

Gregg T&T

Gregg T&T

100 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars3 years ago

Unmarked 1 liter bottle of 1st edition capon. Savory nose, grilled citrus, tropical fruits, can roast is present. Explosion of bright flavor some herbal notes and a subtle sweetness that moves to a spicy finish, which is moderately complex but hangs on for a long time. Heat is well balanced. Even at 52%, could drink this for days.

Review this bottle

Login or create an account to add your tasting notes

Back to top