Powered by 100% agave

Origen Raiz Durango

Origen Raiz Cenizo is made in the state of Durango by a mezcalero who originally hails from Oaxaca. The ranch where this mezcal is made is at a high elevation and can receive frost during winter.

About this mezcal

Origen Raiz Cenizo is made with agave Cenizo (Durangensis) by mezcalero Ignacio Grijalva Santiago, who is also known as Don Nacho. Though originally from Oaxaca, he moved to Durango with his family to run the palenque at Rancho El Ojo. Cosme Gabriel Simental also helps with the mezcal production. There are also some bottles made by mezcalero Noe Ramirez Varela.  All of the bottles and batches we’ve seen have come from Rancho El Ojo, which is full of wild agave, sotol, and nopal plants. The ranch lies just outside the Sierra de Órganos National Park, at an elevation of approximately 6,350 feet. The agave used in this mezcal are smoked in underground ovens, crushed by mule-drawn tahona, fermented in open-air oak tanks, and double distilled in copper stills.

Origen Raiz del Espiritu Mezcal

Origen Raíz is a partnership between two distinct sets of Mexican roots. The Saravia family of Durango has a long history of working to improve the local economy through business, and the Cortés family of Oaxaca brings six generations of knowledge in mezcal production. The families were brought together by their sons, Asis Cortés and Bildo Saravia, through passion for their culture and respect for their heritage. Asis and his family are widely known for their other brands of Oaxacan-based mezcal: El JolgorioNuestra Soledad, and Agave de Cortes. The family also operates a mezcaleria named Mezcalogia in Oaxaca City.

15 reviews

4.4 of out 5 stars


t8ke

t8ke

72 reviews
4 days ago

Not wildly complex, but interesting. Ashy melons, limes and lemons, paired well with a rich vanilla sweetness. Super unique. Loaded with fruits that I don’t often find in a mezcal.

Gregg T&T

Gregg T&T

30 reviews
2 months ago

Earthy and fresh on the note with notes of sandlewood, licorice and juniper berries. Palate is full of agave notes with hints of citrus and ash. A dry finish that’s unique and enjoyable.

Dylan

Dylan

5 reviews
3 months ago

Batch 31CDIG03, 2017 Edition 9, 496/519. By Ignacio Grivalva. Super sweet nose of vanilla wafers, cherry, hay and brown sugar. Very little smoke with some mint on the palate. Medium finish for this unique mezcal

razorbackmike

razorbackmike

103 reviews
3 months ago

WOW!this is complex and incredible.the nose reminds me of jager.very unique.there is a mix of strong smoke,very sweet tea,beef stew and the finish has a hint of cherry cough syrup.it doesnt sound great in description but it must be sampled to appreciate.incredible bargain.beautiful spirit!

Mansson

Mansson

60 reviews
7 months ago

Edition 03/batch 28CDI617, distilled 2017. Typical green agave notes at the core, surrounded by melon, mineral, wax, vanilla, milk chocolate and butterscotch. Not much smoke. There is a lot of sugar cane sweetness, perhaps a tad too much. Round and balanced, a great dessert mezcal.

10 months ago

Batch 04CDIG0316 Edition 7 2016
Batch size 482 bottles
Really great, and unique mezcal. This is the first Durango I’ve had, and I was surprised at how much rich minerality it had. I see that they bury the pinas under volcanic rock while roasting, and the strong note of wet stone after a hot summer rain is likely a direct result of this. The smoke is strong and forward, but not a big mesquite note, just ash and smoke. There is a soft sweetness at the tip of the tongue, and then a lingering dry finish that reminds me a well executed sauvignon blanc.

Batch 04CDIG0316 Edition 7 2016
Batch size 482 bottles
Really great, and unique mezcal. This is the first Durango I’ve had, and I was surprised at how much rich minerality it had. I see that they bury the pinas under volcanic rock while roasting, and the strong note of wet stone after a hot summer rain is likely a direct result of this. The smoke is strong and forward, but not a big mesquite note, just ash and smoke. There is a soft sweetness at the tip of the tongue, and then a lingering

Read more
Nic Hnastchenko

Nic Hnastchenko

102 reviews
1 year ago

Unique. Nice bite, and a little bit funky. Enjoyed this.

jgerdes

jgerdes

7 reviews
1 year ago

2017 edition 3.

Bottle 183/711

Very different. Another reviewer mentioned the Islay of Mezcal. I would agree, not necessarily due to smokeyness (although it is there), but more the iodine/menthal/leather note. There is some sweetness here too.

GreenspointTexas

GreenspointTexas

170 reviews
1 year ago

Different. A bubble gum mezcal, if you will. Not much smoke, but some fruit and some definite cheese/funk. Still not sure what score to give this. Everytime i sip, i get something different. Solid at the very least

thamthong

thamthong

47 reviews
2 years ago

edition 4, batch 30CDI617, ‘17, bottle 273/721. islay mezcal. well, relative to the other stuff i’ve been drinking, this is pretty aggressively smokey. campfire, vegetable ash, waxy fruit, savory minerality, medicinal and slightly bitter finish. reminds me of ardbeg. big, bold, tasty. the end of the dram was considerably less smoke-forward.

COak

COak

87 reviews
2 years ago

Smells of bubble gum and tastes of sugar cane. This is a special mezcal. I will be looking out for this when I’m traveling to Oaxaca.

Tyler

Tyler

373 reviews
2 years ago

Origen Raiz from Durango is one of the most unique mezcals I’ve ever tasted. At Mezcalogia in Oaxaca, I picked up a bottle of edition Cenizo-01 from 2015 that was produced by Noé Ramírez Varela. It’s almost like a fine cologne turned into an incredible mezcal. There are notes of melon, clove, cognac, and lavender. It is a bit hard to describe but very enjoyable. It is unlike any other mezcal from Durango I’ve tasted, but oddly enough reminds me a bit of the El Jolgorio Coyote.

Origen Raiz from Durango is one of the most unique mezcals I’ve ever tasted. At Mezcalogia in Oaxaca, I picked up a bottle of edition Cenizo-01 from 2015 that was produced by Noé Ramírez Varela. It’s almost like a fine cologne turned into an incredible mezcal. There are notes of melon, clove, cognac, and lavender. It is a bit hard to describe but very enjoyable. It is unlike any other mezcal from Durango I’ve tasted, but oddly enough reminds me a bit of the El Jolgorio Coyot

Read more
Jonny

Jonny

393 reviews
2 years ago

Lot 01CDBS15 from 2015. Edition Cenizo – 15. Bottle 55/2000 from producer Nor Ramirez Varela. 48% ABV. Aromas of milk chocolate and fresh cherries. Super rounded in the mouth. No harshness whatsoever with lots of notes of sugar cane. Very agave forward and sugary. This had been sitting in the closet for almost a year after initially opening it. Perhaps the additional aging helped it a bit, but it is absolutely incredible.

Bildo

Bildo

1 review
2 years ago

I am proud to work hand and hand with the cortes famili Asís and I had the oportunity off meeting when I was thieir importer in australia back in 2013 when we had the oportunity of introduction el Jolgorio and Nuestra Soledad to the aussies, it all about caring and respecting the proces all we did take care of the land and love and respect to proces itself it unique what we got …

c_woodger

c_woodger

4 reviews
2 years ago

WOW. Durango juice made by Oaxacan hands!!! I came across this Mezcal whilst in Oaxaca in Asis’s bar Mezcalogia. Great balance to this Mezcal as you would expect. Subtle charred oak smokiness, minerality lots of vanilla and caramel with lingering citrus notes. A little short on the finish but a great expression of Cenizo.

Review this bottle

Login or create an account to add your tasting notes

Back to top