Powered by 100% agave

Origen Raiz Durango

Origen Raiz Cenizo is made in the state of Durango by a mezcalero who originally hails from Oaxaca. The ranch where this mezcal is made is at a high elevation and can receive frost during winter.

About this mezcal

Origen Raiz Cenizo is made with maguey Cenizo (agave Durangensis) by mezcalero Ignacio Grijalva Santiago, who is also known as Don Nacho. Though originally from Oaxaca, he moved to Durango with his family to run the palenque at Rancho El Ojo. Cosme Gabriel Simental also helps with the mezcal production. There are also some bottles made by mezcalero Noe Ramirez Varela.  All of the bottles and batches we’ve seen have come from Rancho El Ojo, which is full of wild agave, sotol, and nopal plants. The ranch lies just outside the Sierra de Órganos National Park, at an elevation of approximately 6,350 feet. The agave used in this mezcal are smoked in underground ovens, crushed by mule-drawn tahona, fermented in open-air oak tanks, and double distilled in copper stills.

Origen Raiz del Espiritu Mezcal

Origen Raíz is a partnership between two distinct sets of Mexican roots. The Saravia family of Durango has a long history of working to improve the local economy through business, and the Cortés family of Oaxaca brings six generations of knowledge in mezcal production. The families were brought together by their sons, Asis Cortés and Bildo Saravia, through passion for their culture and respect for their heritage. Asis and his family are widely known for their other brands of Oaxacan-based mezcal: El JolgorioNuestra Soledad, and Agave de Cortes. The family also operates a mezcaleria named Mezcalogia in Oaxaca City.

21 reviews

4.29 out of 5


BesoMezcal

BesoMezcal

13 reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars2 days ago

One of my favorites from Durango – green apple/pear/spice – find myself wanting to finish the bottle every time I take a sip. A more subtle/complex Cenzio expression and very different from other mezcals in the region. This is another bottle I always have on hand to share and its always a big hit!

TheAuditor

TheAuditor

33 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars3 months ago

Batch: 14ACDI60118

ABV: 48%

Nose: Green vegetalness, slight lactic acid, salt, light pear, bubblegum, strawberry,

Palate: Medium, oily mouthfeel. Bright, vegetal, light pear, strawberry, brine, nutmeg, light ash, cream cheese funk.

Finish: Long, warm and dry. Strong green vegetals, brine, strawberry, allspice, smoked pork.

I really like this. It has a nice funkiness of flavors going on in it that seem to compliment each other very well. I know I wish I had a full bottle of this instead of this small sample, but this scratches my itch for a fruity, funky, slightly meaty mezcal.

Batch: 14ACDI60118
ABV: 48%
Nose: Green vegetalness, slight lactic acid, salt, light pear, bubblegum, strawberry,
Palate: Medium, oily mouthfeel. Bright, vegetal, light pear, strawberry, brine, nutmeg, light ash, cream cheese funk.
Finish: Long, warm and dry. Strong green vegetals, brine, strawberry, allspice, smoked pork.
I really like this. It has a nice funkiness of flavors going on in it that seem to compliment each other very well. I know I wish I had a full bottle of this instead of this s

Read more
BuffPhysics

BuffPhysics

11 reviews
Rated 2.5 out of 5 stars3 months ago

Mezcal Review #8 – Origen Raiz “Del Espiritu”
Agave: Cenizo
Mezcalero: Ignacio Grijalva Paulino, Ignacio Grijalva Santiago, and Noe Ramirez Varela
Region: Nombre de Dios, Tuitan – Durango
Still Type: Copper Pot
48% ABV

Additional Info: A sample of this came with the last maguey melate box. Interesting stuff, as the agave type and region that aren’t very common.

Nose: Fruity bubblegum, lime, and mint. A little hoppy, a touch smoky, and a wee bit coconutty.

Taste: Starts out savory, which is interesting after that sweet nose. Then takes a turn – vanilla ice cream, cantaloupe, lemon juice, and smoke. Sort of a sweetened Kilkerran 12 y.o., but with the volume turned out. The notes here are nice but they aren’t very strong.

Finish: Cooling and minty. Smoke, white pepper, and asparagus.

Notes: Well, it’s certainly unique. A lot of notes here that I’ve never had in mezcal before, I just wish it was a little louder. The palate especially is disappointingly thin, and air didn’t really seem to help. Maybe other batches are better.

Score: 5/10

1 | Disgusting | So bad I poured it out.
2 | Poor | I wouldn’t consume by choice.
3 | Bad | Multiple flaws.
4 | Sub-par | Not bad, but better exists.
5 | Good | Good, just fine.
6 | Very Good | A cut above.
7 | Great | Well above average
8 | Excellent | Really quite exceptional.
9 | Incredible | An all time favorite
10 | Perfect | Perfect

Next Up: Maguey Melate Club Pick July 2020 – Tobasiche

Mezcal Review #8 – Origen Raiz “Del Espiritu”
Agave: Cenizo
Mezcalero: Ignacio Grijalva Paulino, Ignacio Grijalva Santiago, and Noe Ramirez Varela
Region: Nombre de Dios, Tuitan – Durango
Still Type: Copper Pot
48% ABV
Additional Info: A sample of this came with the last maguey melate box. Interesting stuff, as the agave type and region that aren’t very common.
Nose: Fruity bubblegum, lime, and mint. A little hoppy, a touch smoky, and a wee bit coconutty.
Taste: Starts out savory

Read more
SwatSaladin

SwatSaladin

18 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars4 months ago

Batch: 14ACDIG0118

Sugarcane, white flowers, and some muted minerality on the nose. The palate is raw celery or maybe melon rind, blueberry, and strawberry starburst. This is way more flavorful than I expected, with a candy-like sweet berry flavor. A funky lactic influence appears in the finish, which takes a turn for the green and herbaceous. The candy-like sweetness makes it all the way to the finish line and lingers.

I didn’t care much for this when I first tried it years ago, but I’m really enjoying this now that I’m trying it again for the first time in quite a while. It’s supremely well-balanced, and on the lighter and more elegant side of the flavor spectrum (of which I am a big fan).

Batch: 14ACDIG0118
Sugarcane, white flowers, and some muted minerality on the nose. The palate is raw celery or maybe melon rind, blueberry, and strawberry starburst. This is way more flavorful than I expected, with a candy-like sweet berry flavor. A funky lactic influence appears in the finish, which takes a turn for the green and herbaceous. The candy-like sweetness makes it all the way to the finish line and lingers.
I didn’t care much for this when I first tried it years ago, but I’m rea

Read more
Rakhal

Rakhal

182 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars4 months ago

Batch 14ACDIG0118. 50ml sample from Maguey Melate. I bought a bottle of this from the first batch to come to the USA and this batch is quite a bit different, in a good way! Initial rye whiskey sweetness and full mouthfeel, then strong anise flavor, then into rye whiskey spice, leather, sandlewood, oak barrel, burnt vanilla, and brandied cherry. I am definitely buying a bottle of this!

El-Dawg

El-Dawg

44 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars5 months ago

Very unique! I wish I had more to try than just the 50ml bottle. Great smell with a wild taste. Is that grapes (or grape medicinal syrup maybe)? Overall really good, and leaves a full mouth feel and finish. This is my first cenizo as well, so definitely excited about trying more of these agave types (and first agave from Durango).

t8ke

t8ke

90 reviews
Rated 3 out of 5 stars5 months ago

Not wildly complex, but interesting. Ashy melons, limes and lemons, paired well with a rich vanilla sweetness. Super unique. Loaded with fruits that I don’t often find in a mezcal.

Gregg T&T

Gregg T&T

57 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars7 months ago

Earthy and fresh on the note with notes of sandlewood, licorice and juniper berries. Palate is full of agave notes with hints of citrus and ash. A dry finish that’s unique and enjoyable.

Dylan

Dylan

7 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars7 months ago

Batch 31CDIG03, 2017 Edition 9, 496/519. By Ignacio Grivalva. Super sweet nose of vanilla wafers, cherry, hay and brown sugar. Very little smoke with some mint on the palate. Medium finish for this unique mezcal

razorbackmike

razorbackmike

113 reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars8 months ago

WOW!this is complex and incredible.the nose reminds me of jager.very unique.there is a mix of strong smoke,very sweet tea,beef stew and the finish has a hint of cherry cough syrup.it doesnt sound great in description but it must be sampled to appreciate.incredible bargain.beautiful spirit!

Mansson

Mansson

71 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars11 months ago

Edition 03/batch 28CDI617, distilled 2017. Typical green agave notes at the core, surrounded by melon, mineral, wax, vanilla, milk chocolate and butterscotch. Not much smoke. There is a lot of sugar cane sweetness, perhaps a tad too much. Round and balanced, a great dessert mezcal.

Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars1 year ago

Batch 04CDIG0316 Edition 7 2016
Batch size 482 bottles
Really great, and unique mezcal. This is the first Durango I’ve had, and I was surprised at how much rich minerality it had. I see that they bury the pinas under volcanic rock while roasting, and the strong note of wet stone after a hot summer rain is likely a direct result of this. The smoke is strong and forward, but not a big mesquite note, just ash and smoke. There is a soft sweetness at the tip of the tongue, and then a lingering dry finish that reminds me a well executed sauvignon blanc.

Batch 04CDIG0316 Edition 7 2016
Batch size 482 bottles
Really great, and unique mezcal. This is the first Durango I’ve had, and I was surprised at how much rich minerality it had. I see that they bury the pinas under volcanic rock while roasting, and the strong note of wet stone after a hot summer rain is likely a direct result of this. The smoke is strong and forward, but not a big mesquite note, just ash and smoke. There is a soft sweetness at the tip of the tongue, and then a lingering

Read more
Nic Hnastchenko

Nic Hnastchenko

102 reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars1 year ago

Unique. Nice bite, and a little bit funky. Enjoyed this.

jgerdes

jgerdes

7 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars2 years ago

2017 edition 3.

Bottle 183/711

Very different. Another reviewer mentioned the Islay of Mezcal. I would agree, not necessarily due to smokeyness (although it is there), but more the iodine/menthal/leather note. There is some sweetness here too.

GreenspointTexas

GreenspointTexas

200 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars2 years ago

Different. A bubble gum mezcal, if you will. Not much smoke, but some fruit and some definite cheese/funk. Still not sure what score to give this. Everytime i sip, i get something different. Solid at the very least

thamthong

thamthong

47 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars2 years ago

edition 4, batch 30CDI617, ‘17, bottle 273/721. islay mezcal. well, relative to the other stuff i’ve been drinking, this is pretty aggressively smokey. campfire, vegetable ash, waxy fruit, savory minerality, medicinal and slightly bitter finish. reminds me of ardbeg. big, bold, tasty. the end of the dram was considerably less smoke-forward.

COak

COak

96 reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars2 years ago

Smells of bubble gum and tastes of sugar cane. This is a special mezcal. I will be looking out for this when I’m traveling to Oaxaca.

Tyler

Tyler

404 reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars3 years ago

Origen Raiz from Durango is one of the most unique mezcals I’ve ever tasted. At Mezcalogia in Oaxaca, I picked up a bottle of edition Cenizo-01 from 2015 that was produced by Noé Ramírez Varela. It’s almost like a fine cologne turned into an incredible mezcal. There are notes of melon, clove, cognac, and lavender. It is a bit hard to describe but very enjoyable. It is unlike any other mezcal from Durango I’ve tasted, but oddly enough reminds me a bit of the El Jolgorio Coyote.

Origen Raiz from Durango is one of the most unique mezcals I’ve ever tasted. At Mezcalogia in Oaxaca, I picked up a bottle of edition Cenizo-01 from 2015 that was produced by Noé Ramírez Varela. It’s almost like a fine cologne turned into an incredible mezcal. There are notes of melon, clove, cognac, and lavender. It is a bit hard to describe but very enjoyable. It is unlike any other mezcal from Durango I’ve tasted, but oddly enough reminds me a bit of the El Jolgorio Coyot

Read more
Jonny

Jonny

436 reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars3 years ago

Lot 01CDBS15 from 2015. Edition Cenizo – 15. Bottle 55/2000 from producer Nor Ramirez Varela. 48% ABV. Aromas of milk chocolate and fresh cherries. Super rounded in the mouth. No harshness whatsoever with lots of notes of sugar cane. Very agave forward and sugary. This had been sitting in the closet for almost a year after initially opening it. Perhaps the additional aging helped it a bit, but it is absolutely incredible.

Bildo

Bildo

1 review
Rated 5 out of 5 stars3 years ago

I am proud to work hand and hand with the cortes famili Asís and I had the oportunity off meeting when I was thieir importer in australia back in 2013 when we had the oportunity of introduction el Jolgorio and Nuestra Soledad to the aussies, it all about caring and respecting the proces all we did take care of the land and love and respect to proces itself it unique what we got …

c_woodger

c_woodger

4 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars3 years ago

WOW. Durango juice made by Oaxacan hands!!! I came across this Mezcal whilst in Oaxaca in Asis’s bar Mezcalogia. Great balance to this Mezcal as you would expect. Subtle charred oak smokiness, minerality lots of vanilla and caramel with lingering citrus notes. A little short on the finish but a great expression of Cenizo.

Review this bottle

Login or create an account to add your tasting notes

Back to top