Powered by 100% agave

Origen Raiz Espadin Chacaleño

Origen Raiz Espadin Chacaleño is made with maguey Chacaleño by Carlos Angulo Rios in El Platanar, Durango.

About this mezcal

Origen Raiz Espadin Chacaleño is made with maguey Chacaleño (Agave angustifolia). According to Asis Cortes, who is one of the brand owners, the Consejo Regulador del Mezcal that certifies mezcal required the brand to add Espadin to the title of this release, but this name is not used at all locally. The local producers simply refer to this as maguey Chacaleño. While this is an Agave angustifolia, it varies a great deal from the maguey Espadin that you’d find in Oaxaca.

Origen Raiz del Espiritu Mezcal

Origen Raíz is a partnership between two distinct sets of Mexican roots. The Saravia family of Durango has a long history of working to improve the local economy through business, and the Cortés family of Oaxaca brings six generations of knowledge in mezcal production. The families were brought together by their sons, Asis Cortés and Bildo Saravia, through passion for their culture and respect for their heritage. Asis is well known for some of his other projects like Mezcal Dixeebe, and he was previously involved with his family’s other brands of Oaxacan-based mezcal: El JolgorioNuestra Soledad, and Agave de Cortes. The family also operates a mezcaleria named Mezcalogia and Asis has a restaurant named Puro Burro in Oaxaca City.

Member rating

3.63 out of 5

8 reviews

Jam

Jam

156 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars11 months ago

Lot CA07C08, 50.1% abv

Review #14: lots of imagery of rain. Petrichor, wet leaves, wet rocks, being in a forest, vegetal. Has this overall mustiness to it. Smell is reminiscent of being on a boat. It does turn sweet mid palate with fresh light fruits like apple. Then a smoked woody finish. This is very unique and while it’s not something I would normally reach for, it has something special with that rain smell that ties everything together

Forpowder

Forpowder

95 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars1 year ago

Batch CA01C03 YEAR 2019 EDITION 002 BOTTLE 082/084 48%. Aromas out of the bottle or alcohol and smoke very mellow though lots of leather and Cedar just love the smell. Wow it smells great! Flavors well I am just loving it Cedar mouth coating alcohol desert smoke. Sweet and smooth. Old wood and leather dirt sweetness this one’s just blowing my mind reminds me of a fine fine elay scotch that cost a lot of money! This is why I switch from Scotch to Mezcal everything scotch has but with the agave flavors. Love this one! This bottle is aired out for a few days and it’s just amazing it is so smooth and creamy no harshness just amazing smoke flavors

Batch CA01C03 YEAR 2019 EDITION 002 BOTTLE 082/084 48%. Aromas out of the bottle or alcohol and smoke very mellow though lots of leather and Cedar just love the smell. Wow it smells great! Flavors well I am just loving it Cedar mouth coating alcohol desert smoke. Sweet and smooth. Old wood and leather dirt sweetness this one’s just blowing my mind reminds me of a fine fine elay scotch that cost a lot of money! This is why I switch from Scotch to Mezcal everything scotch has but with the a

Read more
Jonny

Jonny

708 reviews
Rated 3 out of 5 stars1 year ago

Aromas of sandalwood, cedar, red Tootsie Pops, artificial cherry scent, and a bit of spearmint. The palate is almost musty in flavor, like an old book that spent years in a wet cellar. There’s a bit of cracked pepper, shellfish, and new leather as well. This complex, and I can see why others may enjoy it, but it’s just not my jam.

GreenspointTexas

GreenspointTexas

385 reviews
Rated 3 out of 5 stars3 years ago

Its not what im used to. Pretty peppery like Greg said. Dunno if time is going to help this one. Not really feeling this one. Will have to re-evaluate. Also, nose is briney/pickle-ish and taste has none of that. Odd

Gregg T&T

Gregg T&T

100 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars3 years ago

Edition 1 254/1040 Lote CA03C05 Citrus pith, fresh linen scented candle and mint. Sage, anise, sandal wood and cracked pepper with a dry body

SoloAgave

SoloAgave

86 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars3 years ago

Had this at Puro Burro as part of an Origen Raiz tasting of their new lineup. This was from the first edition and although I didn’t want to buy a whole bottle if you’re looking for a truly unique expression with no real equal in mezcal – look no further. Hard to write this review – I was stumped but there was a chalky/sage/chaparral/mint profile and for lack of a better term it just tasted old (in a good way). I’m excited to revisit this in the future when it’s released more widely in the US.

Had this at Puro Burro as part of an Origen Raiz tasting of their new lineup. This was from the first edition and although I didn’t want to buy a whole bottle if you’re looking for a truly unique expression with no real equal in mezcal – look no further. Hard to write this review – I was stumped but there was a chalky/sage/chaparral/mint profile and for lack of a better term it just tasted old (in a good way). I’m excited to revisit this in the future when it’

Read more
Zack Klamn

Zack Klamn

542 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars3 years ago

Nose: Dusty. Pineapple sweetness and very little smoke.

Palate: Mint leaves. Leather. Oddly picking up a hint of shrimp shells. Long, somewhat spicy finish.

Tastes like a quality espadin but a tad more of an herbal profile. I dig it!

Rakhal

Rakhal

421 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars3 years ago

Very aromatic. Sandalwood, incense, dusty sidewalk, and brandied cherries. Very interesting and tasty Mezcal from the Golden Triangle of Durango, Chihuahua, and Sinaloa.

Review this bottle

Login or create an account to add your tasting notes

Back to top