Powered by 100% agave

Origen Raiz Con Pecho de Venado

Origen Raiz Con Pecho de Venado is made with maguey cenizo (Agave durangensis) that is distilled with deer meat and seasonal fruits

About this mezcal

Origen Raiz Con Pecho de Venado is made with maguey cenizo (Agave durangensis) that is distilled with deer meat and seasonal fruits. The tradition of Pechuga mezcal is rich in Oaxaca and this mezcal is an illustration of that tradition brought to Durango by maestro mezcalero Valentin Cortes.

Origen Raiz del Espiritu Mezcal

Origen Raíz is a partnership between two distinct sets of Mexican roots. The Saravia family of Durango has a long history of working to improve the local economy through business, and the Cortés family of Oaxaca brings six generations of knowledge in mezcal production. The families were brought together by their sons, Asis Cortés and Bildo Saravia, through passion for their culture and respect for their heritage. Asis is well known for some of his other projects like Mezcal Dixeebe, and he was previously involved with his family’s other brands of Oaxacan-based mezcal: El JolgorioNuestra Soledad, and Agave de Cortes. The family also operates a mezcaleria named Mezcalogia and Asis has a restaurant named Puro Burro in Oaxaca City.

7 reviews

4.07 out of 5

El-Dawg

El-Dawg

156 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars6 months ago

Batch: BODDVC12, Edition 3, 2020.
Subtle pechuga smell – some light citrus, sweet, buttery notes. Solid smell. Taste has strong smoke throughout – viscosity is great, but a bit hot. Cenizo maguey definitely comes through. Some lime in the finish. Good, but not great by pechuga standards. 3.75
Review #137

GreenspointTexas

GreenspointTexas

358 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars1 year ago

Maybe its just my palate, but I like my pechugas to punch me in the face. This one is more like a slight breeze. Its fine, but I was shocked to find that this was a venison pechuga. Some cilantro and rhubarb, but other than that, a standard cenizo.

SoloAgave

SoloAgave

85 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars1 year ago

Another really new approach that has me looking to get another shot at this bottle. Lots of flavors going on here but I got sweet orange, apple, nuts, earthy, rich, sage, and of course a little dry gamey taste from the deer. Pretty pricy but memorable and worth trying if you get the opportunity.

TzotollineRaramuri

TzotollineRaramuri

75 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars1 year ago

Batch 71DPVC12 – 2019.
Bottle 121/160.
?- clear
?- drying impact.
Aromas of wax, wool, golden raisins, peach, candied tropical fruits, berries, cherry brandy.
Adequate & complex production.
Average length and fine character.
?- coating & astringent effect; sufficient smoothened rough alcohol; medium-full body.
Primarily sour, sour and bitter taste; buttery smoothness.
Flavors of venison, fruit, ginger, pepper, wax.
Concentrated flavor intensity, slight complex character, harmonious balance.
Straightforward and very long finish.
Very Good to Excellent overall impression.

*Very nicely balanced, very interesting profile. Does have savory notes, but are intermingled with a surprising funky wax-like character. Will revisit.

Learn more about organoleptic evaluation at the International Wine & Spirits Guild’s seminar in Fine Spirits,
or more on Agave Spirits certifications through the Agave Spirits Institute.

Batch 71DPVC12 – 2019.
Bottle 121/160.
?- clear
?- drying impact.
Aromas of wax, wool, golden raisins, peach, candied tropical fruits, berries, cherry brandy.
Adequate & complex production.
Average length and fine character.
?- coating & astringent effect; sufficient smoothened rough alcohol; medium-full body.
Primarily sour, sour and bitter taste; buttery smoothness.
Flavors of venison, fruit, ginger, pepper, wax.
Concentrated flavor intensity, slight complex character, harmonious

Read more
Tyler

Tyler

574 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars1 year ago

Orange soda. Orange peel beef. Charred citrus peels. Definitely want to revisit this one. Edition 01 from 2018. Bottle 74/167.

Zack Klamn

Zack Klamn

421 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars1 year ago

Nose: Sprite soda. Gentle smoke. A touch of venison.

Palate: Lean, wild meat which is dynamite with the smoke. Spicy and the right amount of heat. Couldn’t put my finger on the finish until I read Rakhal’s review below – roasted sunflower seeds – spot on! A long, lingering salty and somewhat buttery aftertaste.

Wow…incredible pechuga!

Rakhal

Rakhal

361 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars1 year ago

This is my favorite expression from Origen Raiz. It’s really interesting and I need to get a bottle to explore it more. My first impression was of burning sage like at a ceremony, also leather, roasted sunflower seeds, and it also tastes like the smell of walking through chaparral. This is a special Mezcal.

Review this bottle

Login or create an account to add your tasting notes

Back to top