Powered by 100% agave

El Silencio Espadin

El Silencio Espadin is handmade in small batches, and is designed for high-end use in mixology. If you’re looking for a good mixer, this might be it.

About this mezcal

El Silencio Espadin is made with agave Espadin from master mezcalero Pedro Hernandez. It’s handmade in small batches, and is designed for high-end use in mixology. It’s ok as a sipping mezcal, but it’s really made to be used in mixed drinks. Interestingly, this mezcal’s black bottle is inspired by “Barro Negro” pottery. It’s made in 100% black glass with a matte finish to maintain the look and feel of the traditional pottery style from the original “black clay” of the Monte Alban period.

El Silencio Mezcal

El Silencio is a Los Angeles-based craft mezcal label whose product is produced in San Baltazar Guelavila, Oaxaca by Pedro Hernández, a ninth-generation Maestro Mezcalero. As an organic Mezcal, they use only the finest and carefully selected 10-12 year old Espadin agaves. Their products are handmade in small batches. Like other artisanal Mezcals, El Silencio’s production does not involve any additives or industrial processes.

In April 2019, Constellation Brands took a minority stake in El Silencio. Constellation Brands is one of the largest beer companies in the United States; the company also has a significant stake in Canopy Growth, a publicly traded cannabis company.

 

Black Magic – The Demon Bartender

Member rating

2.5 out of 5

23 reviews

DC47

DC47

1 review
Rated 1 out of 5 stars5 months ago

Disappointing. The best is the price.

GMAD

GMAD

91 reviews
Rated 2.5 out of 5 stars5 months ago

LOTE 0222A, 43%, 50ml

Nose – Sweet and synthetic; rubbing alcohol, windex, hobby glue, some fresh cut grass, and morning dew.

Palate – Very sweet, fruity, and a bit smoky. Emphasis on the sweet. Barbecue sauce, sugar cane, honey, and a ripe sweetness, like grape.

Finish – A deep, tangy sweetness; brown sugar, cough syrup.

This has a fairly pleasant taste. It would probably work great as a mixer. However it tastes so sweet you’d suspect there was something artificial in it. I wouldn’t consider this as a sipper for that reason. But I can see this being great as an entry level Espadin for those newbies with sweeter palates.

LOTE 0222A, 43%, 50ml
Nose – Sweet and synthetic; rubbing alcohol, windex, hobby glue, some fresh cut grass, and morning dew.
Palate – Very sweet, fruity, and a bit smoky. Emphasis on the sweet. Barbecue sauce, sugar cane, honey, and a ripe sweetness, like grape.
Finish – A deep, tangy sweetness; brown sugar, cough syrup.
This has a fairly pleasant taste. It would probably work great as a mixer. However it tastes so sweet you’d suspect there was something artificial in it

Read more
Chad W.

Chad W.

11 reviews
Rated 2 out of 5 stars1 year ago

Not sure of lot #

Nose is ethanol and artificial sweetener

Taste is smoke up front, artificial Liquorice and some chocolate undertones. Finishes again with smoke. Would be decent for a paloma but not my choice of a sipper.

MezPal20

MezPal20

11 reviews
Rated 3 out of 5 stars1 year ago

A mild fruity nose, with notes of honeydew melon, citrus peel, and a little pineapple. There’s the classic wet slate note, no funky cheeses (if anything cream cheese), some cucumber, a touch of anise seed, and just a whisp of smoke. Clean and sweet on the tongue, there’s light agave syrup, spicy cinnamon, a suggestion of licorice, and slight mineral oil, but not much else. Light to medium bodied, it forms a nice tight beaded skirt in the glass with sparse scattered legs. The finish is quite dry, with more slate, green grassy, almost woody notes, some lingering sweetness, a pinch of mint, and a hint of smoked pepper that’s almost peat like. Overall, it’s very mild, clean, and enjoyable though lacking depth and character in the taste. However, the finish overstays it’s welcome with nothing but the somewhat unpleasant taste of green wood lasting on and on.

Nose: 7
Taste: 6
Body: 6
Finish: 5

A mild fruity nose, with notes of honeydew melon, citrus peel, and a little pineapple. There’s the classic wet slate note, no funky cheeses (if anything cream cheese), some cucumber, a touch of anise seed, and just a whisp of smoke. Clean and sweet on the tongue, there’s light agave syrup, spicy cinnamon, a suggestion of licorice, and slight mineral oil, but not much else. Light to medium bodied, it forms a nice tight beaded skirt in the glass with sparse scattered legs. The finish is quite

Read more
bluImbibe

bluImbibe

40 reviews
Rated 1 out of 5 stars2 years ago

LOTE: 2120
Depending on what you’re looking for in mezcal this may be for you, but I drink mezcal for its complex flavors and the fact that it is an incredibly labor intensive and culturally rich spirit. This is not that.
If you want to be able to say you like mezcal but actually just want to just drink margaritas all day this would be perfect for you.
When I crack open the bottle I get a thin layer of smoke and what reminds me of raw agave but overall comes off as clean. The palate reflects this and punches you with smoke but offers little complexity.

LOTE: 2120
Depending on what you’re looking for in mezcal this may be for you, but I drink mezcal for its complex flavors and the fact that it is an incredibly labor intensive and culturally rich spirit. This is not that.
If you want to be able to say you like mezcal but actually just want to just drink margaritas all day this would be perfect for you.
When I crack open the bottle I get a thin layer of smoke and what reminds me of raw agave but overall comes off as clean. The palate reflec

Read more
Will

Will

13 reviews
Rated 3 out of 5 stars2 years ago

Lot: 0422
Beautiful bottle at a very approachable price point. Kind of a syrupy caramel scent with a very smokey, earthy taste. Not too complex but could be great in mixed drinks if you’re looking for a smokey taste to come through. Because of the bottle and price point, this is probably going to be a staple on my shelf.

yoni

yoni

5 reviews
Rated 3 out of 5 stars2 years ago

0216 Lacks complexity. but had a nice aroma of cream cheese. Has sweetness and smokiness, but nothing stands out much, some pineapple. Like many of the others in this range, it would be good in cocktails. As a sipper? not so much.

SoloAgave

SoloAgave

86 reviews
Rated 2.5 out of 5 stars3 years ago

Cool bottle, low cost, and common at liquor stores/bars. Never been a fan of this for sipping but their aim is cocktails so its perfectly suited to that space and works great for palomas/margaritas/etc. In cocktails I’d have no problem getting a bottle of this and the black bottle looks cool so you can impress your friends.

Justin.Anderson3

Justin.Anderson3

14 reviews
Rated 1 out of 5 stars3 years ago

Picked this up in the duty free because it was reasonably priced. You get what you pay for I guess. Just another generic mezcal full of smoke and band aid. Trash.

thomaselliott

thomaselliott

14 reviews
Rated 3 out of 5 stars3 years ago

Lote: 3119

A very reasonable Espadin with terrific smokey flavour. Nothing remarkable on the nose aside from an expected vegetal/smokiness. This is good but it’s not exceptional. If you needed mezcal for a mixer this fits the price and the quality for mixing into cocktails. As a sipper, this is mediocre.

I appreciate the bottle size as it fits into my liquor cabinet. Other mezcal in taller bottles never fit. This fits in perfect with bourbons and rum and other mixers.

I’d be interested to know more about the production process and the wood used in roasting the agave, and whether it’s consistent between batches

Lote: 3119
A very reasonable Espadin with terrific smokey flavour. Nothing remarkable on the nose aside from an expected vegetal/smokiness. This is good but it’s not exceptional. If you needed mezcal for a mixer this fits the price and the quality for mixing into cocktails. As a sipper, this is mediocre.
I appreciate the bottle size as it fits into my liquor cabinet. Other mezcal in taller bottles never fit. This fits in perfect with bourbons and rum and other mixers.
I’d be

Read more
Leif

Leif

8 reviews
Rated 1.5 out of 5 stars3 years ago

Not a fan

wBuchanan

wBuchanan

1 review
Rated 5 out of 5 stars3 years ago

I prefer an Espadin Mezcal to be heavy on the smokiness – this has been my favorite to date. My palate has not included Mezcal above a $60 price point – so take my review with that in mind. I recently did a blind taste test with this and three other similarly priced Espadin Mezcal and this tasted worlds above the other two in smoothness.

Zack Klamn

Zack Klamn

542 reviews
Rated 2 out of 5 stars4 years ago

Lote: 2419
Nose: Smoky and light fruitiness.

Palate: Extremely smoky the whole ride – apple sweetness with it to start. Mouth feel is a tad slick. Vapory finish of smoldering brake pads and clay minerality.

It takes a few pulls to get used to the aggressive smoke but when you get there it’s better.

Samhain

Samhain

9 reviews
Rated 2 out of 5 stars4 years ago

Fruity and some smoke on the nose. Pretty oily, flavorless, quick bit of heat from the alcohol 43% beats 40, slightest smoke aftertaste builds up through the glass, after a few like I smoked all night. Low proof bland. Cheap and good distribution are the upsides here. Lot 2719 nom 630x

t8ke

t8ke

144 reviews
Rated 2 out of 5 stars4 years ago

Not bad, but incredibly bland. I’m honestly a little surprised, and a hair impressed. That said, I can’t imagine this makes amazing cocktails, since it doesn’t have much character. Maybe that’s the point. Who knows.

El-Dawg

El-Dawg

219 reviews
Rated 3 out of 5 stars4 years ago

One of the few .50 ml bottles out there, so easy and cheap to sample. Light buttery notes on the smell, as well as some tequila similarities. Sharp and bit of rubbing alcohol throughout taste. Definitely an espadin, and at the low price point this makes for a great mixer. Bit watery and reminded me of tequila if not for the smoke at the finish. Therefore giving an extra star for the price.

CasaDeGuero

CasaDeGuero

21 reviews
Rated 3 out of 5 stars4 years ago

Has traditional Espadín mezcal flavors, with sweetness and relatively prominent smoke. Does feel a bit thinner/watery and has a slight tequila taste. For the price this is a straightforward tasting mezcal. Good.

Batch:

Harry

Harry

2 reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars4 years ago

Sooo smooth and delicious! The best introduction to mezcal, and perfect for my cocktail experiments. Beats any tequila-based margarita and with less ingredients! Also great on it’s own with a couple ice cubes.

justwager

justwager

4 reviews
Rated 2.5 out of 5 stars5 years ago

Nice

Rakhal

Rakhal

422 reviews
Rated 2.5 out of 5 stars5 years ago

Lot 1818. Smelled more like a tequila but tasted fresh and minty with a light body and some caramel, pineapple, and river rocks. Short finish, not at all complex, and some alcohol burn despite the low abv.

Review this bottle

Login or create an account to add your tasting notes

Back to top