Powered by 100% agave

El Silencio Espadin

El Silencio Espadin is handmade in small batches, and is designed for high-end use in mixology. If you’re looking for a good mixer, this might be it.

About this mezcal

El Silencio Espadin is made with agave Espadin from master mezcalero Pedro Hernandez. It’s handmade in small batches, and is designed for high-end use in mixology. It’s ok as a sipping mezcal, but it’s really made to be used in mixed drinks. Interestingly, this mezcal’s black bottle is inspired by “Barro Negro” pottery. It’s made in 100% black glass with a matte finish to maintain the look and feel of the traditional pottery style from the original “black clay” of the Monte Alban period.

El Silencio Mezcal

El Silencio is a Los Angeles-based craft mezcal label whose product is produced in San Baltazar Guelavila, Oaxaca by Pedro Hernández, a ninth-generation Maestro Mezcalero. As an organic Mezcal, they use only the finest and carefully selected 10-12 year old Espadin agaves. Their products are handmade in small batches. Like other artisanal Mezcals, El Silencio’s production does not involve any additives or industrial processes.

In April 2019, Constellation Brands took a minority stake in El Silencio. Constellation Brands is one of the largest beer companies in the United States; the company also has a significant stake in Canopy Growth, a publicly traded cannabis company.

 

Black Magic – The Demon Bartender

9 reviews

2.78 out of 5


t8ke

t8ke

88 reviews
1 month ago

Not bad, but incredibly bland. I’m honestly a little surprised, and a hair impressed. That said, I can’t imagine this makes amazing cocktails, since it doesn’t have much character. Maybe that’s the point. Who knows.

El-Dawg

El-Dawg

22 reviews
1 month ago

One of the few .50 ml bottles out there, so easy and cheap to sample. Light buttery notes on the smell, as well as some tequila similarities. Sharp and bit of rubbing alcohol throughout taste. Definitely an espadin, and at the low price point this makes for a great mixer. Bit watery and reminded me of tequila if not for the smoke at the finish. Therefore giving an extra star for the price. I hate to hate, but all these ‘wildly popular espadins’ found in Costco, grocery stores, etc still rate above the ever-growing Casa Migos brand.

One of the few .50 ml bottles out there, so easy and cheap to sample. Light buttery notes on the smell, as well as some tequila similarities. Sharp and bit of rubbing alcohol throughout taste. Definitely an espadin, and at the low price point this makes for a great mixer. Bit watery and reminded me of tequila if not for the smoke at the finish. Therefore giving an extra star for the price. I hate to hate, but all these ‘wildly popular espadins’ found in Costco, grocery stores,

Read more
CasaDeGuero

CasaDeGuero

11 reviews
2 months ago

Has traditional Espadín mezcal flavors, with sweetness and relatively prominent smoke. Does feel a bit thinner/watery and has a slight tequila taste. For the price this is a straightforward tasting mezcal. Good.

Batch:

Harry

Harry

2 reviews
3 months ago

Sooo smooth and delicious! The best introduction to mezcal, and perfect for my cocktail experiments. Beats any tequila-based margarita and with less ingredients! Also great on it’s own with a couple ice cubes.

justwager

justwager

4 reviews
7 months ago

Nice

Rakhal

Rakhal

154 reviews
1 year ago

Lot 1818. Smelled more like a tequila but tasted fresh and minty with a light body and some caramel, pineapple, and river rocks. Short finish, not at all complex, and some alcohol burn despite the low abv.

TheAgaveFairy

TheAgaveFairy

82 reviews
2 years ago

Big hit of clay and smoke under the sweetness – provides a great bottom end to mixed drinks. Agreed with others, great for mixing (especially with ginger, grilled pineapple, agave penicillin), but watery and weak on the palette. They use funds to invest in their farmers too, which is nice.

Jonny

Jonny

406 reviews
3 years ago

I’m more a fan of higher ABV mezcal, so this seemed a bit watery to me. It’s made mostly for cocktails, not sipping neat, so the lower ABV is understandable. That said, it has some muted notes of all spice and burnt orange peel that are pleasant. As a mixer, I’d say this is probably a good choice and would give it four stars for use in cocktails, but I don’t recommend this if you’re looking to sip mezcal neat.

Tyler

Tyler

375 reviews
4 years ago

Very straightforward sweet and smoky espadin. I hear the batches can vary greatly in quality. The mezcal I sipped was enjoyable. Notes of sweet apple and caramel are prominent. From my limited tastings of the two El Silencio mezcals I enjoy this more than the joven ensamble.

Review this bottle

Login or create an account to add your tasting notes

Back to top