Powered by 100% agave

GEM&BOLT Mezcal + Damiana

GEM&BOLT profiles are less smokey with subtle herbal notes. The layered expressions are young, bright, and earthy.

About this mezcal

GEM&BOLT Mezcal + Damiana is made from agave Espadin from San Dionisio Ocotepec, Oaxaca. It’s produced by fourth generation master mezcalero, Ignacio Martinez and his family. Using traditional methods the agave are roasted in wood-fired earth pits and milled by horse-drawn tahona. GEM&BOLT is fermented with naturally occurring yeasts in open pine vats and first distilled in small copper stills. After resting in oak barrels for 3-6 months, the traditional Mexican herb Damiana is added just before the second distillation in stainless-steel-copper alloy stills.

GEM&BOLT is one of the only mezcals on the market that uses Damiana, a traditional herb that thrives in the same regions as agave. Damiana is classified in Mexico as a National Treasure and was a favorite of the Aztecs as a heart-opening stimulant. The herb is also known for its euphoric capabilities and it’s used to maintain both physical and mental stamina.

GEM&BOLT Mezcal

GEM&BOLT Mezcal + Damiana is an innovative and herbaceous spirit utilizing fair-trade and sustainable agave that’s converted into mezcal by fourth-generation master distillers in Oaxaca. The brand's name comes from the legend that long ago a lightning bolt struck the gem (or heart) of the maguey plant, roasting and fermenting its sugars, and out poured the sacred and mystical sap known today as Mezcal. Hundreds of years later, artist-alchemist duo AdrinAdrina and Elliott Coon, both daughters of bohemian-bootleggers, started brewing their own spirits and infusing elixirs. The pair drew inspiration from their childhood growing up in an artist enclave in the mountains of Virginia where they learned the value of plant knowledge and the elevation power of conscious celebration. GEM&BOLT is a living and breathing exhibit of their knowledge and work, following their mantra of, “Make Art, Share Plant Knowledge, Repeat.”

12 reviews

2 out of 5

Justin.Anderson3

Justin.Anderson3

14 reviews
Rated 1 out of 5 stars5 months ago

Smoke and chemical. Taste like someone cooked this up in a lab. Much better options out there. Save your money.

Leif

Leif

8 reviews
Rated 0.5 out of 5 stars6 months ago

tastes like rubbish.. truly god awful and a great example of the commodification of mezcal. gem and bolt was created by two americans who put their brand on something and called it a collaboration. just watch the video on their website. great marketing but shallow product. plus, it costs $50 a bottle? LOL. horrific

Zack Klamn

Zack Klamn

369 reviews
Rated 1.5 out of 5 stars12 months ago

Lot No. GB006.
Nose: Slight ammonia (smelling salts) – opens the nostrils.

Palate: Spicy sweetness at first, sweetness fades fast but spicy (peppery) tones last. Grassy and vapory ethanol – a bit too pharmaceutical. Aftertaste of bad Balinese cigarettes and Vick’s vapor rub.

The sweet aspect may be the damiana, it was a miss for me. Seems like an unnecessary gimmick.

Joe

Joe

27 reviews
Rated 1.5 out of 5 stars1 year ago

Espadin with Damiana. 44% San Felipe del Agua. Lot GB006. Sharp medicinal aroma, herbal taste, vaguely liquorice-like without sweetness. A bit like the prominent flavor in fernet. Distinctive flavor, but not in a good way. Woody grass-like flavor.

t8ke

t8ke

144 reviews
Rated 1.5 out of 5 stars1 year ago

Lot GB007

Thin on the palate, but no heat. It’s sweet, quite a bit of vanilla, some lime, weird custard like note. Bit of grassy note in there, with some clove. Weird.

I can’t really say I love this. I like the attempt at innovation, but it falls short, and feels more like a gimmick in the end. I’m not really upset, since I bought this at a hefty discount, but I wouldn’t buy it again. It’s just bad mezcal, in my opinion.

El-Dawg

El-Dawg

134 reviews
Rated 2.5 out of 5 stars2 years ago

This seems to be one of the few mezcals that can be purchased in .50ml bottles (at Bevmo here in Cali)…makes it very economical to then try. With that said this doesn’t have much going on with it. The damiana adds a sweeter note I believe, especially noticed at the finish (Damiana is sweet by nature…can be used as a floater for margaritas). Bit nail polish on nose. Nothing really jumps out at me as outstanding. So not bad….just not really that good.

Kojii

Kojii

1 review
Rated 4 out of 5 stars3 years ago

Very enjoyable. Myth about the effects on stamina seem exaggerated. We had five shots each…only four worked, or eight of ten…so

SG11

SG11

1 review
Rated 1 out of 5 stars3 years ago

Yah, no. I read the article in Cosmopolitan magazine that was promoting Gem & Bolt around Valentines Day. It said to “swap out your regular tequila for Gem & Bolt”. DON’T DO THAT! They cleverly disguised this ‘tequila’ behind the so-called sexy ingredient – damiana. Supposed to make you feel happy and relaxed. Well, let us (by us I mean my husband and I since I bought it for US with expectations) tell you, you will be relaxed and happier after you almost vomit from drinking this earthy, non gin like bottle of awfulness. We have tried almost everything, and tequila has always been our go-to cocktail . GEM & BOLT was so disappointing, especially after reading so many glowing reviews. Go ahead, you’re thinking ‘there’s always one bad review’, well, people, this review is honest and on point from two tequila, alcohol drinking, grown adults. STOP MAKING THIS! Or, change the formula. #hardtodrink #almostvomit #notgoodcold #notgoodwarm #dontmakethis

Yah, no. I read the article in Cosmopolitan magazine that was promoting Gem & Bolt around Valentines Day. It said to “swap out your regular tequila for Gem & Bolt”. DON’T DO THAT! They cleverly disguised this ‘tequila’ behind the so-called sexy ingredient – damiana. Supposed to make you feel happy and relaxed. Well, let us (by us I mean my husband and I since I bought it for US with expectations) tell you, you will be relaxed and happier after yo

Read more
stepusin

stepusin

19 reviews
Rated 2 out of 5 stars3 years ago

smell is citrusy with a slight hint of pepper. flavor is a bit harsh and undeveloped. the typical smokiness is there but is overtaken by a more bitter, and in my opinion off putting flavor (somewhat of acetone). not for me, but could see likers of damiana enjoying it.

GreenspointTexas

GreenspointTexas

323 reviews
Rated 3 out of 5 stars3 years ago

Decent. Kind of your standard espadin. Not getting much damiana

Also, pretty decent alcohol burn on the finish that seems to last a good while.

Tyler

Tyler

528 reviews
Rated 3 out of 5 stars4 years ago

The first time I tried this at a restaurant in Austin I was not a fan – there were strong copper and chemical notes present; that was their very first batch. G&B is a small, growing company and their mezcalero has released a second batch which I’ve tried multiple times. Batch 2 is much better and worth a try. There are some unique flavors of melon and lavender here that might be due to the added Damiana. That plant is supposed to offer many health benefits; guess I’ll have to drink more and find out! Lot GB002.

The first time I tried this at a restaurant in Austin I was not a fan – there were strong copper and chemical notes present; that was their very first batch. G&B is a small, growing company and their mezcalero has released a second batch which I’ve tried multiple times. Batch 2 is much better and worth a try. There are some unique flavors of melon and lavender here that might be due to the added Damiana. That plant is supposed to offer many health benefits; guess I’ll have

Read more
Jonny

Jonny

537 reviews
Rated 2.5 out of 5 stars4 years ago

It’s infused with Damiana, which makes it pretty unique. I know some people who really love this stuff and there is a bit of a whimsical spirit that dances faintly over the palate. I’m not sure if that’s from the the herbal infusion or if it’s from something else in the process. Given the Damiana infusion, this mezcal is worth trying.

Review this bottle

Login or create an account to add your tasting notes

Back to top