Powered by 100% agave

Lamata Tepemete

Lamata Tepemete is produced by a Tepehuano family in the mountainous region near Mezquital, Durango.

Rating: (7 reviews)
Category:Destilado de Agave
Brand:Lamata
Mezcalero:Maximino Cruz
Maguey:Tepemete
Agave:Angustifolia
Grind:Hand
Distillation:Copper
Style:Joven
State:Durango
Town:El Mezquital
ABV: 52%
Batch size: 60 liters (Lot TEP-C 12-1-2020)
Release year: 2021
Website: https://www.instagram.com/nacion_de_las_verdes_matas/, opens in new window

About this destilado de agave

Lamata Tepemete is produced by Maximino Cruz using maguey Tepemete (Agave angustifolia). Maximino Cruz is part of a Tepehuano family near Mezquital, Durango. The Tepehuanes are an indigineous people who live in Chihuahua, Durango, Jalisco, Nayarit and Zacatecas. The Tepehuano language is divided into three major branches with Southern Tepehuano being spoken in the municipalities of Mezquital and Pueblo Nuevo.

Tepemete is a small wild Agave angustifolia that grows in the mountainous regions of the area; it is similar to the plant known as Chacaleño. The word “tepe” means “mountain” and “mete” comes from “metl” (agave) in the Nahuátl language. The agaves in this spirit were cooked in an underground pit oven, milled by hand with an axe, fermented in pine tubs, and double distilled in a Copper/Wood still.

Lamata

Lamata (formerly named Amormata) is the for-export label of Nacion de Las Verdes Matas, a small unregistered brand started by Luis Loya many years ago. His goal is to share mezcal from Northern Mexico from places that are under-represented in the market. Luis has relationships with producers in Durango, Nuevo Leon, Sonora, Chihuahua, San Luis Potosi and Tamaulipas among others.

The typical lot sizes of Amormata releases range from about 40 liters to 200 liters. The producers will continue to make about the same amount of spirits that they historically have in the past. Therefore, the brand will not bottle much more than a total of three to five thousand liters per year. Amormata is dedicated to promoting the “gusto historico”, the terroir, the liquid culture, and the history that is mezcal to people beyond the borders of the places where it is made.

Member rating

4.5 out of 5

7 reviews

Tyler

Tyler

635 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars4 weeks ago

Wild organic nose, dried dirt. On the palate, spice, smoked whiskey, snickerdoodle, kiwi rock candy. Fun unique mezcal from Durango. 2oz sample, no batch number. 52%.

Jam

Jam

143 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars2 months ago

This review is just an impression of a small pour from a big Lamata tasting. No bottle info. Will update if I try again.

Review #118: cinnamon, banana, lemon oils

Great mix of baking spices, fruits, and a bit of acidity.

relevanteagle

relevanteagle

12 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars4 months ago

LOT ID: TEP-C 02-23-2020
ABV: 52.2%

Nose: pine, a little cheesy like an aged cheddar, apple, apple cider vinegar.

Palate: a lot of minerality, caramel, not too much going on here. Feels a little muted, but the mouth feel is good.

Finish: minerality, some slight sweetness

Thoughts: this didn’t taste as complex for me as other reviews are posting. Might be due to it’s age.

Imperium

Imperium

92 reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars6 months ago

TEP-C 02-23-2020 Purchased a bottle from Madre
Maestro: Enrique de la Cruz
60 liters 52.2%

Nose: Perfume at first, and a strong smell of dates. Maybe some jackfruit like cagliostro said. In the glass, tons of cocoa powder and hot chocolate – it smells amazing! Baking spices, papaya and apricot. After opening up a bit, I get additional notes of jackfruit and ash.

Palate: Oh wow… a chocolate cake bomb explodes in your mouth at first. I would have thought this was clay-distilled. Chocolate frosting is very prevalent. It tastes like the chocolate popsicles my dad would bring home when I was a kid. I’m also getting some jackfruit in there as well.

I feel that the highest quality mezcal brings back good memories, and this is one of those. I also get notes of bourbon, leather and dark spices.

TEP-C 02-23-2020 Purchased a bottle from Madre
Maestro: Enrique de la Cruz
60 liters 52.2%
Nose: Perfume at first, and a strong smell of dates. Maybe some jackfruit like cagliostro said. In the glass, tons of cocoa powder and hot chocolate – it smells amazing! Baking spices, papaya and apricot. After opening up a bit, I get additional notes of jackfruit and ash.
Palate: Oh wow… a chocolate cake bomb explodes in your mouth at first. I would have thought this was clay-distilled. Choco

Read more
cagliostro

cagliostro

32 reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars1 year ago

Lamata Tepemete (52%)

Mezcalero: Federico de la Cruz

Batch: TEP-C 12/1/2020

nose: dark fragrant spices, cinnamon, fennel, ripe jackfruit, clove, pear, dates, hint of papaya

palate: oh it’s those same dark spices wrapped up in this juicy apricot explosion. i would drink this forever, beautiful nutty sweetness, fr if anyone knows where to buy a bottle of this hit me up

this is absolutely delicious. almost don’t want to take notes. i struggle to find a fault. 10/10

Lamata Tepemete (52%)
Mezcalero: Federico de la Cruz
Batch: TEP-C 12/1/2020
nose: dark fragrant spices, cinnamon, fennel, ripe jackfruit, clove, pear, dates, hint of papaya
palate: oh it’s those same dark spices wrapped up in this juicy apricot explosion. i would drink this forever, beautiful nutty sweetness, fr if anyone knows where to buy a bottle of this hit me up
this is absolutely delicious. almost don’t want to take notes. i struggle to find a fault. 10/10

Read more
Rakhal

Rakhal

420 reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars2 years ago

1oz sample. No batch number.
Yet another unique and delicious work of art from Lamata. The Tepehuano community makes some incredible Mezcals. I’ve had three different “Tepe” expressions from Mezonte and now this one from Lamata, all amazing. Apple Jolly Rancher, Amaretto, brandied cherries, Bourbon, leather briefcase, and Ceylon cinnamon. Delicious!

Zack Klamn

Zack Klamn

542 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars2 years ago

Nose – Pear. Red apple. Fresh soil. Radish. Green carrot tops.

Palate – Cinnamon stick. Incredibly earthy – soil and root vegetables. Heat is a sweet, cinnamon spiciness – tasty. There is a very nice smoky, cheesecake note the came through in the aftertaste. This is an awesome mezcal, totally pops with flavor.

Review this bottle

Login or create an account to add your tasting notes

Back to top