Powered by 100% agave

Maguey Melate Cucharillo – Agustin Guendulain Maya

Maguey Melate Cucharillo from Agustin Guendulain Maya was originally released as the October 2021 Mezcalero of the Month Club spirit.

Rating: (7 reviews)
Category:Sotol
Brand:Maguey Melate
Mezcalero:Agustin Guendulain Maya
Grind:Tahona
Distillation:Copper
Style:Joven
State:Oaxaca
Town:San Luis Amatlan
ABV: 45%
Batch size: Lot AGU-CUC-001: 370 liters
Release year: 2021
Website: https://www.magueymelate.com/, opens in new window

About this sotol

Maguey Melate Cucharillo from Agustin Guendulain Maya was originally released as the October 2021 Mezcalero of the Month Club spirit. This Cucharillo was produced in San Luis Amatlan, Oaxaca.

Maguey Melate

Maguey Melate was founded on two ideas: 1) Artisanal agave spirits are amazing and should be shared with the world, and 2) The faster-cheaper economy is a harmful force for people, the environment, and now agave spirits.

They believe if mezcal (and agave spirits) can be understood and appreciated at its full potential, people will show their preference for quality artisanal mezcal that is sustainably and fairly sourced. By raising consumer consciousness on the origins of mezcal and educating enthusiasts on matters of quality and character, informed people will be empowered to ensure the future of mezcal. To do this, they’re reaching a large audience with an impactful message: KEEP MEZCAL ARTISANAL!

Maguey Melate is perhaps most well-known for their Mezcalero of the Month Club, which delivers artisanal small-batch agave spirits directly to the doors of consumers in the US and Mexico. In addition to the monthly spirits, they offer exclusive content and interviews with producers. Single releases are also available in the Maguey Melate shop.

7 reviews

3 out of 5

Rakhal

Rakhal

378 reviews
Rated 1.5 out of 5 stars6 months ago

To me this tastes watery, burnt, chemical, and overly smoky. I’d really like to know what resulted in these flavors. Burnt leaves, acrid smoke, plastic, rubber, and pine cleaner.

GreenspointTexas

GreenspointTexas

362 reviews
Rated 3 out of 5 stars10 months ago

An interesting take on a sotol. Pine, cilantro, sage. Gonna revisit. Not sure if i love it or dislike it

Marc Bathgate

Marc Bathgate

1 review
Rated 5 out of 5 stars11 months ago

Nose: wet riverstone next to a mesquite fire with a hint of agave nectar thrown on. Palate: sweet and smoky, matching nose but not over powering. Viscous mouthfeel. Long finish of faint smoke. Send your partially-consumed bottles to me!

Azi

Azi

31 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars11 months ago

apples, kippers, fennel, cut grass, slate. I like this one! reviews were getting me worried, but this is doing it just fine for me. very happy that Maguey is wiling to bottle up all these fun non mezcals as of late

El-Dawg

El-Dawg

166 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars11 months ago

Grassy smell, and enjoyable. Over a few tastings I’ve gotten some notes of soy sauce, smoked fish jerky, and more grass (which is a standout quality to me with all sotols). I also seem to gravitate to sotols (especially the ones mixed with agave, ensambles), and this one isn’t bad at all (if not a bit light). In fact it’s gotten better with time. Appreciate Melate trying new things and deviating from the “norm”!

Zack Klamn

Zack Klamn

471 reviews
Rated 2 out of 5 stars12 months ago

Batch: AGU-CUC-001 Bottle: 651
Nose – Very fruity (Gala apple slices). For me, this smells much more like mezcal than sotol.

Palate – Starts off OK – quick fruitiness like the nose. Then it gets bitter and has unfortunate shades of Buckley’s cough medicine (if you know, you know). The smoke is a bit rough too. This all sticks around for a long finish and aftertaste. This one isn’t for me. 🙁

tallchad

tallchad

63 reviews
Rated 2.5 out of 5 stars12 months ago

Not my favorite. If this is indicative of Sotol then I might shy away. Aroma is good with floral and fruity goodness. There is even some dusty minerality that is quite pleasant. Taste is where this one falls off. Entry is ok with some good taste and heat but the back of my mouth almost puckers up with some acrid bitterness. That same bitterness continues on the finish. The finish does linger and mellows with good heat and roasted peppercorns. I am happy to have tried this Palm Distillate although I don’t prefer it.
Batch April 2021

Not my favorite. If this is indicative of Sotol then I might shy away. Aroma is good with floral and fruity goodness. There is even some dusty minerality that is quite pleasant. Taste is where this one falls off. Entry is ok with some good taste and heat but the back of my mouth almost puckers up with some acrid bitterness. That same bitterness continues on the finish. The finish does linger and mellows with good heat and roasted peppercorns. I am happy to have tried this Palm Distillate althoug

Read more

Review this bottle

Login or create an account to add your tasting notes

Back to top