Powered by 100% agave

Maguey Melate Tobaziche – Felix Cruz Angeles

Maguey Melate Tobaziche from Felix Cruz Angeles is made in the small, beautiful community of Santa Catarina Minas, Oaxaca.

Rating: (13 reviews)
Category:Destilado de Agave
Brand:Maguey Melate
Mezcalero:Felix Cruz Angeles
Agave / Maguey:Tobaziche
Grind:Hand
Distillation:Clay Pot
Style:Joven
State:Oaxaca
Town:Santa Catarina Minas
ABV:47.7%
Age of plant:15 years
Release year:2047
Website:https://www.magueymelate.com/
About this destilado de agave

Maguey Melate Tobaziche from Felix Cruz Angeles was first released as the July 2020 Mezcalero of the Month Club agave spirit. The maguey Tobaziche (agave Karwinskii) used in this mezcal are wild harvested after taking 15 years to reach maturity. The agave were milled by hand with wooden mallets and double distilled in a clay pot still.

Maguey Melate

Maguey Melate was founded on two ideas: 1) Artisanal agave spirits are amazing and should be shared with the world, and 2) The faster-cheaper economy is a harmful force for people, the environment, and now agave spirits.

They believe if mezcal (and agave spirits) can be understood and appreciated at its full potential, people will show their preference for quality artisanal mezcal that is sustainably and fairly sourced. By raising consumer consciousness on the origins of mezcal and educating enthusiasts on matters of quality and character, informed people will be empowered to ensure the future of mezcal. To do this, they're reaching a large audience with an impactful message: KEEP MEZCAL ARTISANAL!

Maguey Melate is perhaps most well-known for their Mezcalero of the Month Club, which delivers artisanal small-batch agave spirits directly to the doors of consumers in the US and Mexico. In addition to the monthly spirits, they offer exclusive content and interviews with producers. Single releases are also available in the Maguey Melate shop.

13 reviews

4.04 out of 5


stigibeu

stigibeu

30 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars5 days ago

Sweet potato, roasted agave. Pretty full palate with more green veggies, although not as green as a tepeztate, for example. Some pear fruit here too. well hidden alcohol. I love the pizza seasoning take below too, can definitely detect these elements. Pretty refreshing! 4.25.

Jonah Dempcy

Jonah Dempcy

1 review
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars1 week ago

Nose – Pickled, sour, meaty, fruit pulp, wet paper, wet dog, brine, pickled meats, rotting. Notes of witch hazel and cherry.

Taste – Pungent. Sweet. Resinous. Gummy. Flavors of anise, licorice, minty numbing. Cinnamon. Clean, light, oily mouthfeel, like citrus oil. Bright, quick arrival. Ends with bitter, astringent dark notes and witch hazel finish. Smooth, easy drinker.

Foster

Foster

7 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars2 weeks ago

Funky to the smell. I think milky or cheesy in a way. Really has grown on my over the past month or so. Maybe it is just me but the funkiness of this is something I really enjoy. To taste, some espresso, cream cheese and sourness. Yes, I know sounds weird but really enjoyed.

Gregg T&T

Gregg T&T

40 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars2 weeks ago

Green and herbal nose – celery, dill, mint. Spice and wet earth with light notes of grilled protein and clay earthiness.

TheAuditor

TheAuditor

31 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars3 weeks ago

Batch: FEL-TOB-001

Nose: Pungent and savory. Olives, oregano, cooked spinach, saffron, cream cheese

Palate: Oily full mouthfeel. Olives, oregano, clay and earthy. Minerality, cooked greens, slight smoked pork, cheese funk.

Finish: Medium length, warm, savory spices, olives, saline, slight smoked pork

This stuff is delicious, weird, and unique. Tons of savory spices here, lots of olive, pepper, oregano, it’s like pizza seasoning in a bottle with some slight greenness and meatiness to go with it.

Batch: FEL-TOB-001
Nose: Pungent and savory. Olives, oregano, cooked spinach, saffron, cream cheese
Palate: Oily full mouthfeel. Olives, oregano, clay and earthy. Minerality, cooked greens, slight smoked pork, cheese funk.
Finish: Medium length, warm, savory spices, olives, saline, slight smoked pork
This stuff is delicious, weird, and unique. Tons of savory spices here, lots of olive, pepper, oregano, it’s like pizza seasoning in a bottle with some slight greenness and meatiness to go with it

Read more
cwheaton

cwheaton

1 review
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars3 weeks ago

FEL-TOB-001, btl 256

Rye bread/banana bread; cream and caramel; some black olives; cinnamon; cantaloupe; not super fruity on the nose and mouth but a back end buzz of Mandarin orange; sweet and viscous; comes across as very well balanced; enjoyed this little 375 over a period of a month and it was continuously evolving and deepening in flavor. So easy to drink! – not sure how long a 750 would last me…

Jonny

Jonny

415 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars3 weeks ago

Vegetal aromas mixing with hints of wet clay, fresh lime, and decomposing leaves. There’s a wet element to the nose on this. The palate has some allspice, clove, more wet clay, and a bit of grilled red meat. It’s hard to believe this producer is so young. The age and antiquity of the region is so present on this. Need to try more from him if/when it becomes available.

BuffPhysics

BuffPhysics

9 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars4 weeks ago

Mezcal Review #9 – Maguey Melate Tobasiche (July 2020 Club Pick)
Agave: Tobasiche
Mezcalero: Felix Cruz Angeles
Region: Santa Catarina Minas
Still Type: Clay Pot
47.7% ABV

Additional Info: The pinas were hand crushed, a task which is apparently especially arduous when working with tobasiche.

Nose: Savory and mineral. Pineapple, lime, fried meat (think gyros or donner), roasted tomato, and mint. Also kind of a grassy/herbal thing that reminds me of some rhum agricole and New Zealand sauv. blanc – by which I mean gooseberries – by which I mean cat piss. This is a wild nose, I dig it.

Taste: Savory and dry for a mezcal. Very brothy before it turns minty and nicely sour. Hard not to think of pho. With some air a chocolate note comes out along with cream cheese frosting.

Finish: Meaty and spicy, those gyros are making a return. The clay slowly takes over and the whole thing becomes very mineral. Very nice, makes you go back for another sip.

Notes: Ooooh boy, I love this. Tasting it side by side with last month’s Tobala/Mexicano I may have been too generous in assigning that one an 8, it’s a tad rough in comparison. This however certainly merits a high score.

Score: 8/10

1 | Disgusting | So bad I poured it out.
2 | Poor | I wouldn’t consume by choice.
3 | Bad | Multiple flaws.
4 | Sub-par | Not bad, but better exists.
5 | Good | Good, just fine.
6 | Very Good | A cut above.
7 | Great | Well above average
8 | Excellent | Really quite exceptional.
9 | Incredible | An all time favorite
10 | Perfect | Perfect

Next Up: Not sure, stay tuned.

Mezcal Review #9 – Maguey Melate Tobasiche (July 2020 Club Pick)
Agave: Tobasiche
Mezcalero: Felix Cruz Angeles
Region: Santa Catarina Minas
Still Type: Clay Pot
47.7% ABV
Additional Info: The pinas were hand crushed, a task which is apparently especially arduous when working with tobasiche.
Nose: Savory and mineral. Pineapple, lime, fried meat (think gyros or donner), roasted tomato, and mint. Also kind of a grassy/herbal thing that reminds me of some rhum agricole and New Zealand sauv. blan

Read more
Rated 2 out of 5 stars1 month ago

This was the second of the round of three I opened. Gave it a nice sniff and got some texture on the nose that felt promising. Then gulped it a bit and was extremely underwhelmed by the lack of vibrancy. Verbena, sure. Canela, yeah. But otherwise nothing really going on.

Rakhal

Rakhal

161 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars2 months ago

Baking spices. Cinnamon, allspice, clove. Wet clay, wet leaves, forest floor, dark chocolate, espresso. Classic Minas Largo. I love it.

GreenspointTexas

GreenspointTexas

184 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars2 months ago

Peeked ahead to next months MM release…. Tobaziche, one of my favorite varietals. This is exceptional… wheatgrass, plum, Mrs Butterworths syrup, green apple. Dang this has a lot going on! Wish this particular release was bigger than a 375.

El-Dawg

El-Dawg

30 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars2 months ago

This is definitely clay distilled. Funky throughout with minerality on the nose. Good heat and spice…smooth finish that lingers nicely with some heat in back of throat and on cheeks. Some sweetness and fruit notes which help compliment the earthiness. Still getting used to A. karwinskiis….not my favorite agave type, and not my favorite of this agave. FYI – the mezcalero is only 25, so I appreciate the ambitiousness with this one at such a relative young age. Bottle 326

This is definitely clay distilled. Funky throughout with minerality on the nose. Good heat and spice…smooth finish that lingers nicely with some heat in back of throat and on cheeks. Some sweetness and fruit notes which help compliment the earthiness. Still getting used to A. karwinskiis….not my favorite agave type, and not my favorite of this agave. FYI – the mezcalero is only 25, so I appreciate the ambitiousness with this one at such a relative young age. Bottle 326

Read more
SwatSaladin

SwatSaladin

11 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars2 months ago

Batch Number FEL-TOB-001

Nose: Tomato paste is backed up by a gentle bouquet of mango and lime—there’s certainly a feint savory element here. Fresh waxy corn also comes through very distinctly. Really bright acidity all throughout—also kind of funky, like a good skin contact wine. As a whole package, I can only describe this as being reminiscent of fresh corn salsa, or a grilled corn Pico de Gallo.

Palate: This is knock-your-socks off good. The spirit itself is quite unctuous. I’m getting a hint of lactic influence, which is quickly engulfed by more garden herbs, fresh tomato, and waxy corn. Overall, the profile is earthy and ‘green’ (anise, eucalyptus).

Finish: The finish just goes on and on with this one. The garden herbs really persist, and the yoghurt-y lactic component makes a reappearance as well.

This is quickly becoming one of my favorite mezcals. It’s complex and balanced, and brings a lot of interesting aromas and notes to the table. It even sticks the landing!

Batch Number FEL-TOB-001
Nose: Tomato paste is backed up by a gentle bouquet of mango and lime—there’s certainly a feint savory element here. Fresh waxy corn also comes through very distinctly. Really bright acidity all throughout—also kind of funky, like a good skin contact wine. As a whole package, I can only describe this as being reminiscent of fresh corn salsa, or a grilled corn Pico de Gallo.
Palate: This is knock-your-socks off good. The spirit itself is quite unctuous. I’m gettin

Read more
Review this bottle

Login or create an account to add your tasting notes

Back to top