Powered by 100% agave

Maguey Melate Inaequidens – Raul Pedraza Padilla

Maguey Melate Inaequidens from Raul Pedraza Padilla was originally released as the June 2023 Mezcalero of the Month Club agave spirit.

Rating: (11 reviews)
Category:Destilado de Agave
Brand:Maguey Melate
Mezcalero:Raul Pedraza Padilla
Maguey:Alto
Agave:Inaequidens
Grind:Hand
Distillation:Filipino
Style:Joven
State:Michoacán
Town:Rio de Parras
ABV: 45%
Age of plant: 8 years
Batch size: RAU-INA-001: 300 liters
Release year: 2023
Website: https://www.magueymelate.com/, opens in new window

About this destilado de agave

Maguey Melate Inaequidens from Raul Pedraza Padilla was originally released as the June 2023 Mezcalero of the Month Club agave spirit. This mezcal was produced using agave from the Rio de Parras region of Michoacan, which is particularly green and lush year-round. Typically, maguey Alto requires 12-15 years to reach maturity, however this entire batch of wild Alto comes from a steep slope and it is estimated to have reached maturity in only 8 years, potentially due to the steep slope and abundant rainfall.

Maguey Melate

Maguey Melate was founded on two ideas: 1) Artisanal agave spirits are amazing and should be shared with the world, and 2) The faster-cheaper economy is a harmful force for people, the environment, and now agave spirits.

They believe if mezcal (and agave spirits) can be understood and appreciated at its full potential, people will show their preference for quality artisanal mezcal that is sustainably and fairly sourced. By raising consumer consciousness on the origins of mezcal and educating enthusiasts on matters of quality and character, informed people will be empowered to ensure the future of mezcal. To do this, they’re reaching a large audience with an impactful message: KEEP MEZCAL ARTISANAL!

Maguey Melate is perhaps most well-known for their Mezcalero of the Month Club, which delivers artisanal small-batch agave spirits directly to the doors of consumers in the US and Mexico. In addition to the monthly spirits, they offer exclusive content and interviews with producers. Single releases are also available in the Maguey Melate shop.

Member rating

3.86 out of 5

11 reviews

JDB

JDB

154 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars2 months ago

45% abv, Bottle 36 Batch: RAU-INA-001

Lots of classic inaequidens aromas and flavors. Cream cheese, lactic aromas, chalk and pine on the nose. Watermelon rind, pickle juice, marshmallow cream, sweet cornbread with butter, salted cured ham, and green banana. Really solid and flavorful.

Jam

Jam

140 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars4 months ago

Review #79: nose is very pungent with fruity yogurt, cheesy, green apple jolly rancher, strawberry, key lime pie, mango, vinegar and sharpie. The palate is all of the same, a whole bunch of sour fruits with a lactic funkiness, and with more vegetals as it opens up like roasted asparagus, spinach, and mild earthiness with a nice bright adicidy on the finish.

I just love this. I’m a fan of funky cheesy stuff and this definitely hits the spot. That funk mixed with the fruits is next level. It’s definitely like a sour yogurt mixed with fruits. Big and pungent all throughout, this is an inaequidens lovers bottle.

Review #79: nose is very pungent with fruity yogurt, cheesy, green apple jolly rancher, strawberry, key lime pie, mango, vinegar and sharpie. The palate is all of the same, a whole bunch of sour fruits with a lactic funkiness, and with more vegetals as it opens up like roasted asparagus, spinach, and mild earthiness with a nice bright adicidy on the finish.
I just love this. I’m a fan of funky cheesy stuff and this definitely hits the spot. That funk mixed with the fruits is next level. It

Read more
tallchad

tallchad

99 reviews
Rated 3 out of 5 stars4 months ago

Good, not great for me. Nothing really stands out, but overall good.
Aroma was not pleasant at first. There was some funk that persisted and I did not like.
Taste is good with some heat and spice. It grew on me as I sipped.
The finish is short and ok. Score more like 2.75

bpCLT

bpCLT

87 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars6 months ago

Nose: Vanilla Greek yogurt, tangy lemonade, soil and earthy, creek water, kombucha, blue cheese

Palate & Finish: More sour and bitter on the front end. Lemon sour patch kid. Like biting into a grapefruit or limeade, tart berries, it’s overall pretty tart but not in a bad way, I find it less cheesy on the palate than the nose would suggest and more bitter citrus. Finish has that signature Inaequidens leather and tobacco, more rubbery, soured green tea, bitter burnt coffee, some lactic elements too

Overview: This is a solid Inaequidens and one I think many would be happy with. Part of me wonders if it would benefit from being rested in glass like the Jose Rafael batch. It’s tighter, more bitter and sour. The finish is almost rubbery with a burnt coffee element. While I think a handful would prefer this over the glass rested batch, I definitely find myself in the glass rested camp.

Nose: Vanilla Greek yogurt, tangy lemonade, soil and earthy, creek water, kombucha, blue cheese
Palate & Finish: More sour and bitter on the front end. Lemon sour patch kid. Like biting into a grapefruit or limeade, tart berries, it’s overall pretty tart but not in a bad way, I find it less cheesy on the palate than the nose would suggest and more bitter citrus. Finish has that signature Inaequidens leather and tobacco, more rubbery, soured green tea, bitter burnt coffee, some lactic e

Read more
El-Dawg

El-Dawg

205 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars7 months ago

Rotten fruit smell with candy sweetness. Cheese funk as well but that has calmed down since the bottle has been open for a while now. Light BBQ meat. Follows through to taste with a chalky candy aftertaste with some creaminess. Bright and really fun mezcal! Really good and I’m def partial to these Altos. What a great box! My fav of the two in a side-by-side.

Manning

Manning

24 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars7 months ago

batch: RAU-INA-001
abv: 45%
Nose: nice lactic, cheesy smell initially, then I’m getting some chalk and granite. Also getting some guava and tropical fruits.
Taste: Nice meatiness up front and beautiful overripe fruits – passion fruit, pineapple, and strawberries. Less lactic notes in the taste than in the smell. It has a nice earthy, mineral note in the finish. Great balance between sweet, funky, grassy, and depth of fruits.
Overall: 9.0/10 Love this one, and I keep getting different flavors popping out after each sip.

batch: RAU-INA-001
abv: 45%
Nose: nice lactic, cheesy smell initially, then I’m getting some chalk and granite. Also getting some guava and tropical fruits.
Taste: Nice meatiness up front and beautiful overripe fruits – passion fruit, pineapple, and strawberries. Less lactic notes in the taste than in the smell. It has a nice earthy, mineral note in the finish. Great balance between sweet, funky, grassy, and depth of fruits.
Overall: 9.0/10 Love this one, and I keep getting differe

Read more
jackstraw

jackstraw

30 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars7 months ago

batch: RAU-INA-001
bottle: 387
abv: 45%

opening beautifully. will update with more or different notes as this juice continues to bloom.

rainwater, sharpie marker, glue
wet grass, play doh, salt, lime
granny smith apple, watermelon
mint, tennis balls, sassafras
cantaloupe, domino sugar
coffee cake

review #18

Jonny

Jonny

696 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars7 months ago

Rakhal nailed it with his “cake frosting” note. I get that all over the nose and a little on the palate as well. Additional aromas of passionfruit, banana, honeydew melon, and a bit of light cream. The palate has a slight lactic undertone with additional notes of raw cherries, strawberry marmalade, and some hints of a masculine musk or aftershave. I love mezcal from Michoacán and this is a great one.

Imperium

Imperium

92 reviews
Rated 2 out of 5 stars8 months ago

Inaequidens just isn’t my type of mezcal, and it was the bottle of the month when I joined Melate. I have tried Mal Bien Alto and it was pretty good, but not something I wanted to buy. Anyway here goes:

Nose is super sour and lactic, briny picked stinky greens, and chalk.

Palate: Sickly sweet fermented veggies and rotten fruit.

If anyone wants to buy the rest off me, send me a DM.

bluImbibe

bluImbibe

40 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars8 months ago

Nose: mossy, a little musty/funky, vegetal, grass, cheese, slightly cooling, some mango, honey, and other fruit sweetness cuts through the dense vegetation but I can’t put my finger on it.. After I finish my glass there’s a meaty, jerky aroma as well as bay leaves left behind for long long time.

Palate: at first sip the flavors reminded me of barbicide and aftershave (though it may be that tennis ball flavor Rakhal was recalling), fresh cut grass, white pepper, soft cheese, mineral, cream cheese, ; slightly bitter, thick full body, no heat, but rather… Bright acidity? It tickles my palate rather than burns it. After the vapors dissipate I’m left with a grassy mineral taste for a good while.

I’m a real big fan of how bright, funky and weird this one is. I keep going back for more because I have never tasted anything like this and I lack the words to accurately describe how all these flavors and aromas meld together. I read the debrief before tasting so I wonder if I’m actually tasting that wet vegetation or if it’s the power of suggestion…

Nose: mossy, a little musty/funky, vegetal, grass, cheese, slightly cooling, some mango, honey, and other fruit sweetness cuts through the dense vegetation but I can’t put my finger on it.. After I finish my glass there’s a meaty, jerky aroma as well as bay leaves left behind for long long time.
Palate: at first sip the flavors reminded me of barbicide and aftershave (though it may be that tennis ball flavor Rakhal was recalling), fresh cut grass, white pepper, soft cheese, mineral,

Read more
Rakhal

Rakhal

420 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars8 months ago

When I first opened my bottle of this, it was super lactic! Like Roquefort cheese, which I happen to love. I also got some intense over-ripe fruit flavors like a giant pile of tropical fruits rotting in the sun. After being opened for a few hours the lactic flavors almost completely went away, and the fruits really smoothed out a lot. Now I’m getting some really strong new tire rubber and freshly opened can of tennis balls flavors. I’m also getting flavors that remind me of key limes, juicy fruit gum, and white TicTac’s. A bit of a cake frosting finish with just a touch of that Roquefort cheese. I have a feeling this is one of those Mezcals that’s going to keep changing, if I don’t finish the bottle first.

When I first opened my bottle of this, it was super lactic! Like Roquefort cheese, which I happen to love. I also got some intense over-ripe fruit flavors like a giant pile of tropical fruits rotting in the sun. After being opened for a few hours the lactic flavors almost completely went away, and the fruits really smoothed out a lot. Now I’m getting some really strong new tire rubber and freshly opened can of tennis balls flavors. I’m also getting flavors that remind me of key limes, juicy

Read more

Review this bottle

Login or create an account to add your tasting notes

Back to top