Powered by 100% agave

Maguey Melate Lechuguilla – Dolores González Torres

Maguey Melate Lechuguilla from Dolores Gonzalez Torres was originally released as the December 2021 Mezcalero of the Month Club agave spirit.

Rating: (7 reviews)
Category:Destilado de Agave
Brand:Maguey Melate
Mezcalero:Dolores González Torres
Agave:Lechuguilla
Grind:Hand
Distillation:Copper
Style:Joven
State:Chihuahua
Town:Yerbaniz Batopilas
ABV: 49%
Age of plant: 7 years
Batch size: Lot DOL-LEC-001: 340 liters
Release year: 2021
Website: https://www.magueymelate.com/, opens in new window

About this destilado de agave

Maguey Melate Lechuguilla from Dolores González Torres was originally released as the December 2021 Mezcalero of the Month Club agave spirit. This spirit was produced in Yerbaniz Batopilas, Chihuahua.

This spirit was made with mountain spring water. The agaves were crushed by hand with an ax, fermented in a single underground fermentation vat made over 100 years ago, and distilled with a still made from Higuera wood (dense pinewood more or less).

Maguey Melate

Maguey Melate was founded on two ideas: 1) Artisanal agave spirits are amazing and should be shared with the world, and 2) The faster-cheaper economy is a harmful force for people, the environment, and now agave spirits.

They believe if mezcal (and agave spirits) can be understood and appreciated at its full potential, people will show their preference for quality artisanal mezcal that is sustainably and fairly sourced. By raising consumer consciousness on the origins of mezcal and educating enthusiasts on matters of quality and character, informed people will be empowered to ensure the future of mezcal. To do this, they’re reaching a large audience with an impactful message: KEEP MEZCAL ARTISANAL!

Maguey Melate is perhaps most well-known for their Mezcalero of the Month Club, which delivers artisanal small-batch agave spirits directly to the doors of consumers in the US and Mexico. In addition to the monthly spirits, they offer exclusive content and interviews with producers. Single releases are also available in the Maguey Melate shop.

7 reviews

3.57 out of 5

justsomedude

justsomedude

28 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars4 months ago

Nose: Sweet and syrupy. Lots of ripe cooked agave aromas and a bit of anise.
Palate: Just like the nose, mouthfeel of a very light simple syrup. Simple but full flavor of sweet agave. Less spice and more minerality than the nose.
Finish: Medium short. Anise and spice come back.
Overall: Solid. Not exciting but clearly well made.

Rakhal

Rakhal

373 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars6 months ago

As far as I understand it, Lechuguilla is just a generic term that covers a couple Agaves that have been identified (Bovicornuta, Shrevei) and a ton of Agaves that haven’t been identified. I love Lechuguilla!! I have a bunch of different Lechuguilla Mezcals and they all taste completely different!! This one is definitely what flannel would taste like (great note GreenspointTexas!!). It’s also raw and wild and has a lot of what I love about spirits from Chihuahua. It’s like driving a flannel lined semi truck carrying rocket fuel down a mountain while burning your breaks, painting your nails, and huffing amyl nitrate. I’m really digging this.

As far as I understand it, Lechuguilla is just a generic term that covers a couple Agaves that have been identified (Bovicornuta, Shrevei) and a ton of Agaves that haven’t been identified. I love Lechuguilla!! I have a bunch of different Lechuguilla Mezcals and they all taste completely different!! This one is definitely what flannel would taste like (great note GreenspointTexas!!). It’s also raw and wild and has a lot of what I love about spirits from Chihuahua. It’s like driving a flanne

Read more
El-Dawg

El-Dawg

166 reviews
Rated 3 out of 5 stars9 months ago

Good smell, fabric softener. Taste has some light sweetness to it. Pine or mint maybe. Not overly complex, but pretty well rounded. Like what Jonny said of this being a session lechuguilla – I have no problems with that. Complaint would be it seems a bit harsh on the end taste. 3.25ish

Jonny

Jonny

603 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars10 months ago

I wouldn’t call myself a “Lechuguilla Guy,” but this Lechuguilla is stellar. Aromas of apple cider vinegar, sourdough, black pepper, and subtle hints of hard cheeses. The palate is balanced with medium viscosity. There are more upfront tasting notes of apple and black pepper followed by notes of orange, papaya, and fresh collards. I could see this being a session mezcal, which I don’t think I could say about any other Lechuguilla that I’ve tried, so that’s good. I don’t think this bottle will last very long. Lot DOL-LEC-001

I wouldn’t call myself a “Lechuguilla Guy,” but this Lechuguilla is stellar. Aromas of apple cider vinegar, sourdough, black pepper, and subtle hints of hard cheeses. The palate is balanced with medium viscosity. There are more upfront tasting notes of apple and black pepper followed by notes of orange, papaya, and fresh collards. I could see this being a session mezcal, which I don’t think I could say about any other Lechuguilla that I’ve tried, so that’s goo

Read more
GreenspointTexas

GreenspointTexas

362 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars10 months ago

3.75/5. Musty. Like an army surplus. Mothball smell. Tastes how I imagine flannel tastes. Odd, but I kinda dig it

Zack Klamn

Zack Klamn

471 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars10 months ago

Bottle: 372
Nose – Sour, green apple. Dry pine wood. Rye bread.

Palate – Spiced apple sweetness. Latex gloves. Used brake pad (just a clever way to say, slightly burnt rubber, yay me!). White pepper. Quite grassy in the finish. I like this one and love the fact the MM extended their reach into Chihuahua, so awesome!!!

tallchad

tallchad

63 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars10 months ago

Aroma is good with roasted agave, juicy fruit gum and hints of pine. Taste is really nice with with some mint and lots of pepper. A bit spicy in taste. While thin in the mouth the finish is long and mostly good with more sweet mint and some earthy/garden undertones. The finish might have a light burnt rubber thing happening, but I don’t notice it every sip.
I didn’t like Lechugilla when I had it before but this is good to really good status. Fun and light with good flavors. Nice job MM for December!

Aroma is good with roasted agave, juicy fruit gum and hints of pine. Taste is really nice with with some mint and lots of pepper. A bit spicy in taste. While thin in the mouth the finish is long and mostly good with more sweet mint and some earthy/garden undertones. The finish might have a light burnt rubber thing happening, but I don’t notice it every sip.
I didn’t like Lechugilla when I had it before but this is good to really good status. Fun and light with good flavors. Nice job MM for D

Read more

Review this bottle

Login or create an account to add your tasting notes

Back to top