Powered by 100% agave

Mezcalero No. 25

Mezcalero No. 25 was double distilled in a copper still before being aged in glass for six years before bottling.

Rating: (13 reviews)
Brand:Mezcalero Mezcal
NOM:NOM-O14X
Mezcalero:Cirilo Hernandez, Don Cosme Hernandez
Maguey:Tobala
Agave:Potatorum
Grind:Tahona
Distillation:Copper
Style:Aged in Glass
State:Oaxaca
Town:San Baltazar Guélavila
ABV: 47.5%
Batch size: 960 bottles
Release year: 2021
Website: https://craftdistillers.com/trade-info/mezcalero-info/, opens in new window

About this mezcal

Mezcalero No. 25 was made with Maguey Tobala (Agave potatorum) in the community of San Baltazar Guelavila. This batch of mezcal was created in March 2013 by maestro mezcalero Don Cosme Hernandez and his son Cirilo. After distillation, this mezcal spent over 6 years resting in glass before being bottled for release.

Mezcalero Mezcal

Each Mezcalero bottling is true to the fundamental batch nature of artisan Mezcal production. Each bottling is distilled from a single integral batch of agaves that are at least 50% wild or semi-wild, and usually 100%. These “silvestre” agaves take a lot of work to harvest: searching for days in the mountains, packing the agaves back on burros. After that, it takes a month of continuous labor to produce a single batch of Mezcalero, usually 600-700 bottles. Mezcalero is both a brand and an intention. The brand is a way for talented artisan distillers to work with, and gain part of their livelihood from, some very special agaves. The intention goes deeper: to help preserve a way of distilling that is also a way of life, deeply linked to the distiller’s family, to his social environs, to his pueblo, to an entire way of life largely deriving from indigenous culture that is at risk of rapid deterioration under pressure from the modernization of Mexico.

13 reviews

4.19 out of 5

JDB

JDB

54 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars1 week ago

ABV: 47.% Batch: March 2013, Bottled 2019, Lot 25

Picked up this bottle last summer from Caddell and Williams along with 20th anniversary edition of Alipus that is also a tobalá to taste side-by-side. The aging in glass does not seem to bring out more flavors or make it fuller and rounder. The nose has some floral notes, an herbaceous aroma, and a light smoke and a whisp of gasoline. On the palate there is a sharp anise-like flavor that starts up front and stays through the whole sip, could be that banana-runt flavor that others mention. It can be a little off putting. It does have some heat that lingers nicely and a faint plantain flavor. There is also flavor that reminds me of a candy, Good and Plenty, could be that anise-like quality though.

ABV: 47.% Batch: March 2013, Bottled 2019, Lot 25
Picked up this bottle last summer from Caddell and Williams along with 20th anniversary edition of Alipus that is also a tobalá to taste side-by-side. The aging in glass does not seem to bring out more flavors or make it fuller and rounder. The nose has some floral notes, an herbaceous aroma, and a light smoke and a whisp of gasoline. On the palate there is a sharp anise-like flavor that starts up front and stays through the whole sip, could

Read more
yoni

yoni

5 reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars3 months ago

Nose is delicate and floral. smells of honeysuckle. Beautiful.
mouthfeel is light and exquisite. Cucumber, gooseberry, jasmine, sabra flower, driftwood. Gets tropical. Long but delicate finish.
This one just transports you to some beautiful place. A flowered meadow or recently rained on desert garden.

Americana Kyle

Americana Kyle

60 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars7 months ago

I really enjoy this bottling and although I do not usually lean towards Tobala, this is a fantastic expression of the varietal, so much so I went and bought a bottle after trying it. I like the comment above about Banana Runts and would agree that was something I picked up on as well. Overall very tropical and fresh and just a stellar pour.

El-Dawg

El-Dawg

156 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars8 months ago

This one isn’t resonating with me. More of a subdued tobala. I love that I get the banana notes (runts) that others have mentioned. Also get some sweet tarts, sugar water, and an overwhelming taste that overall just doesn’t sit well (synthetic, rubber perhaps).
Review #129

COak

COak

194 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars9 months ago

Not totally my jam, as others love this. On the palate I get the documented notes of markers, banana candy and sour punch straws. It’s not Smokey or hot since it’s rested in glass for years.

TheAgaveFairy

TheAgaveFairy

167 reviews
Rated 3 out of 5 stars10 months ago

Drank next to mezcalero 23:

The same chemicals and markers, but… something akin to roasted ancho back there? Interesting. Moving into the main fruit: Orange tic tacs, lavender dryer sheets, mild sugar, bubblegum.

Good texture, some peppery spice, herbs, good agave sweetness midpalate before fading into medicinal fruits, dryer sheets, markers. Nice soil and minerality, too. Better control of proof generally, though it adds some spice.

More boring, still strong hand of the maker, but I think I’d reach for it more often than the 23, or pour it for guests more. I really like the notes from others on here, but I think this just isn’t my style, and that’s okay!

I think I can see the appeal, it likes air time for sure – softens and gets more pops of big fruit flavors.

Drank next to mezcalero 23:
The same chemicals and markers, but… something akin to roasted ancho back there? Interesting. Moving into the main fruit: Orange tic tacs, lavender dryer sheets, mild sugar, bubblegum.
Good texture, some peppery spice, herbs, good agave sweetness midpalate before fading into medicinal fruits, dryer sheets, markers. Nice soil and minerality, too. Better control of proof generally, though it adds some spice.
More boring, still strong hand of the maker, but I think I

Read more
Zack Klamn

Zack Klamn

423 reviews
Rated 3 out of 5 stars11 months ago

Nose – Crusty icing sugar that’s drizzled onto a scone. Cream cheese tart with fresh kiwi. Not a hint of smoke.

Palate – Banana jellybean. Smarties Halloween candy sweet/chalky aspect but not at all tart. Big, firey smoke, latex, cardomom pods and peppermint in the finish. Pina Colada, banana cream pie and orchid stems in the aftertaste.

The complexity and potential is there but it didn’t come together for me.

Jonny

Jonny

582 reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars12 months ago

Banana runts! The palate is full of them. I don’t really like banana runts, but I like this, and I’m not sure why. Beyond the runts, the palate has some really nice notes of fresh sage, wild flower dryer sheets, and orange Jolly Ranchers. This completely coats the mouth. I keep going back to this one and finding more. This one won’t last long.

Tyler

Tyler

574 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars12 months ago

Well deserving of the praise. After tasting Dos Hombres Tobala, which is over three times the price, there is no contest. I’m not the biggest Tobala fan but this is near the top of my favorites list. The organic fermented fruit flavors that are super interesting. Notes of silver Bajan rum, mango ice cream, Fruit Gushers, and a bit of cilantro. It is really interesting and overall fruity. The fermented note I mentioned comes on the backend.. it is almost a chemical note that makes me think of the flavor of frozen pink lemonade.

Well deserving of the praise. After tasting Dos Hombres Tobala, which is over three times the price, there is no contest. I’m not the biggest Tobala fan but this is near the top of my favorites list. The organic fermented fruit flavors that are super interesting. Notes of silver Bajan rum, mango ice cream, Fruit Gushers, and a bit of cilantro. It is really interesting and overall fruity. The fermented note I mentioned comes on the backend.. it is almost a chemical note that makes me think

Read more
Brian.Francis

Brian.Francis

6 reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars1 year ago

One of those that is so easy to drink the whole bottle..Banana, marjoram spice, mint, hint of dark chocolate.

Jillian

Jillian

1 review
Rated 5 out of 5 stars1 year ago

I’ve been wanting to join mezcal reviews for a while. This bottle is the reason I finally did.

The first pour from the bottle wasn’t my favorite, but I couldn’t articulate the reason. I revisited after a couple of days and realized that this mezcal coats the palate with pure banana runts. I’m not generally a banana fan, but this one goes deeper, revealing an herbaceous quality that delights with depth. There’s tarragon, fennel frond and spicy sage. I can’t stop going back to find more!

I’ve been wanting to join mezcal reviews for a while. This bottle is the reason I finally did.
The first pour from the bottle wasn’t my favorite, but I couldn’t articulate the reason. I revisited after a couple of days and realized that this mezcal coats the palate with pure banana runts. I’m not generally a banana fan, but this one goes deeper, revealing an herbaceous quality that delights with depth. There’s tarragon, fennel frond and spicy sage. I can’t stop going back to find mo

Read more
Rakhal

Rakhal

361 reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars1 year ago

This is an excellent Tobala. After six years in glass the flavors are very well integrated and just plain delicious. Sandalwood, banana bread, chocolate chips, and fresh mint. This is a definite crowd pleaser. I’m absolutely blowing through this bottle.

The_Mezcalman

The_Mezcalman

6 reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars1 year ago

This is an intricate Tobala that is excellently distilled by one of my favorite Maestros Don Cosume Hernandez and his son Cirial. This Mezcal takes on notes of tropical fruit, wild flowers, honeydew melon, and orange blossom. The profile is clean on the tongue with a subtle dissipation of flavor with each sip.

Review this bottle

Login or create an account to add your tasting notes

Back to top