Powered by 100% agave

Mezcalero No. 25

Mezcalero No. 25 was double distilled in a copper still before being aged in glass for six years before bottling.

Rating: (8 reviews)
Brand:Mezcalero Mezcal
NOM:NOM-O14X
Mezcalero:Cirilo Hernandez, Don Cosme Hernandez
Maguey:Tobala
Agave:Potatorum
Grind:Tahona
Distillation:Copper
Style:Aged in Glass
State:Oaxaca
Town:San Baltazar Guélavila
ABV: 47.5%
Batch size: 960 bottles
Release year: 2021
Website: https://craftdistillers.com/trade-info/mezcalero-info/, opens in new window
About this mezcal

Mezcalero No. 25 was made with Maguey Tobala (Agave potatorum) in the community of San Baltazar Guelavila. This batch of mezcal was created in March 2013 by maestro mezcalero Don Cosme Hernandez and his son Cirilo. After distillation, this mezcal spent over 6 years resting in glass before being bottled for release.

Mezcalero Mezcal

Each Mezcalero bottling is true to the fundamental batch nature of artisan Mezcal production. Each bottling is distilled from a single integral batch of agaves that are at least 50% wild or semi-wild, and usually 100%. These “silvestre” agaves take a lot of work to harvest: searching for days in the mountains, packing the agaves back on burros. After that, it takes a month of continuous labor to produce a single batch of Mezcalero, usually 600-700 bottles. Mezcalero is both a brand and an intention. The brand is a way for talented artisan distillers to work with, and gain part of their livelihood from, some very special agaves. The intention goes deeper: to help preserve a way of distilling that is also a way of life, deeply linked to the distiller’s family, to his social environs, to his pueblo, to an entire way of life largely deriving from indigenous culture that is at risk of rapid deterioration under pressure from the modernization of Mexico.

8 reviews

4.38 out of 5


TheAgaveFairy

TheAgaveFairy

163 reviews
Rated 3 out of 5 stars4 weeks ago

Drank next to mezcalero 23:

The same chemicals and markers, but… something akin to roasted ancho back there? Interesting. Moving into the main fruit: Orange tic tacs, lavender dryer sheets, mild sugar, bubblegum.

Good texture, some peppery spice, herbs, good agave sweetness midpalate before fading into medicinal fruits, dryer sheets, markers. Nice soil and minerality, too. Better control of proof generally, though it adds some spice.

More boring, still strong hand of the maker, but I think I’d reach for it more often than the 23, or pour it for guests more. I really like the notes from others on here, but I think this just isn’t my style, and that’s okay!

I think I can see the appeal, it likes air time for sure – softens and gets more pops of big fruit flavors.

Drank next to mezcalero 23:
The same chemicals and markers, but… something akin to roasted ancho back there? Interesting. Moving into the main fruit: Orange tic tacs, lavender dryer sheets, mild sugar, bubblegum.
Good texture, some peppery spice, herbs, good agave sweetness midpalate before fading into medicinal fruits, dryer sheets, markers. Nice soil and minerality, too. Better control of proof generally, though it adds some spice.
More boring, still strong hand of the maker, but I think I

Read more
Zack Klamn

Zack Klamn

290 reviews
Rated 3 out of 5 stars1 month ago

Nose – Crusty icing sugar that’s drizzled onto a scone. Cream cheese tart with fresh kiwi. Not a hint of smoke.

Palate – Banana jellybean. Smarties Halloween candy sweet/chalky aspect but not at all tart. Big, firey smoke, latex, cardomom pods and peppermint in the finish. Pina Colada, banana cream pie and orchid stems in the aftertaste.

The complexity and potential is there but it didn’t come together for me.

Jonny

Jonny

528 reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars2 months ago

Banana runts! The palate is full of them. I don’t really like banana runts, but I like this, and I’m not sure why. Beyond the runts, the palate has some really nice notes of fresh sage, wild flower dryer sheets, and orange Jolly Ranchers. This completely coats the mouth. I keep going back to this one and finding more. This one won’t last long.

Tyler

Tyler

503 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars2 months ago

Well deserving of the praise. After tasting Dos Hombres Tobala, which is over three times the price, there is no contest. I’m not the biggest Tobala fan but this is near the top of my favorites list. The organic fermented fruit flavors that are super interesting. Notes of silver Bajan rum, mango ice cream, Fruit Gushers, and a bit of cilantro. It is really interesting and overall fruity. The fermented note I mentioned comes on the backend.. it is almost a chemical note that makes me think of the flavor of frozen pink lemonade.

Well deserving of the praise. After tasting Dos Hombres Tobala, which is over three times the price, there is no contest. I’m not the biggest Tobala fan but this is near the top of my favorites list. The organic fermented fruit flavors that are super interesting. Notes of silver Bajan rum, mango ice cream, Fruit Gushers, and a bit of cilantro. It is really interesting and overall fruity. The fermented note I mentioned comes on the backend.. it is almost a chemical note that makes me think

Read more
Brian.Francis

Brian.Francis

6 reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars3 months ago

One of those that is so easy to drink the whole bottle..Banana, marjoram spice, mint, hint of dark chocolate.

Jillian

Jillian

1 review
Rated 5 out of 5 stars4 months ago

I’ve been wanting to join mezcal reviews for a while. This bottle is the reason I finally did.

The first pour from the bottle wasn’t my favorite, but I couldn’t articulate the reason. I revisited after a couple of days and realized that this mezcal coats the palate with pure banana runts. I’m not generally a banana fan, but this one goes deeper, revealing an herbaceous quality that delights with depth. There’s tarragon, fennel frond and spicy sage. I can’t stop going back to find more!

I’ve been wanting to join mezcal reviews for a while. This bottle is the reason I finally did.
The first pour from the bottle wasn’t my favorite, but I couldn’t articulate the reason. I revisited after a couple of days and realized that this mezcal coats the palate with pure banana runts. I’m not generally a banana fan, but this one goes deeper, revealing an herbaceous quality that delights with depth. There’s tarragon, fennel frond and spicy sage. I can’t stop going back to find mo

Read more
Rakhal

Rakhal

317 reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars7 months ago

This is an excellent Tobala. After six years in glass the flavors are very well integrated and just plain delicious. Sandalwood, banana bread, chocolate chips, and fresh mint. This is a definite crowd pleaser. I’m absolutely blowing through this bottle.

The_Mezcalman

The_Mezcalman

6 reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars7 months ago

This is an intricate Tobala that is excellently distilled by one of my favorite Maestros Don Cosume Hernandez and his son Cirial. This Mezcal takes on notes of tropical fruit, wild flowers, honeydew melon, and orange blossom. The profile is clean on the tongue with a subtle dissipation of flavor with each sip.

Review this bottle

Login or create an account to add your tasting notes

Back to top