Powered by 100% agave

Mezcalero No. 27

Mezcalero No. 27 was produced by mezcalero Rodolfo Juan Juarez in San Juan del Rio using Maguey Espadin, Tepextate, and Jabali.

Rating: (7 reviews)
Brand:Mezcalero Mezcal
NOM:NOM-O14X
Mezcalero:Rodolfo Juan Juarez
Maguey:Espadin, Jabali, Tepeztate
Agave:Angustifolia, Convallis, Marmorata
Style:Joven
State:Oaxaca
Town:San Juan del Rio
ABV: 46%
Batch size: 240 bottles
Release year: 2021
Website: https://craftdistillers.com/products/mezcalero/, opens in new window

About this mezcal

Mezcalero No. 27 was produced by mezcalero Rodolfo Juan Juarez in San Juan del Rio using Maguey Espadin, Tepextate, and Jabali. It was distilled in May 2019 and bottled in November 2021.

Mezcalero Mezcal

Each Mezcalero bottling is true to the fundamental batch nature of artisan Mezcal production. Each bottling is distilled from a single integral batch of agaves that are at least 50% wild or semi-wild, and usually 100%. These “silvestre” agaves take a lot of work to harvest: searching for days in the mountains, packing the agaves back on burros. After that, it takes a month of continuous labor to produce a single batch of Mezcalero, usually 600-700 bottles. Mezcalero is both a brand and an intention. The brand is a way for talented artisan distillers to work with, and gain part of their livelihood from, some very special agaves. The intention goes deeper: to help preserve a way of distilling that is also a way of life, deeply linked to the distiller’s family, to his social environs, to his pueblo, to an entire way of life largely deriving from indigenous culture that is at risk of rapid deterioration under pressure from the modernization of Mexico.

Member rating

4.43 out of 5

7 reviews

free2roca

free2roca

8 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars2 months ago

Vibrant set of flavors with bright fruits, roast agave, minerality, and flowers. The mouth feel is soft and delicate. Maybe a little thin if anything. Really unique and enjoyable mezcale.

Bryen

Bryen

52 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars2 months ago

When a Mezcalero bottle is on the spirit list at a restaurant in Chicago, you grab it lol surprisingly only $16 for a 2 oz pour, too, which is very reasonable in my opinion. First word that comes to mind for this one is bright! I get the lemony/citrus/pine on the front end from the Jabali and then the tepeztate really comes through! I like that the espadin adds to this one but isn’t overpowering— would love to know the breakdown of percentages of each maguey used. Really well made

Ben P

Ben P

113 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars3 months ago

ABV: 46%

Nose: tart lemon, herbs, mustard seed, lemongrass, plenty of citrus

Palate: wow, candy like. Werthers quickly becomes Sweetarts, chalky banana, persimmons, then it gets a bit more tart with passionfruit, slate, bitter herbs. Finish is the style I love, bitter minerality, ground stone, charred rosemary, and after a while it’s like that bitter sweet aftertaste

Nose is subtle leading into a BIG layered palate. Terrific stuff

Jam

Jam

156 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars4 months ago

Review #114: On the nose is lime, dried herbs, fresh pine, a juicy red apple, sweet watermelon, grape candy, salty minerality, and some ash.
The palate has more watermelon, grape, and apple up front, they start as a fresh fruit but it turns more into a tart candy, then there’s some of that weird herbal medicinal taste like Jonny said, the finish has some dried rosemary, smoked jalapeño, and ashy smoke.

This is a great ensamble. It has a nice mix of fruits with a bit of herbal notes to keep it from being too sweet. I feel the tepextate plays a strong role here on the long and dry finish that I really enjoy from this. It has an easily noticeable evolution on the palate from the sweet and semi-tartness to the more bitter notes. It has such a clean freshness to it that ends in such a different direction that keeps this very interesting the whole time you drink it. I really just wish for a bit more intensity on the nose, it feels a bit hidden at times.

Review #114: On the nose is lime, dried herbs, fresh pine, a juicy red apple, sweet watermelon, grape candy, salty minerality, and some ash.
The palate has more watermelon, grape, and apple up front, they start as a fresh fruit but it turns more into a tart candy, then there’s some of that weird herbal medicinal taste like Jonny said, the finish has some dried rosemary, smoked jalapeño, and ashy smoke.
This is a great ensamble. It has a nice mix of fruits with a bit of herbal notes to kee

Read more
JDB

JDB

167 reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars2 years ago

46% ABV, Batch: May, 2019
My wife purchased this bottle at Tahona Mercado in San Francisco in May 2022. I have had several of these Mezcalero releases and they are pretty special and unique. And to be frank, a few have been stellar and among the best mezcal that I have been lucky enough to enjoy. This ensemble is simply fantastic: sweetness from the espadin, floral notes from the jabalí, and a depth of flavor from the tepeztate, wow! I would add more exclamation points, but you get the idea. I get watermelon jolly rancher up front, a kiss of peach and grapefruit, and heat that hangs around like a warm summer evening. So incredibly delicious. Not sure I tasted the strawberry or anise that Jonny and COak mentioned, but I fully agree that this release is unique and robust. Will have to revisit (with my wife’s blessing of course). Got get a bottle if you can get your hands on one or get a sample if you can find one at your local mezcaleria.

46% ABV, Batch: May, 2019
My wife purchased this bottle at Tahona Mercado in San Francisco in May 2022. I have had several of these Mezcalero releases and they are pretty special and unique. And to be frank, a few have been stellar and among the best mezcal that I have been lucky enough to enjoy. This ensemble is simply fantastic: sweetness from the espadin, floral notes from the jabalí, and a depth of flavor from the tepeztate, wow! I would add more exclamation points, but you get the idea

Read more
COak

COak

229 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars2 years ago

This is the kind of mezcal that perks you up. Nose of butterscotch and citrus. On the palate it’s got melon, grape and anise. It’s syrupy with a semi spicy finish. Pretty unique.

Jonny

Jonny

708 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars2 years ago

Aromas of white pepper, caramel, lime, and chalky minerals. The palate has strong notes of strawberries along with other medicinal/herbal qualities. This tastes like the best medicine I’ve ever had. It’s big, robust, and rich. A very long finish.

Review this bottle

Login or create an account to add your tasting notes

Back to top