Powered by 100% agave

Mezcalosfera Madrecuixe

Mezcalosfera Madrecuixe is made with wild agave Madrecuixe. This is the first single varietal Mezcalosfera available in the US.

Rating: (8 reviews)
Brand:Mezcalosfera de Mezcaloteca
NOM:NOM-O315X
Mezcalero:Margarito Cortés
Agave:Madre-Cuishe
Distillation:Refrescador
Style:Joven
State:Oaxaca
Town:Miahuatlan
ABV: 53.39%
Batch size: 237 liters
Release year: 2017
Website: http://mezcaloteca.org/mezcalosfera/
About this mezcal

Mezcalosfera Madrecuixe was produced by Margarito Cotes in Miahuatlan, Oaxaca in December 2016. This mezcal was made using a copper refrescador still and was adjusted after distillation with puntas and agua de metl. Like other Mezcalosfera, this was a limited batch with only 237 litres in production. This was released in the US in December 2017.

Mezcalosfera de Mezcaloteca

Mezcalosfera de Mezcaloteca is the exported bottling from Mezcaloteca, the famous bar in Oaxaca City that is renowned for their educational tastings. They source all of their agave spirits directly from producers in seldom-traveled parts of Oaxaca that are often hard to get to. They put an exceptional amount of information on their labels, and all of their releases are very small batches that exhibit the most unique characteristics of mezcal. Though only a few batches have been brought into the US, there are dozens upon dozens of different varieties available for sale at their tasting room in Oaxaca City. Most of their spirits are labeled "Aguardiente de Agave", however all of their limited exports are certified "Mezcal". These mezcals are imported into the United States by Heavy Metl Premium Imports, which also imports popular brands Mezcal Real Minero and Rey Campero Mezcal.

8 reviews

4.6 of out 5 stars


Mansson

Mansson

20 reviews
2 months ago

Lot 01SZ-17, distilled May 2017. Tropical fruits, cardamom and tobacco. Sugar and spice in perfect harmony. Rich and creamy. A very big and complex mezcal with a long aftertaste. Wonderful!

GreenspointTexas

GreenspointTexas

135 reviews
5 months ago

Definitely tropical… one of the longest finishes ive had in a while. So many flavors, its tough to describe. Extremely complex. Outstanding

Iluvmezcal

Iluvmezcal

1 review
7 months ago

Love this stuff!

StevenR

StevenR

13 reviews
1 year ago

Freshly baked key lime pie with a caramel balsamic reduction in my nose and in my mouth.. demerara sugar on the front end.. the mid palate is of red currant moving into a soft minty finish. I put this in 2 blind tastings which I picked it top of the heap in both( 1 out of 9 & 1 out of 18!). Mezcalero 16 was in one of those tastings as well. This is by far my favorate Madrecuixe to date..Margarito Cortes kills it! Super excited to try the Mango y Chile he distilled in 2017. It should be in my hands next week!

Freshly baked key lime pie with a caramel balsamic reduction in my nose and in my mouth.. demerara sugar on the front end.. the mid palate is of red currant moving into a soft minty finish. I put this in 2 blind tastings which I picked it top of the heap in both( 1 out of 9 & 1 out of 18!). Mezcalero 16 was in one of those tastings as well. This is by far my favorate Madrecuixe to date..Margarito Cortes kills it! Super excited to try the Mango y Chile he distilled in 2017. It should be in my

Read more
thamthong

thamthong

47 reviews
1 year ago

4.5, if only because i sampled this against the mezcalero #16 which outperformed this one in every way except the fruit-forwardness, which this is bursting with. all the mezcalosferas i’ve tried so far have the same short, astringent finish that leaves something to be desired.

Tyler

Tyler

325 reviews
1 year ago

One of the best Madrecuishe mezcals being exported. Brown sugar and strawberries. No bite. There’s a nice medium mouthfeel here. Try it while you can.

COak

COak

67 reviews
1 year ago

Tropical kiwi. Minty goodness. Taste of berries.

Jonny

Jonny

341 reviews
2 years ago

Wow! Brilliant. This is insanely good. Aromas of sweet mango, strawberries, and cherry. Lots of red fruit on the nose. The palate is rich, creamy, and full of fruity velvet. This reminds me a lot of the first Mezcalosfera to make it to the US, which was Madrecuixe and Tobala. It doesn’t have the same blueberry flavor as the first, but it has a lot of the other characteristics, particularly mouthfeel. The velvet texture of this is otherworldly. It glides gracefully all over the palate. This is an instant favorite. It’s big fruit flavor is in your face, but subtle and sublime at once. Very perplexing, thought-provoking, and complex.

Wow! Brilliant. This is insanely good. Aromas of sweet mango, strawberries, and cherry. Lots of red fruit on the nose. The palate is rich, creamy, and full of fruity velvet. This reminds me a lot of the first Mezcalosfera to make it to the US, which was Madrecuixe and Tobala. It doesn’t have the same blueberry flavor as the first, but it has a lot of the other characteristics, particularly mouthfeel. The velvet texture of this is otherworldly. It glides gracefully all over the palate. This

Read more
Review this bottle

Login or create an account to add your tasting notes

Back to top