Powered by 100% agave

Pierde Almas Mezcal de Conejo

Pierde Almas Mezcal de Conejo is made in a similar fashion to a traditional Pechuga, except wild rabbit is used in the third distillation.

About this mezcal

Pierde Almas Mezcal de Conejo is made by Maestro Mezcalero, Gregorio Velasco. This Mezcal is made in a similar fashion to a traditional Pechuga, with agave Espadin and triple-distillation in the presence of Heirloom fruit.  Instead of hanging a chicken in the still, however, the saddle of a wild cotton tail rabbit is hung for vapors to pass through. The ABV ranges between 50% and 52%, depending on the conditions specific to each lot. This Mezcal has notes of orchard fruit and minty tarragon as well as the flavor the rabbit.

Pierde Almas Mezcal

Behind each bottle of Pierde Almas is a time-honored recipe kept alive with painstaking care by the family patriarch in each successive generation. Their labels are hand-printed on 100% acid-free, handmade paper derived from fibers that are indigenous to the region and have been in use since pre-Columbian times. With their Wild Agave Reforestation Program, they are actively engaged in the re-forestation of wild species of Agave in those areas where their populations have been depleted. Pierde Almas begins each rainy season by inviting bartenders, chefs, restauranteurs, and journalists to join them for their annual wild Tobalá planting. Due to the artisinal nature of their mezcal, the ABV of each lot may vary slightly.

In May 2018, British multinational alcoholic beverages company Diageo purchased Pierde Almas Mezcal.

5 reviews

3.6 out of 5

PhilBrunski

PhilBrunski

25 reviews
Rated 3 out of 5 stars1 year ago

From 2012. Really enjoyed this when I first tried it. Reminded me of absinthe quite a bit with strong anise notes. Too strong really, and these days it’s been relegated to being brought out as a novelty bottle for friends who want to try something distilled with rabbit. Quality spirit, but a little one dimensional and boring compared to other higher end bottles.

AdamCA

AdamCA

14 reviews
Rated 3 out of 5 stars1 year ago

51 ABV, 2014, Lote 06-PC Edicion Especial
This came to me as a very kind gift from a friend who visited the palenque and I unfortunately find it nigh undrinkable. Johnny’s comment about black licorice is spot on and I’ve never had a taste for the flavor. It tastes like they dropped black licorice in the bottle, almost like an infusion, and the taste is so overwhelming it’s hard to taste anything else. It is truly unique as I’ve never had another mezcal like it, but I’ve never had another high quality mezcal with a flavor I disliked as much as this. It was hot when I first opened it, but it’s since smoothed out into an easy sipping licorice bomb. 3 stars due to it’s evident quality as a spirit even though it’s essentially a 1 star for my palate.

51 ABV, 2014, Lote 06-PC Edicion Especial
This came to me as a very kind gift from a friend who visited the palenque and I unfortunately find it nigh undrinkable. Johnny’s comment about black licorice is spot on and I’ve never had a taste for the flavor. It tastes like they dropped black licorice in the bottle, almost like an infusion, and the taste is so overwhelming it’s hard to taste anything else. It is truly unique as I’ve never had another mezcal like it, but IR

Read more
Mansson

Mansson

71 reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars2 years ago

Lot 04-PC, distilled 2013. This is an extraordinary spirit! It started off a bit harsh and alcoholic in the glass but soon mellowed to reveal a plethora of flavours: cardamom and other Indian spices, citrus, a hint of chocolate. And anise, a lot of anise. It’s fat and sweet and tart and absolutely wonderful!

Rakhal

Rakhal

321 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars3 years ago

These guys can really make a good pechuga! Very tea-like smell and flavors of darjeeling tea, manzanilla, anise, mint, and fuji apple. Tasty stuff!

Jonny

Jonny

548 reviews
Rated 3 out of 5 stars5 years ago

Lot: 03-PC from 2012. 49.3% ABV. Wow! Strong anise aromas and flavor….like really strong anise. If you don’t like black liquorice, you won’t like this. If you can find a cheap pour of this, it’s worth trying. It’s made from rabbit! It’s tough to taste the rabbit but I trust it’s in there somewhere. I mostly just get a lot of anise from this. Overall, if I disregard price, this is three stars.

Review this bottle

Login or create an account to add your tasting notes

Back to top