Powered by 100% agave

Real Minero Tripon

Real Minero Tripon is made with maguey Tripon, which is not commonly seen. It has a nutty and vegetal character that coats the palate.

About this mezcal

Real Minero Tripon is made with maguey Tripon, which is a member of the agave Karwinskii family. The word Tripon is used in Spanish to describe people and things that are pot-bellied. The maguey Tripon is aptly named because of it’s paunchy, pot-bellied stature. All Mezcal Real Minero is traditionally produced in Santa Catarina Minas and distilled in clay pots.

Real Minero

Real Minero (previously Mezcal Real Minero) is considered by many to be one of the world’s finest mezcal producers. The Angeles family has been making mezcal for several generations in Santa Catarina Minas, Oaxaca. Their mezcal is made in small clay pot stills, and almost all of it is rested in glass for several months before bottling, giving the mezcal a much softer character. Outside of creating great spirits, they also have one of the largest and most diverse sustainable agave reforestation programs. With the help of the community, they’ve been able to rescue several agave varieties that were previously thought to be extinct. The ABV of each batch may vary slightly, so check your bottle for details.

In 2020, the brand began dropping the word “mezcal” from their labels. The term “traditional” replaces the CRM “ancestral” designation. Shortly thereafter, the brand officially parted ways with the certification process; all future releases will be labeled as “agave spirits” or something similar. Despite the label changes, nothing significant about their production process has changed over years.

Learn more:

8 reviews

4.5 out of 5

COak

COak

195 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars10 months ago

Batch DTRMTR-02 5/60. Exclusive for Alamo City Liquors. Fresh peanuts on the nose. Delicious! Not too hot for 53.4%. Notes of peanuts, mint, chocolate and clay.

Americana Kyle

Americana Kyle

60 reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars1 year ago

Batch RMTR-01 / 2016 / Don Lorenzo

Wow what a treat, so thankful I was able to try this amazing expression from the master Don Lorenzo. With the rarity and limited availability of the Tripon varietal mostly to SCM, it’s no wonder that this offering from Real Minero is top-notch. Highly recommend you try it if you find it!

Tyler

Tyler

590 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars1 year ago

A real treat from the late Don Lorenzo. My bottle is half full and I’ve enjoyed it immensely. Although nutty flavors aren’t my favorite, this mezcal has some strong hazelnut flavors. There is a richness of clay cooked meat and strong minerals. The alcohol is high but doesn’t bite or distract from the complex notes of butterscotch, Black Forest bacon, and organic grape jelly. RMTR-01, 2016, bottle 61/126, 52.4% ABV.

I tried a Don Lorenzo batch earlier today at La Condesa in Austin, TX which tasted quite different; that inspired me to pull out my own bottle and finally review it. That batch had more clean Karwinskii flavors without the dark brooding clay notes. Didn’t catch the batch number.

A real treat from the late Don Lorenzo. My bottle is half full and I’ve enjoyed it immensely. Although nutty flavors aren’t my favorite, this mezcal has some strong hazelnut flavors. There is a richness of clay cooked meat and strong minerals. The alcohol is high but doesn’t bite or distract from the complex notes of butterscotch, Black Forest bacon, and organic grape jelly. RMTR-01, 2016, bottle 61/126, 52.4% ABV.
I tried a Don Lorenzo batch earlier today at La Condesa in Aust

Read more
LittleArm

LittleArm

28 reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars3 years ago

Lot Rmtr-01 2016

Sweet, fresh cut grass and clay on the nose. Crazy strong peanut butter taste with a slightly tart finish. Crazy smooth, could drink this all day

Rakhal

Rakhal

382 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars4 years ago

Rmtr-01. Not bad, more of a 3.5 for me. Spice, minerality, and vegetal flavors. Black pepper, caramel, boiled artichoke, wet sand, and green olive. I brought back a bottle of tripon in December from Palenque El Conejo in Minas that absolutely blew this one away so that probably colored my judgement of this one.

RMTR-03. WAY better than 01!! Creamy and luscious with notes of baked clay, dried coconut, and roasted peanuts. 4.5 stars.

GreenspointTexas

GreenspointTexas

371 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars4 years ago

Sweet, very little smoke. Smells like a nice blanco tequila. No long finish, no burn. Balanced, extremely enjoyable

Yocos

Yocos

6 reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars4 years ago

Super fresh, breezy agave and clay aromas. Sweet clean.
Absolutely worth a visit

Jonny

Jonny

607 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars5 years ago

Batch RMTR-01 from 2016. Bottle 61/126. Aromas of peanuts, smoked pork belly, and smoked figs. Hints of clay on the palate with slight sour notes of apple and white onion. This mezcal is wet, like water running over riverbed clay. It’s a super rare find and 100% worth tasting.

Review this bottle

Login or create an account to add your tasting notes

Back to top